Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 07, 2016, 04:34:08 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Icon for the fsekrit application  (Read 7476 times)

horrgakx

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Icon for the fsekrit application
« on: July 29, 2008, 04:27:01 AM »
Hi all - I was put onto fsekrit by a friend.   One suggestion I'd like to put forward is the ability to change the icon of the .exe file.   I want discression - not a great big padlock that will draw eyes to it :)  I know its very secure, but that isn't the point.

f0dder

  • Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Icon for the fsekrit application
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2008, 09:39:29 AM »
This should be doable - I'll take a look at it when I get home from work tonight. There's a possibility this will be an NT-only feature (and perhaps even requiring win2k or XP), iirc there's an API for updating resources, which isn't available on 9x. I'm not going to code manual resource-updating code for win9x :)
- carpe noctem

horrgakx

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Icon for the fsekrit application
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2008, 10:17:01 AM »
Cool  8)   

f0dder

  • Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Icon for the fsekrit application
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2008, 07:50:28 PM »
Heh, it turns out that updating ICON resources is slightly complex, because that particular resource type is handled "in a funny way" - updating a bitmap is like five lines of code, but icon support is going to take some more than that. I'm working on it, but probably won't have it done before tomorrow - sorry!
- carpe noctem

horrgakx

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Icon for the fsekrit application
« Reply #4 on: July 30, 2008, 01:00:24 AM »
Hey no worries, just a suggestion, already a great little program and I'll donate :)

f0dder

  • Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Icon for the fsekrit application
« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2008, 09:51:39 PM »
Just wanted to say that I haven't forgotten about this idea, I just got a bit pre-occupied with real life. But now I got a case of insomnia, so I might as well crank out some code :)

I'm not sure if it's a feature I want to incorporate into the "main guts" of fSekrit, since I don't know how many people will need it, and I want to keep fSekrit relatively small and un-bloated. But if it isn't included in core fSekrit, I'll probably include it as an auxiliary tool in the main zip file.

Anyway, enough talk, on with the codeTM!
- carpe noctem

Writer

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Icon for the fsekrit application
« Reply #6 on: August 16, 2008, 12:34:38 PM »
Ability to specify an icon will be a useful feature.

Good luck.

f0dder

  • Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Icon for the fsekrit application
« Reply #7 on: October 07, 2009, 03:09:03 PM »
...a few cups of coffee later :-[

I've decided to skip this feature - while I can see the use for it, I don't find it's a "core feature", and the code indeed ended up being messy. Since you're probably only going to set icon once per file (and that icon is going to stick for all files produced from that modified exe), I'd suggest using an icon editor capable of handling executables. I've been told that IcoFX should do the trick :)
- carpe noctem