Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site July 25, 2014, 05:18:11 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Free DonationCoder.com Member Kit: Submit Request.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 2 [3] 4 5 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Circle Dock 0.9.2 Alpha 7 Discussion  (Read 33680 times)
Dormouse
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 983

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #50 on: August 29, 2008, 05:31:27 AM »

I have RocketDock and ObjectDock open (+ other progs), but not Elegant Clock and I have never had any problems with the mouse or 100% CPU (or anything like it) when opening or closing windows.

I am using WinXP SP2 with 512RAM.
Intel Pentium 4 2.53GHz
128MB RAM

But there is a big difference in system specs.  - I have a Core2Duo with 2GB memory and a relatively new (though inexpensive) graphics card with 512MB memory of its own. TBH, I don't think I'd like to try to run WinXP Pro in the RAM levels you quote at all.
Logged
Rostam
Participant
*
Posts: 21

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #51 on: August 30, 2008, 05:41:53 PM »

First off I want to say that I loved this program when I first found the old version, and I just wish I'd had the coding skills to contribute in some way. Thanks for such a great idea/program!

I was wondering something kind of random: would it be possible to replace the center button with a live clock? I think that would be a practical and efficient use of space in the dock, but I just don't know how feasible it is.
Logged
VideoInPicture
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 467



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #52 on: August 30, 2008, 06:12:47 PM »

I was wondering something kind of random: would it be possible to replace the center button with a live clock? I think that would be a practical and efficient use of space in the dock, but I just don't know how feasible it is.


It is certainly possible and most of the code to do that kind of thing is already in Circle Dock but I have to think through how to implement animations effectively and efficiently. This is the one piece of the puzzle that I haven't totally figured out. I just wish I had access to one of the mainstream dock applications out there so I can see how they animate everything simultaneously and smoothly.
Logged

Author of Circle Dock: http://circledock.wikidot.com
Author of Video In Picture: http://videoinpicture.wikidot.com
Author of Webcam Signature: http://webcamsignature.wikidot.com
Author of Easy Unicode Paster: http://easyunicodepaster.wikidot.com
Boba-Fett
Participant
*
Posts: 35


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #53 on: August 31, 2008, 01:05:44 AM »

I found the mistake and must to improve the Circle Dock, is drag n drop icons from desktop to circle dock. The mistake is when the icons already drag n drop on circle dock and using it, after I deleted the desktop program icon, on the circle dock that icon and link will be follow disappear together cannot use and must find another way again to continue use the program.  huh

I already checked the "DockItemData.ini" circle dock just take the icon links at "C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Desktop\"

Better create a add icon menu to fix it at Alpha 8, circle dock icon must direct link at installed program file.  smiley
If it is unfortunate deleted icon on desktop, and it won't be affect the circle dock icons.
Logged
Sekko
Participant
*
Posts: 4


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #54 on: August 31, 2008, 06:38:23 AM »

can someone help me i need to solve a problem with the dock.. i tried to put my docs, my computer on the dock.... but it doesn't.. and also i want the the dock to stay still in the center without disappearing from the desktop, can it be just like the Rockitdock.. Still and visible at all time.. please help me undecided
Logged
VideoInPicture
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 467



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #55 on: August 31, 2008, 06:59:18 AM »

I found the mistake and must to improve the Circle Dock, is drag n drop icons from desktop to circle dock. The mistake is when the icons already drag n drop on circle dock and using it, after I deleted the desktop program icon, on the circle dock that icon and link will be follow disappear together cannot use and must find another way again to continue use the program.  huh

I already checked the "DockItemData.ini" circle dock just take the icon links at "C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Desktop\"

Better create a add icon menu to fix it at Alpha 8, circle dock icon must direct link at installed program file.  smiley
If it is unfortunate deleted icon on desktop, and it won't be affect the circle dock icons.


Currently, Circle Dock does not track what happens to the original file/folder that was dragged and dropped onto the dock. If it gets deleted or moved, Circle Dock doesn't know. I have some file tracker code that I will implement in a future version to synchronize these actions.

I don't quite get the full picture of your problem here, though. Are you having trouble removing the icon from Circle Dock after the original file gets deleted?
Logged

Author of Circle Dock: http://circledock.wikidot.com
Author of Video In Picture: http://videoinpicture.wikidot.com
Author of Webcam Signature: http://webcamsignature.wikidot.com
Author of Easy Unicode Paster: http://easyunicodepaster.wikidot.com
VideoInPicture
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 467



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #56 on: August 31, 2008, 07:03:55 AM »

can someone help me i need to solve a problem with the dock.. i tried to put my docs, my computer on the dock.... but it doesn't.. and also i want the the dock to stay still in the center without disappearing from the desktop, can it be just like the Rockitdock.. Still and visible at all time.. please help me undecided

I answered a version of this question over e-mail but this phrasing is clearer. Some files and folders are virtual directories that don't have a physical path on your hard drive. Currently, Circle Dock does not support the drag and drop operations on these file types. You have to create a Windows shortcut for these directories and then drag and drop them onto Circle Dock. Circle Dock will execute the shortcuts.

For the second part about, I believe you want to disable movement of the dock and keep in on the bottom of all other windows except if it has focus. Someone on another messageboard has made this request and I'll be implementing it fully in Alpha 8 which will be out in about 1 week from today.

For now, you can disable Circle Dock from following your mouse around when you toggle the visibility by going to Settings -> Location and uncheck the follow the mouse option.
Logged

Author of Circle Dock: http://circledock.wikidot.com
Author of Video In Picture: http://videoinpicture.wikidot.com
Author of Webcam Signature: http://webcamsignature.wikidot.com
Author of Easy Unicode Paster: http://easyunicodepaster.wikidot.com
Boba-Fett
Participant
*
Posts: 35


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #57 on: August 31, 2008, 07:10:21 AM »

I found the mistake and must to improve the Circle Dock, is drag n drop icons from desktop to circle dock. The mistake is when the icons already drag n drop on circle dock and using it, after I deleted the desktop program icon, on the circle dock that icon and link will be follow disappear together cannot use and must find another way again to continue use the program.  huh

I already checked the "DockItemData.ini" circle dock just take the icon links at "C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Desktop\"

Better create a add icon menu to fix it at Alpha 8, circle dock icon must direct link at installed program file.  smiley
If it is unfortunate deleted icon on desktop, and it won't be affect the circle dock icons.


Currently, Circle Dock does not track what happens to the original file/folder that was dragged and dropped onto the dock. If it gets deleted or moved, Circle Dock doesn't know. I have some file tracker code that I will implement in a future version to synchronize these actions.

I don't quite get the full picture of your problem here, though. Are you having trouble removing the icon from Circle Dock after the original file gets deleted?

I have no trouble removing the icon from Circle Dock after the original file gets deleted, just the original desktop icon gets deleted and the icon from the Circle Dock cannot use continue, want find another way to drag n drop the icon again to Circle Dock.
Logged
VideoInPicture
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 467



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #58 on: August 31, 2008, 07:29:00 AM »

If it's any help, Alpha 8 will has a properties panel for each dock icon that will let you change that target location that the dock icon executes.
Logged

Author of Circle Dock: http://circledock.wikidot.com
Author of Video In Picture: http://videoinpicture.wikidot.com
Author of Webcam Signature: http://webcamsignature.wikidot.com
Author of Easy Unicode Paster: http://easyunicodepaster.wikidot.com
Syllabus
Participant
*
Posts: 9


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #59 on: September 01, 2008, 12:09:57 AM »

Some suggestions tongue... For functionality... And beauty   Kiss

1 - When you double click the middle icon, the Dock hides.  Kiss
2 - I'm going to make some backgrounds with 'Double Rings', because, if you have more than one 'ring', the other icons will be 'floating?'... then... it's gonna look like this... if you like, tell me... I can do some for the Dock Wink

Png for test:> http://maxvibe.net/downlo.../imagens/DoubleRing01.png
In use:> http://maxvibe.net/downlo...ds/imagens/Dock2Rings.jpg

3 - Maybe a 'zoom' on the icon when we pass the mouse over it? I Think i have read this here yet, but... ;P

Well, that's it, for today tongue... First day of use... Very nice program... very interested on helping tongue

Keep the good work,

Cya,

Erich
Logged
VideoInPicture
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 467



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #60 on: September 01, 2008, 12:26:51 AM »

Some suggestions tongue... For functionality... And beauty   Kiss

1 - When you double click the middle icon, the Dock hides.  Kiss
2 - I'm going to make some backgrounds with 'Double Rings', because, if you have more than one 'ring', the other icons will be 'floating?'... then... it's gonna look like this... if you like, tell me... I can do some for the Dock Wink

Png for test:> http://maxvibe.net/downlo.../imagens/DoubleRing01.png
In use:> http://maxvibe.net/downlo...ds/imagens/Dock2Rings.jpg

3 - Maybe a 'zoom' on the icon when we pass the mouse over it? I Think i have read this here yet, but... ;P

Well, that's it, for today tongue... First day of use... Very nice program... very interested on helping tongue

Keep the good work,

Cya,

Erich

Wow, those are nice rings! I'm going to try to release Alpha 8 next Sunday. Can I include them in the Alpha? I think it would also be nice to feature them on the Circle Dock website. I've got some language files and I think another set of rings someone has e-mailed me. I've been meaning to update the website these past few days but was experimenting with some code for Circle Dock that I haven't got fully working set.

For Alpha 8, I'm going to be completing some of those features listed in the current Settings Panel as well as implementing the options people have suggested on this board and through e-mails. It will also have a properties panel for each dock icon so that you can finally edit them after you have it on the dock. I'll also be adding some more shape options for people to adjust.
Logged

Author of Circle Dock: http://circledock.wikidot.com
Author of Video In Picture: http://videoinpicture.wikidot.com
Author of Webcam Signature: http://webcamsignature.wikidot.com
Author of Easy Unicode Paster: http://easyunicodepaster.wikidot.com
VideoInPicture
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 467



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #61 on: September 01, 2008, 12:31:02 AM »

I could also make the background rotate with the dock. That's something that I think I could implement for Alpha 8.
Logged

Author of Circle Dock: http://circledock.wikidot.com
Author of Video In Picture: http://videoinpicture.wikidot.com
Author of Webcam Signature: http://webcamsignature.wikidot.com
Author of Easy Unicode Paster: http://easyunicodepaster.wikidot.com
fleon
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 8

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #62 on: September 01, 2008, 03:57:52 AM »

I seem to have a problem in CircleDock alpha 7.4.  I set my visibility hotkey to CTRL+ALT+Z and that used to work fine in alpha 7.2.  Now the only hotkeys I can seem to get to work are the F1-F12 keys.
Logged
_kuzma_
Participant
*
Posts: 1

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #63 on: September 01, 2008, 06:16:49 AM »

Amazing application, thank you! Great work!

I've made a translation into Russian, hope it will be useful for you.
It's a pity, that not every string is currently localizable, so some things can't be translated (grid headers in icon association setups, or credits in About window, for example), but what was possible is done.

And a little suggestion, if you don't mind smiley
It would be much easier to localize this, if you will make labels and checkboxes stretchable. Screen position section, for example, takes a lot of space, but can't contain more than about 40 characters.
Logged
VideoInPicture
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 467



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #64 on: September 01, 2008, 07:19:45 AM »

I seem to have a problem in CircleDock alpha 7.4.  I set my visibility hotkey to CTRL+ALT+Z and that used to work fine in alpha 7.2.  Now the only hotkeys I can seem to get to work are the F1-F12 keys.

Thanks for catching this. I'll find out what's wrong with it.
Logged

Author of Circle Dock: http://circledock.wikidot.com
Author of Video In Picture: http://videoinpicture.wikidot.com
Author of Webcam Signature: http://webcamsignature.wikidot.com
Author of Easy Unicode Paster: http://easyunicodepaster.wikidot.com
VideoInPicture
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 467



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #65 on: September 01, 2008, 07:24:56 AM »

Amazing application, thank you! Great work!

I've made a translation into Russian, hope it will be useful for you.
It's a pity, that not every string is currently localizable, so some things can't be translated (grid headers in icon association setups, or credits in About window, for example), but what was possible is done.

And a little suggestion, if you don't mind smiley
It would be much easier to localize this, if you will make labels and checkboxes stretchable. Screen position section, for example, takes a lot of space, but can't contain more than about 40 characters.


Thanks for the translation. I'll post up an updated version of Circle Dock with it.

Some items in the Settings Panel are not fully implemented so they are not using the language files yet. I'm working on finishing them for Alpha 8 along with other options. As for the Credits panel, I thought it would be a pain to translate all the text in the credits list so I just left it as English no matter what language file.

As for making the labels and checkboxes stretchable, I'll see if I can do that. Maybe I have to put everything inside an expanding table. I'm not sure how that would work right now but I'll check it out for Alpha 8.
Logged

Author of Circle Dock: http://circledock.wikidot.com
Author of Video In Picture: http://videoinpicture.wikidot.com
Author of Webcam Signature: http://webcamsignature.wikidot.com
Author of Easy Unicode Paster: http://easyunicodepaster.wikidot.com
Rostam
Participant
*
Posts: 21

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #66 on: September 01, 2008, 07:48:26 AM »

I've got a problem: when I set the keyboard hotkey to none, 0 becomes a hotkey and is rendered useless for general typing (I can use the 0 button in the numpad, but not the number row).
Logged
VideoInPicture
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 467



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #67 on: September 01, 2008, 07:56:42 AM »

I've got a problem: when I set the keyboard hotkey to none, 0 becomes a hotkey and is rendered useless for general typing (I can use the 0 button in the numpad, but not the number row).

Wow, you are right. I'll fix it or swap it out with another hotkey component. I'll get an update as soon as possible. For now, just check all the Ctrl, Alt, Shift, and Win boxes if you want "None". This will sort of simulate a "None" condition since I don't think you would be pressing down all those keys at once.
Logged

Author of Circle Dock: http://circledock.wikidot.com
Author of Video In Picture: http://videoinpicture.wikidot.com
Author of Webcam Signature: http://webcamsignature.wikidot.com
Author of Easy Unicode Paster: http://easyunicodepaster.wikidot.com
himynameisbunny
Participant
*
Posts: 1


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #68 on: September 01, 2008, 08:31:37 AM »

Just discovered CircleDock through LifeHacker, I'm liking it so far but so far I think a few abilities that shouldn't be too hard to implement...

The main one is it's missing the ability to map the menu to a HELD key, i.e. instead of clicking the center mouse key to open up the menu, the user must hold the key for x amount of seconds for the menu to appear. This way users can still open up links in new tabs in IE7/Firefox/Opera without the menu appearing!  Wink

Also, something that would complement this would be the menu automatically disappearing when the button is released, with whatever application that was under the cursor being opened. For example, if the button was to be released when the cursor was over the icon for My Documents, My Documents would be opened.

If you want a perfect example of what I'm talking about, take a look at the Nintendo 64 version of Perfect Dark. The quick weapon select screen with the N64's A button is what I'm talking about, just with CircleDock and the mouse key  Wink

Not sure how hard the second one would be to implement, but I'd imagine the first request would be relatively easy.

Plus sorry about all the highlighting, wanted to make it easier to read haha  cheesy
Logged
Rostam
Participant
*
Posts: 21

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #69 on: September 01, 2008, 08:52:55 AM »


Wow, you are right. I'll fix it or swap it out with another hotkey component. I'll get an update as soon as possible. For now, just check all the Ctrl, Alt, Shift, and Win boxes if you want "None". This will sort of simulate a "None" condition since I don't think you would be pressing down all those keys at once.

Yeah, I had just set it to F24 (F13-24 don't exist on my keyboard).

Also, I was wondering if it were possible to expand the mouse-toggling options for mice with additional buttons. I have more buttons than I need outside of video games (7), so that would be nice to free up the middle mouse button for scrolling and tab-opening. There are a couple external workarounds, but if CD could natively support it that would be nice.

One other random idea (building off of the last post + from playing Crysis)...Perhaps in the future you could add the ability for two menues: one when you click the middle mouse button (or equivalently tap the hotkey), a second that pops up when you hold it down for a full second or so (perhaps make that time-length configurable). Maybe model the second menu after the one in Crysis, where it goes away when you stop holding it, except it'll fade back to the first menu or something. This might be a bit complex, but I think there might be some value in it as an add-on long in the future.
Logged
VideoInPicture
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 467



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #70 on: September 01, 2008, 09:14:34 AM »

Circle Dock is only able to see up to the first 5 buttons on your mouse (left, right, middle, X1, X2). Any buttons above these are non-standard and you would have to use the software provided by your mouse manufacturer to reconfigure the buttons. It's a driver/software limitation so I can't touch it.

For having a hold-delay option for the mouse buttons, I think I can do that and it would be a good idea since many people use the middle-mouse button to open tabs in Firefox. It'll have to be some time after Alpha 8 this Sunday though.
Logged

Author of Circle Dock: http://circledock.wikidot.com
Author of Video In Picture: http://videoinpicture.wikidot.com
Author of Webcam Signature: http://webcamsignature.wikidot.com
Author of Easy Unicode Paster: http://easyunicodepaster.wikidot.com
Syllabus
Participant
*
Posts: 9


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #71 on: September 01, 2008, 09:41:09 AM »

Quote
Wow, those are nice rings! I'm going to try to release Alpha 8 next Sunday. Can I include them in the Alpha? I think it would also be nice to feature them on the Circle Dock website. I've got some language files and I think another set of rings someone has e-mailed me. I've been meaning to update the website these past few days but was experimenting with some code for Circle Dock that I haven't got fully working set.

For Alpha 8, I'm going to be completing some of those features listed in the current Settings Panel as well as implementing the options people have suggested on this board and through e-mails. It will also have a properties panel for each dock icon so that you can finally edit them after you have it on the dock. I'll also be adding some more shape options for people to adjust.

Yeah, of course you can include this ring, i'm going to do some others with 2 rings, because many people use more than one tongue. About the translations, i've mailed for you the PT-BR Translation, yesterday.

Those changes are cool, i like them... I'm just wondering what you gonna do with the middle 'icon', it has no use for single or double clicks... then... tongue

Cya,

Erich

Logged
Rostam
Participant
*
Posts: 21

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #72 on: September 03, 2008, 03:49:36 PM »

 I'm not sure if this would be considered a bug, but I was playing with the settings and it turns out that if the center button's opacity is set to 0, you can't move circle dock or access the start menu (if that setting is on). Putting the opacity at 1 (or even 10) renders it nearly invisible anyway, but fixing it or having a "clear" icon might be good for those who don't want anything in the center.
Logged
VideoInPicture
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 467



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #73 on: September 03, 2008, 04:14:48 PM »

I'm not sure if this would be considered a bug, but I was playing with the settings and it turns out that if the center button's opacity is set to 0, you can't move circle dock or access the start menu (if that setting is on). Putting the opacity at 1 (or even 10) renders it nearly invisible anyway, but fixing it or having a "clear" icon might be good for those who don't want anything in the center.

This is intentional. An opacity of 0 means that the object is completely transparent, even to user clicks and input. An opacity of 1 means that it is totally transparent but you can still click on it. This is standard for all Windows controls and forms.

With the centre button's opacity set to 0, you can still access the settings menu and move the dock by clicking on the circular background. The settings menu is also accessible through right-clicking the tray icon.
Logged

Author of Circle Dock: http://circledock.wikidot.com
Author of Video In Picture: http://videoinpicture.wikidot.com
Author of Webcam Signature: http://webcamsignature.wikidot.com
Author of Easy Unicode Paster: http://easyunicodepaster.wikidot.com
Rostam
Participant
*
Posts: 21

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #74 on: September 07, 2008, 02:08:54 PM »

Question...any chance that, somewhere in the future multiple, independent (i.e. with different icons/links/etc) instances of the program could run at the same time?

(Or should I just do this by having two different CD folders in different locations under different names?)
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 2 [3] 4 5 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.055s | Server load: 0.08 ]