Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 07, 2016, 10:25:40 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: FARR Error : Entry Point Not found.  (Read 12264 times)

vixay

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 140
  • ViXaY
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
FARR Error : Entry Point Not found.
« on: August 08, 2008, 06:05:36 AM »
I have gotten the following error quite a few times now...
Using the latest version of FARR (got it even with the older versions)

Quote
---------------------------
Advanced Options: FindAndRunRobot.exe - Entry Point Not Found
---------------------------
The procedure entry point wcsncpy_s could not be located in the dynamic link library msvcrt.dll.
---------------------------
OK   
---------------------------

Any ideas?
"Drunk on the Nectar of Life!" -me

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,408
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Error : Entry Point Not found.
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2008, 08:24:22 AM »
that's very strange. can you pinpoint when it occurs? ie what are you doing at the time it happens?

vixay

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 140
  • ViXaY
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Error : Entry Point Not found.
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2008, 10:47:37 PM »
It's usually after I press the hotkey and want to search for something. As FARR pops up so does the error. Sometimes FARR crashes after that, sometimes it doesnt. It all seems pretty random. If i figure out a way to make it repeat, I'll let you know.
"Drunk on the Nectar of Life!" -me

vixay

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 140
  • ViXaY
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Error : Entry Point Not found.
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2008, 10:49:31 PM »
I just had an idea.... Maybe it's coz of networked drives? If I've launched something from the network, and after rebooting it hasn't been reconnected yet, but when i open FARR, it probably tries to fetch the details from the network drive (which hasn't been connected), and thus the error? Just a thought....
If i can confirm this i'll post again
"Drunk on the Nectar of Life!" -me

Mikerrrr

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Error : Entry Point Not found.
« Reply #4 on: November 09, 2008, 01:00:29 AM »
I'm also having this problem. It only happens when I type in the first three letters of some programs, such as typing in "fir" (searching for firefox) that makes it crash. Sometimes it would crash on the "wik" in "wiki" but that seems to have gone away. Can someone please help? Thanks.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,408
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Error : Entry Point Not found.
« Reply #5 on: November 09, 2008, 01:31:39 AM »
hmm.. do you guys have any plugins installed?  could you try disabling them or removing them and seeing if that fixes the problem -- at least that would give me a clue.

Mikerrrr

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Error : Entry Point Not found.
« Reply #6 on: November 09, 2008, 11:27:29 AM »
I have a few plugins installed, let me try removing some, and I'll post back.

EDIT: Unchecked all my plugins, and the problem persists. If this can't be helped, or if it's not the program's fault (more than likely) then it'll be fine. It only gives me the error when I search for the first three letters of certain things, so I can get around it.
« Last Edit: November 09, 2008, 11:35:37 AM by Mikerrrr »

vixay

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 140
  • ViXaY
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Error : Entry Point Not found.
« Reply #7 on: November 09, 2008, 11:20:53 PM »
The problem stopped for me after one of the updates. I don't know what fixed it, or what caused it :)...
Can you copy and paste the message box next time you have the problem? (Just hit Ctrl+C once the message box has popped up, it's a windows trick).

Maybe the dll in the which the error occurs gives a clue?
"Drunk on the Nectar of Life!" -me

Mikerrrr

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Error : Entry Point Not found.
« Reply #8 on: November 10, 2008, 09:42:02 PM »
It fixed itself somehow. For now. But yeah, everything is wonderful for the time being, thanks for all the help, and Mouser, this program is amazing.

Mikerrrr

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Error : Entry Point Not found.
« Reply #9 on: November 12, 2008, 10:58:17 AM »
---------------------------
Advanced Options: FindAndRunRobot.exe - Entry Point Not Found
---------------------------
The procedure entry point wcsncpy_s could not be located in the dynamic link library msvcrt.dll.
---------------------------
OK   
---------------------------


It's gotten worse :(

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,408
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Error : Entry Point Not found.
« Reply #10 on: November 12, 2008, 01:26:25 PM »
can you get it to reliably occur?
try this:
go to farr options and enable the option that tells you exactly what farr is searching as it searches and see if you can trigger the error:

Screenshot - 11_12_2008 , 1_25_58 PM.png

as vixay suggested, i kind of think this may have to do with a networked file that no longer exists or has changed locations..

mikerrrr do you also have files that are located on a network or removable driver that could be changing or disconnecting?

Mikerrrr

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Error : Entry Point Not found.
« Reply #11 on: November 12, 2008, 07:15:35 PM »
HOLY CRAP IT WORKED. I turned on the "Show search subdir details in status bar" option like you said, and it turns out it would crash when searching the control panel (cpanel) script, so I moved that folder out of the scripts folder in my root FARR directory, and now there's no more crashes! Thank you so much!

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,408
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Error : Entry Point Not found.
« Reply #12 on: November 12, 2008, 07:17:17 PM »
great discovery!

when you have the energy, you might try putting some of the cpanel shortcuts back and try to find out which exact shortcut triggers it or if all do -- that would help me figure out the root cause and solve it for others.

Mikerrrr

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Error : Entry Point Not found.
« Reply #13 on: November 13, 2008, 08:03:06 PM »
I think it's the whole (cpanel) folder in farr\scripts that's 'causing the crash, though i can't be sure becomes sometimes it crashes so soon that i can't see what directory it's going through.

dhisnotnull

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Error : Entry Point Not found.
« Reply #14 on: December 22, 2008, 03:17:05 AM »
I had the same problem check the cpanel folder and see if any shortcut has its icon missing, delete them. The should fix in the distribution by making the cpanel folder generate shortcuts during install.

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,285
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Error : Entry Point Not found.
« Reply #15 on: January 23, 2009, 10:46:22 PM »
I just ran into this.  I ran FARR on XP on another PC, on Vista on this PC and didn't get the error until I ran it on XP on this PC.  On XP on this PC I can see my Vista partition.  I put C:\ in search folders with 0 for subdirectory search and so far the error hasn't recurred.

Fingers crossed :)