Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site August 01, 2014, 06:57:52 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Read the full one-year retrospective report on DonationCoder.com.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: IDEA: hotkey to toggle left/right mouse buttons  (Read 6837 times)
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,376



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: August 22, 2008, 04:00:14 AM »

From this thread using 2 mice - can I have different settings for each? it looks like I cant have different settings for each. Deozaan & nite_monkey came up with this idea:

... Would there be some way that you could make an AHK program that would send the left mouse click when you physically right clicked, and vice verso

it would have to be able to differentiate between the two mouses which I suspect might be impossible but it would be great
Any takers out there ?? or ideas on the subject ??

Another idea would possibly be an AHK shortcut that would toggle the mouse settings to be lefty or righty.

IDEA is: to have a hotkey that would toggle settings for left and right mouse buttons
Ideally one hotkey would toggle settings but if that's not possible two different hotkeys would be fine
I was thinking RightAlt+M would be good (this is usually, but in my experience not always, same as Control+Alt+M but I'm sure you all willknow better than me smiley)

So I suppose, hotkey makes LeftButton=Right, Right Botton=Left, & then vice-versa
Could call it Ambidexterous-Mouser (seeing as "mouser" is hot-topic at the moment :p) or something like that cheesy
Logged

Tom
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,166



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2008, 08:45:16 AM »

Quote from: tomos
Could call it Ambidexterous-Mouser (seeing as "mouser" is hot-topic at the moment)
Hmmm... would it need a randomizer in order to cut out for unannounced periods?  Wink
Logged

Chris
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,087



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2008, 10:17:27 AM »

i haven't read the the other thread yet but is this what you're looking for?

Mouse key swap-over?
Logged

skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2008, 06:15:53 PM »

 smiley Try SwapMouseButtons!

Just press Windows-S to swap the left and right mouse buttons.

Skrommel

[copy or print]
;SwapMouseButtons.ahk
; Press Windows-S to swap mouse buttons
;Skrommel @ 2008

#SingleInstance,Force
SendMode,Input
SetWindelay,0
SetKeyDelay,0

#s::
RegRead,swapped,HKEY_CURRENT_USER,Control Panel\Mouse,SwapMouseButtons
If swapped<>1
{
  Run,RUNDLL32 USER32.DLL`,SwapMouseButton
  RegWrite,REG_SZ,HKEY_CURRENT_USER,Control Panel\Mouse,SwapMouseButtons,1
}
Else
{
  Run,RUNDLL32.EXE SHELL32.dll`,Control_RunDLL main.cpl @0`,0
  WinWait,ahk_class #32770
  WinActivate,ahk_class #32770
  WinWaitActive,ahk_class #32770
  Send,%A_Space%{Enter}
  RegWrite,REG_SZ,HKEY_CURRENT_USER,Control Panel\Mouse,SwapMouseButtons,0
}
Return
Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,376



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2008, 06:35:36 AM »

smiley Try SwapMouseButtons!

thanks Skrommel  thumbs up  cheesy

I've only gotten round to trying that today - I had to give my left arm a rest so was just using right mouse for the last week (I'm left-handed)

Anyways,
when I click Win+S first a small "0" in a box shows just SE of cursor,
when I click again, a "1" shows again just below/right of cursor
These dont go away, I mean there's always one of them there ..

But a bigger problem is that on second click the mouse settings box opens - it opens the logitech tab with a wizard to help you asking which side of keyboard the mouse is etc.

I will try uninstalling the logitech soft - only installed it to see could I get around this problem some way - and see if that helps
Was thinking maybe it using this hotkey too but can find no indication othat - but you never can tell !
Logged

Tom
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: August 29, 2008, 12:55:00 PM »

 tellme Some software must be detecting the change my script is making, 'cause there's no gui element in there except it shows the mouse settings dialog to force an update when swapping back.

Skrommel
Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,376



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: August 29, 2008, 03:24:57 PM »

except it shows the mouse settings dialog to force an update when swapping back.

do you mean it should be showing the mouse settings box ? (not sure...)
still havent uninstalled the logitech, will shortly
Logged

Tom
this-is-me
Participant
*
Posts: 7

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: December 14, 2008, 01:15:12 PM »

You probably don't know this, but there is a much easier way to do this. You can do this with no user interface by setting "HKCU\Control Panel\Mouse", "SwapMouseButtons" to 1 or 0 and using DllCall user32.dll SwapMouseButton 1 or 0.
Logged
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,376



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: December 14, 2008, 05:45:35 PM »

You probably don't know this, but there is a much easier way to do this. You can do this with no user interface by setting "HKCU\Control Panel\Mouse", "SwapMouseButtons" to 1 or 0 and using DllCall user32.dll SwapMouseButton 1 or 0.

much easier way to toggle mouse buttons ?? - maybe your post is aimed at Skrommel? - me, I dont understand it - I mean I dont mind messing with the registry just not sure what you're saying exactly ...
Logged

Tom
Ath
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,186



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: December 29, 2008, 07:54:27 AM »

Just found tool MouseMixer on this page: http://www.fxc.btinternet.co.uk/software.htm
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.041s | Server load: 0.36 ]