topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Thursday March 28, 2024, 10:42 am
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: IDEA: Desktop Bring to front  (Read 14039 times)

ogecrom

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
IDEA: Desktop Bring to front
« on: September 10, 2008, 01:18 PM »
The problem: I like to leave a lot of files on windows desktop. Sometimes I have a lot of applications running, and then I need to open one of those files. But I don't want to minimize everything (I know about windows+d and windows+m). I just want a fast desktop view and double click.

The idea: To use a custom key or key combination that while pressed, it shows the desktop over the applications without minimizing everything. But not only show, let me double click on the file.
I would use for example the scroll lock, while pressed, desktop shows.

You could hide all windows and then get it back in the correct z order, without minimizing. Or you could create a new windows which represents the actual desktop, and allow the double click.

VideoInPicture

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 467
    • View Profile
    • Circle Dock
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Desktop Bring to front
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2008, 01:26 PM »
Author of Circle Dock: http://circledock.wikidot.com
Author of Video In Picture: http://videoinpicture.wikidot.com
Author of Webcam Signature: http://webcamsignature.wikidot.com
Author of Easy Unicode Paster: http://easyunicodepaster.wikidot.com

ogecrom

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Desktop Bring to front
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2008, 01:31 PM »
Oh, thank you. I will try it.

wetsmellydog

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Desktop Bring to front
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2008, 11:08 AM »
If you are just trying to access the files/shortcuts on your desktop, you can right click on on the task bar, choose toolbars and then check desktop. You will have desktop files/shortcuts access on the right of the task bar with one click while your active window(s) are still in place.

Paul Keith

  • Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 1,989
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Desktop Bring to front
« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2008, 12:09 PM »
Also you could also use a special folder if you're more into launchers like Launchy. It can also be extra convenient due to the fact that not only do you have a cleaner desktop but when you can remember the specific file you want to open, as long as it's indexed, it's going to be instantly opened without the need for a mouse click.

On a side note, is there an application like this for Linux.

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 933
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Desktop Bring to front
« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2008, 06:43 PM »
 :) Try DeskTop!

Press F1 to show the desktop ontop of the other windows.

To change the hotkey, just edit the *F1:: line below.

Skrommel

;DeskTop.ahk
; Press F1 to show the desktop ontop of the other windows
;Skrommel @ 2008

#SingleInstance,Force
#NoEnv
SetWinDelay,0
SendMode,Input
SetWorkingDir,%A_ScriptDir%
DetectHiddenWindows,On

WinGet,desktop,Id,ahk_class Progman
Gui,-Caption +LastFound -Resize +AlwaysOnTop
Gui,Show,X0 Y0 W0 H0
gui:=WinActive("A")
OnExit,EXIT
Return

*F1::
TOGGLE:
If detached<>1
{
  SysGet,work,MonitorWorkArea
  parent:=DllCall("SetParent",UInt,desktop,UInt,gui)
  WinMove,ahk_id %gui%,,0,0,%workRight%,%workBottom%
  detached=1
}
Else
{
  DllCall("SetParent",UInt,desktop,UInt,parent)
  WinMove,ahk_id %gui%,,0,0,0,0
  detached=0
}
Return


GuiSize:
If ErrorLevel=1 ;Minimize
If detached=1
  Gosub,TOGGLE
Return

GuiClose:
If detached=1
  Gosub,TOGGLE
Return

EXIT:
If detached=1
  Gosub,TOGGLE
ExitApp
« Last Edit: September 24, 2008, 08:23 PM by skrommel »

techidave

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 1,044
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Desktop Bring to front
« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2008, 06:54 PM »
it seems to work only with windows and internet explorer open on top.  FF3 or anything els...no.

But I really like the idea!

thanks skrommel

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 933
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Desktop Bring to front
« Reply #7 on: September 24, 2008, 07:00 PM »
 :tellme: Really? There's no code in there to access anything other that Program Manager. Do you have another shell?

Skrommel

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 933
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Desktop Bring to front
« Reply #8 on: September 24, 2008, 07:04 PM »
 :tellme: Or is FF3 fighting for the F1 key? Try changing the code.

Skrommel

techidave

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 1,044
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Desktop Bring to front
« Reply #9 on: September 24, 2008, 07:45 PM »
i changed it to the F9 key and its sporadic.  usually is just a blank white screen.  but i am getting it with IE 6 also, not just FF.

techidave

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 1,044
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Desktop Bring to front
« Reply #10 on: September 24, 2008, 07:48 PM »
i have had some other shells installed, but I don't think it was on this laptop.  I don't see any in add remove, start menu or by looking at the folders.

VideoInPicture

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 467
    • View Profile
    • Circle Dock
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Desktop Bring to front
« Reply #11 on: September 24, 2008, 10:53 PM »
I can confirm that DeskTop works! I have the hotkey set to F9, and I'm on Vista 32-bit running IE/Chrome/Firefox.

Very cool! :Thmbsup: I couldn't get the program at shuric.com to work properly on Vista so DeskTop is a keeper. I'm going to play around with the AHK code. I think one thing that could be added is to close the AHK window when the user opens up another program or tries to bring another window to the top of the z-order.
Author of Circle Dock: http://circledock.wikidot.com
Author of Video In Picture: http://videoinpicture.wikidot.com
Author of Webcam Signature: http://webcamsignature.wikidot.com
Author of Easy Unicode Paster: http://easyunicodepaster.wikidot.com

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,277
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Desktop Bring to front
« Reply #12 on: September 24, 2008, 11:14 PM »
Desktop.ahk works for me too! i like the way it preserves the z-order but F8 is the only key available among the Fn keys so i changed to it. so how to get remove Desktop.ahk item on the taskbar?

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 933
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Desktop Bring to front
« Reply #13 on: September 25, 2008, 03:09 AM »
 :) I'll make a proper tool out of it in a couple of days, but wouldn't it be more useful to have the desktop behave like a proper window, and activate it via it's taskbar button? Is the ontop action really needed?

Skrommel

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 11,959
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Desktop Bring to front
« Reply #14 on: September 25, 2008, 03:51 AM »
works here too  :Thmbsup:

it shows up in AltTab as well but when I AltTab to it nothing happens -
not sure is something meant to happen - I used have a small programme on win98 (but not that long ago) where you could alttab to it - was possibly ahk too - it was especially helpful with win98 cause no Win key there
Tom