Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 08:37:23 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Request: how to keep an selection ?  (Read 5390 times)

AbteriX

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,115
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Request: how to keep an selection ?
« on: November 09, 2005, 11:30:59 AM »
I like to make an selection with 80% transparency for the back ground color.
Than i like to make the same selection with 0% trans for the border.
(see the red/yellow rectangle in the following pic)


Or i make an selection for an circle in say red
and than an new selection like the first, but a little bit smaller and fill it in yellow.


Now i ask if is it possible to get the same selection as for the last action ?
Than we could use this selection again or resize them to our needs.
Maybe with an new check box like here at the blue arrow ?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,434
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Request: how to keep an selection ?
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2005, 11:45:22 AM »
i have 2 ideas:

1) modify highlight objects so you can have border be not transparent - seems lots of people want this.
2) have command to make selection from an object (so you choose an object and then say, select region around object); i think this will do what you want.
3) have command to shrink and grow selection.

what do you think?

AbteriX

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,115
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Request: how to keep an selection ?
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2005, 11:56:39 AM »
i have 2 ideas:

1) ... border be not transparent -
Perfectly  :Thmbsup:

Quote
2) have command to make selection from an object
(so you choose an object and then say, select region around object);
 i think this will do what you want.
Even better !!!
This will help in many ways  :Thmbsup:

Quote
3) have command to shrink and grow selection.
like "Shrink / grow selection [...10] pixel" ???
Would often help like for the following pic  ;D

Quote
what do you think?
Thanks for asking  :)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,434
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Request: how to keep an selection ?
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2005, 07:25:34 PM »
a note:
the new bugtracker is a great motivator for me as well as a great way to keep track of bugs.
if you feel like posting a request or bug report there it would surely get implemented faster.
See link on top of forum page:

brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,136
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Request: how to keep an selection ?
« Reply #4 on: November 10, 2005, 09:00:19 PM »
a note:
the new bugtracker is a great motivator for me as well as a great way to keep track of bugs.
I suggest to rename that button to "bug tracker".

We now have buttons for the profile, the chat, the wiki, ... - we should also have the bug tracker.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,434
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Request: how to keep an selection ?
« Reply #5 on: November 10, 2005, 09:01:13 PM »
you are right. i will change.

brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,136
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Request: how to keep an selection ?
« Reply #6 on: November 10, 2005, 09:03:46 PM »
you are right. i will change.
Nice. Additional idea: You could also put "suggest new ideas and report bugs" in the mouse-over info there! :)

brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,136
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Request: how to keep an selection ?
« Reply #7 on: November 10, 2005, 09:04:54 PM »
i have 2 ideas:
[...]
3) have command to shrink and grow selection.

what do you think?
I like your third out of those 2 ideas :D

Maybe ad a slider where one could change the growth?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,434
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Request: how to keep an selection ?
« Reply #8 on: November 10, 2005, 11:15:36 PM »
beta of 2.04.02 is up:
http://www.donationc...ScreenshotCaptor.exe
try making a selection and then using cursor keys, shift cursorkeys, ctrl+cursory keys, ctrl +/-

also see obejct menu item to make region from selected object.
« Last Edit: November 10, 2005, 11:20:49 PM by mouser »

AbteriX

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,115
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Request: how to keep an selection ?
« Reply #9 on: November 11, 2005, 08:27:09 AM »
Good additions.

But seams the sometimes lost function. Mostly after release the key and try again.
I test more. It's not really a matter if so.

What is the difference between "shift cursorkeys" and "ctrl+cursorkeys" ?
I'll try.

Here a quick overview what i find out till now:
What did i miss ?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,434
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Request: how to keep an selection ?
« Reply #10 on: November 11, 2005, 08:32:25 AM »
heheh i think you know more than me now about the shortcuts :)