ATTENTION: You are viewing a page formatted for mobile devices; to view the full web page, click HERE.

Other Software > Developer's Corner

How to choose programming language?

(1/8) > >>

Ketracel:
I'm not a programmer so I would appreciate your help. I would like to sponsor an open source project for an application (installed as opposed to online) and was wondering how to go about choosing which language to use for it?

How do programmers choose which language to use for a program? is there a "right" answer? what variables does it depend on? I know most know a few languages but are most comfortable with one or two. So before I hire a programmer, I think it would be obviously, helpful to narrow things down in terms of a language.

I have done a lot of work in developing the idea so I would be able to answer questions about it, if you need more info before you can give an answer.

Thank you.

:)

mouser:
Your desire for a desktop application as opposed to a web service argues in favor of some languages over others.  php and ruby are less appealing, c++ and python more so.

Your need for open source again argues against using a non-free language like Delphi.

But beyond that, it's quite hard to advocate for a specific language without knowing more about what the program will do.

If it needs to be fast and efficient, that would argue for something like C++.  If not, c++ might be a bad choice.

If it needs to be cross-platform, that changes your needs too, and restricts you to certain languages and libraries.

It also needs to be said that the hardest part may be finding a good coder -- and if a good coder has certain preferences for a language that could be the determining factor.

If you feel comfortable telling us the idea, please do.  Maybe DC can help.

Ketracel:
Mouser,
Thanks for your message. To be honest I've done a bit of research and have a certain language in mind already... but want to make sure that it is the "correct" one.