Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site April 25, 2014, 02:15:53 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Check out and download the GOE 2007 Freeware Challenge productivity tools.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Screenshot aliases using MiniCap  (Read 26596 times)
vixay
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 137



ViXaY

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #25 on: August 23, 2008, 02:51:54 AM »

I don't get anything on the clipboard after doing the whole DC forum capture thingie...
The file is saved correctly.... but nothing on the clipboard so can't paste it right away.... any ideas?

I am using Arsclip, don't know if that's interfering with the clipboard feature.

I am basically checking this out to super speed up the screenshot process like you said.... cap & paste file link!
Logged

"Drunk on the Nectar of Life!" -me
TucknDar
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,093


Advanced coder of Nowt

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #26 on: August 23, 2008, 03:29:27 AM »

Yes, you're right!

Thanks for reporting. It's designed to capture window to a file, but should probably also copy filename to clipboard!

Will update. Until it's fixed, you can edit the minicap.alias file yourself, and add -clipimagepath to the DC review alias (right before the -exit command).
Logged
TucknDar
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,093


Advanced coder of Nowt

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #27 on: August 23, 2008, 03:34:08 AM »

Actually, come to think of it, I'll make a separate DC forum post command, since the review command should stay as it is. Reason for this is that while making a review you'll most likely want to capture several screenshots, and thus no need to capture filename to clipboard, while for the odd post, -clipimagepath is the way to go.

Logged
vixay
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 137



ViXaY

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #28 on: August 23, 2008, 05:45:55 AM »

How about a capture region, autosave, and copy file to clipboard? Useful again for forum posts.

I basically want to be able to quickly insert pics in posts like you said but with different options i guess. Maybe the alias could contain a modifier stating put on clipboard...etc.

[copy or print]
minicap.exe -save -captureregselect -clipimagepath -exit ?
Logged

"Drunk on the Nectar of Life!" -me
TucknDar
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,093


Advanced coder of Nowt

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #29 on: August 23, 2008, 05:50:34 AM »

Good ideas!
Logged
TucknDar
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,093


Advanced coder of Nowt

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #30 on: August 23, 2008, 03:11:27 PM »

How about a capture region, autosave, and copy file to clipboard? Useful again for forum posts.
Any suggestion where such a file should be saved? something like %MYDOCUMENTS%\My Pictures\screenshots\ ?
Or how about %MYDOCUMENTS%\My Pictures\screenshots\forum or %MYDOCUMENTS%\My Pictures\screenshots\temp ?

As these sorts of screenshots wouldn't need to be kept, I'm not sure where the best place to save them would be... Guess the advanced version would be to have some other app automatically delete it after 5 minutes or so Cool

Edit: Currently there is the "Capture to clipboard" command, that does open the save-dialog but is good for forum posting and similar.
Logged
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,067



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #31 on: August 23, 2008, 03:32:56 PM »

Bit of a shameless bump this, but are there any requests? It's pretty easy adding stuff yourself, but if you've made new minicap-aliases why not share them here and I'll include them in my "official" minicap alias!

is it possible to do a screenshot of
Delayed screen capture (4 secs)  |  Wait 4 seconds before engaging capture of current ACTIVE WINDOW ?
i.e. I could select this option and then for example alt+tab & that would be "snapped" after the 4 seconds
? smiley
Logged

Tom
TucknDar
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,093


Advanced coder of Nowt

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #32 on: August 23, 2008, 03:42:49 PM »

Sure, that's pretty sensible Wink Actually it's also very useful for captures of the FARR window!
Logged
vixay
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 137



ViXaY

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #33 on: August 24, 2008, 11:57:22 PM »

How about a capture region, autosave, and copy file to clipboard? Useful again for forum posts.
Any suggestion where such a file should be saved? something like %MYDOCUMENTS%\My Pictures\screenshots\ ?
Or how about %MYDOCUMENTS%\My Pictures\screenshots\forum or %MYDOCUMENTS%\My Pictures\screenshots\temp ?

As these sorts of screenshots wouldn't need to be kept, I'm not sure where the best place to save them would be... Guess the advanced version would be to have some other app automatically delete it after 5 minutes or so Cool

Edit: Currently there is the "Capture to clipboard" command, that does open the save-dialog but is good for forum posting and similar.

%Temp% is ideal smiley
it will get cleared eventually... either by windows, CCleaner or some other utility...

I was wondering if it's possible to pass a parameter to +mcap +clip such that it will add the -clipimagepath to the commandline... then you don't need to make new custom aliases and instead can just pass the parameter through....

hmmm.... maybe a +mcap clipimagepath -> minicap.exe blah blah blah $$1 -exit
Logged

"Drunk on the Nectar of Life!" -me
TucknDar
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,093


Advanced coder of Nowt

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #34 on: August 25, 2008, 12:13:05 AM »

I'll see what I can do smiley
Logged
jdd
Charter Member
***
Posts: 214


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #35 on: October 19, 2008, 04:10:29 PM »

TucknDar, I just came across your mcap package.  This awesome alias is a must-have.  Very nice!  Thmbsup
Logged
TucknDar
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,093


Advanced coder of Nowt

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #36 on: October 19, 2008, 04:25:30 PM »

Glad to hear it, jdd. Thanks smiley

Reminds me that I should update it with latest MiniCap and a few modifications... when time allows, of course.
Logged
jdd
Charter Member
***
Posts: 214


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #37 on: October 20, 2008, 09:00:37 AM »

My preference would be to have the image copied to the clipboard by default, and to have 'select region capture' as the default or highest score.  Would it be possible for you to tell me what syntax to put in the minicap.alias file to achieve this?

Thanks,
jdd
Logged
FabD
Participant
*
Posts: 1

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #38 on: November 12, 2008, 10:13:41 AM »

Hi, MiniCap is really cool. Unfortunately I've got a problem when starting it from Flash with a batch file. The commandline-window is always in front of all other windows and is bein captured as well. Is there any possibility to put the commandline commands in the minicap.ini-file?
Logged
TucknDar
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,093


Advanced coder of Nowt

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #39 on: January 04, 2009, 11:50:46 AM »

Hi, MiniCap is really cool. Unfortunately I've got a problem when starting it from Flash with a batch file. The commandline-window is always in front of all other windows and is bein captured as well. Is there any possibility to put the commandline commands in the minicap.ini-file?
mouser can probably help you, he must've missed this post...

I've updated the alias pack to 1.3. Made a few changes, although I haven't made all the changes/additions that have been suggested. I'm not quite sure how to implement them all and haven't really had time or motivation to look into it :/

Please keep the feedback and suggestions coming! I'm hoping to get a bit more organized this year and will hopefully improve the alias pack (sometime before 2010...).
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.04s | Server load: 0.04 ]