Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 08:17:19 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Server space/account offer to DonationCoder.com projects.  (Read 1789 times)

cellkill

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Server space/account offer to DonationCoder.com projects.
« on: August 12, 2008, 05:55:18 AM »
I'm typically a lurker of sorts but I appreciate the work done here at DonationCoder.com and the community it supports.

That being said I'd like to offer shell access, webhosting, and in most cases root access to my personal server to some of the regulars on DonationCoder.com. I'm aware that something like this may already be offered by mouser and friends but what I'm offering is in addition too, and if mouser is interested, maybe even something officially for DonationCoder.com residents.

Now, I'm sure the next question is why? well.... it's simple really, I'm paying $170+ a month for this server for my own personal use and am currently consuming about 200-700 GB a month in bandwidth when I am allowed 2TB. As far as I'm concerned that means that 1.3-1.8TB of bandwidth is being wasted every month and I'd rather the server be utilized by those who might need it as well.

This offer is for serious projects/coders/users only, a basic to advanced knowledge of linux is preferable but if the applicant seems like they could pick it up as they go that's good as well.

Contact info:
This thread
AIM PhatalEffect
GTalk blaine.palmer [at] (nospamGMail.com)

Some details on the server itself:

The server is a dedicated server being rented from SoftLayer.com, which if I'm correct is the same data center that DonationCoder.com is currently being hosted out of.

From the SoftLayer.com portal Hardware tab:
      Motherboard    SuperMicro H8SSL-I AMD Opteron DualCore SingleProc Sata [1Proc]
      Processor    AMD Opteron 175 [2GHz] Available upgrades
      RAM slot 1    Generic 0.5GB DDR1 [.5GB] Available upgrades
      RAM slot 2    Generic 0.5GB DDR1 [.5GB] Available upgrades
   
      Drive Controller    Mainboard \ Onboard \ SATAII Controller Available upgrades
      Hard Drive 1    Western Digital WD Caviar RE 16 WD2500YS Available upgrades

      Remote Mgmt Card    SuperMicro AOC-1UIPMI-B IPMI-SOL

Currently connected to a 1Gbps port in the Dallas data center of SoftLayer.com and running Debian 4.0r3-32 with apt-get upgrade being run weekly.

Some graphs:
http://stats.fatalef...pu-monthly-large.png
http://stats.fatalef...vg-monthly-large.png
http://stats.fatalef...es-monthly-large.png
http://stats.fatalef...nt-monthly-large.png

P.s. Feel free to address me for any questions or problems concerning this post.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Server space/account offer to DonationCoder.com projects.
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2008, 07:13:13 PM »
very generous of you.. and yes this server is hosted by softlayer, a very high quality hosting company.

cellkill

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Server space/account offer to DonationCoder.com projects.
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2008, 08:41:13 PM »
I'd also like to take this time to address mouser and his staff, if you'd like a testing ground outside your production server for anything I'd be happy to set you guys up with accounts. I could also just setup mouser with an account and sudo.

Just throwing that out there too.

p.s. I see you guys are running Apache 2.2.3, I'm running lighttpd on this box but you could always run apache on another port if you'd like another testing ground.