Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site November 24, 2014, 02:09:59 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2011! Download 30+ custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: IDEA: clean Taskbar without clock and start button  (Read 6414 times)
apfel
Participant
*
Posts: 63


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: August 18, 2008, 12:29:49 PM »

Hi, had this idea of a clean taskbar, which only shows the opened windows and tray.
   
summing-up:
- no start button, but space should be usable
- no clock
- tray should be visible (btw. i use ps tray factory to hide some icons)
- whole taskbar should only be visible, if more than one window is present and on mouseover

hope someone can do this.

apfel.
« Last Edit: August 18, 2008, 12:35:06 PM by apfel » Logged
TucknDar
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,094


Advanced coder of Nowt

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2008, 12:47:59 PM »

Have you looked into alternative shells?

http://en.wikipedia.org/w...Desktop_shell_replacement has links to quite a few

Personally I use LiteStep. Note that it can possibly take quite some time to get used to shell replacements and if you want it to behave just like you want, at least LiteStep requires some text file editing. Others, such as bbLean (blackbox for windows essentially) can mostly be configured through menus.
Logged
apfel
Participant
*
Posts: 63


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2008, 03:26:00 PM »

I dont really want a shellreplacement for this.
Logged
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,694



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2008, 03:48:52 PM »

I remember there were thread(s) about removing the Start button, no idea if it was also possible to remove clock too - maybe someone remembers threads or search might produce something!

[edit] of course this
Quote
- whole taskbar should only be visible, if more than one window is present and on mouseover
probably wouldnt be covered ...
Logged

Tom
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,711



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2008, 04:10:21 PM »

Removing the clock is simpler than one would think smiley
Just right-click the taskbar, go to "notification area", and untick the clock! (this is in Vista, but I'm pretty sure it's there in XP too).
Logged

VideoInPicture
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 467



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: August 18, 2008, 05:01:08 PM »

I think I may have a solution....It's 90% there and is based off of an open source project. I'll see if I can make it work.
Logged

Author of Circle Dock: http://circledock.wikidot.com
Author of Video In Picture: http://videoinpicture.wikidot.com
Author of Webcam Signature: http://webcamsignature.wikidot.com
Author of Easy Unicode Paster: http://easyunicodepaster.wikidot.com
AndyM
Charter Member
***
Posts: 616


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: August 18, 2008, 08:20:52 PM »

LClock , on the "other" tab has a box to "hide Start Button". 

http://www.neowin.net/for...ndex.php?showtopic=157465
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,132



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: August 18, 2008, 08:42:58 PM »

summing-up:
- no start button, but space should be usable
- no clock
- tray should be visible (btw. i use ps tray factory to hide some icons)
- whole taskbar should only be visible, if more than one window is present and on mouseover

good idea, eventhough currently it can be done separately. e.g. Start Killer can help reclaim the space while the clock can be hidden (see pic). item 4 is quite similar to Skrommel's FadingTaskbar.

Logged

apfel
Participant
*
Posts: 63


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: August 19, 2008, 07:09:53 AM »

LClock , on the "other" tab has a box to "hide Start Button". 

http://www.neowin.net/for...ndex.php?showtopic=157465

Cant use this methode, because of PS Tray Factory. (problems)
Logged
AndyM
Charter Member
***
Posts: 616


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: August 19, 2008, 12:33:53 PM »

LClock , on the "other" tab has a box to "hide Start Button". 

http://www.neowin.net/for...ndex.php?showtopic=157465

Cant use this methode, because of PS Tray Factory. (problems)

What kind of problems?  I run PS Tray Factory also (couldn't live without it).  Plus I run quite a bit of other stuff.  I'd like to know what problems you had - might be clues for me to figure out some of my system's idiosyncrasies.
Logged
apfel
Participant
*
Posts: 63


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: August 21, 2008, 09:53:53 AM »

LClock relocates the Start Button to hide it and everytime I start PS Tray Factory, the whole tray gets covered by the start butto.
Logged
AndyM
Charter Member
***
Posts: 616


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: August 21, 2008, 02:24:17 PM »

LClock relocates the Start Button to hide it and everytime I start PS Tray Factory, the whole tray gets covered by the start butto.

Ah, I don't hide my start button so I haven't seen that behavior.
Logged
app103
That scary taskbar girl
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 5,326



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: August 30, 2008, 11:12:27 PM »

If you don't feel like going through any taskbar settings to turn off the clock (or just have trouble remembering where it is), I once made a small utility to test some code, that does it. (was never tested on Vista)

http://appsapps.info/downloads/removeclock.zip

It may leave a space, but that will go away when one or more icons in the tray refreshes or is added/removed.

As far as the start button goes, I remember some application called TClock2 that might be able to hide/change it. (doesn't work on Vista)
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.043s | Server load: 1.87 ]