Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 06, 2016, 04:14:29 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: A plugin based information bar in Windows  (Read 33558 times)

fenixproductions

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,184
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: A plugin based information bar in Windows
« Reply #25 on: September 01, 2008, 07:11:27 PM »
Maybe add plugin which will be something between standard Windows applications bar and Alt+Tab replacement?

Something like this, what I wrote lately:
http://fenixproducti...ika.pl/tmp/Debug.zip

Sample screen:
switchdock.PNGA plugin based information bar in Windows

WARNING
This app works on Win 32bit only and requires .NET 2.0 framework. It contains DLL files for keyboard and windows messages hooks. It's your risk only!


Shortcuts:
1. after clicking on horizontal list - arrows to navigate, Enter activates window,
2. global - hold Win key and use arrows, activate using Enter while Win key holding...

jake78

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: A plugin based information bar in Windows
« Reply #26 on: September 02, 2008, 01:20:31 PM »
That looks interesting... I'll look into it.

jake78

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: A plugin based information bar in Windows
« Reply #27 on: September 02, 2008, 09:42:57 PM »
mouser, I have uploaded a new version with a new plugin EventProgress.
Let me know if it's close to what you suggested.

http://www.nordicfx....;id=29&Itemid=23

EDIT: I have just noticed a bug, if the event progress is ordered after multiple currency plugins it won't show up.
I took down the download temporarily
« Last Edit: September 02, 2008, 11:10:24 PM by jake78 »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: A plugin based information bar in Windows
« Reply #28 on: September 03, 2008, 04:35:21 PM »
let me know when it's back up and  i'll try and report.

jake78

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: A plugin based information bar in Windows
« Reply #29 on: September 04, 2008, 02:02:37 AM »
I believe I have solved the problem, the download is back up at http://www.nordicfx....;id=29&Itemid=23

Let me know of any issues, I will be tweaking the progress tooltip text somewhat.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: A plugin based information bar in Windows
« Reply #30 on: September 04, 2008, 12:38:46 PM »
You might want to post a link to the download of .net 3.5 on your page:
http://www.microsoft...6&displaylang=en

jake78

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: A plugin based information bar in Windows
« Reply #31 on: September 04, 2008, 12:42:09 PM »
You're absolutely right mouser, I have updated my page.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: A plugin based information bar in Windows
« Reply #32 on: September 04, 2008, 12:54:41 PM »
im getting an error installing .net 3.5 and am looking into it and will report (not your fault!).. maybe because i use win xp pro x64

jake78

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: A plugin based information bar in Windows
« Reply #33 on: September 04, 2008, 10:01:55 PM »
I have uploaded a new version, just minor bug fixes in the Event Progress plugin.

What's the error message you get when trying to install .net? I'm running it on Vista x64 and it works fine.

http://www.nordicfx....;id=29&Itemid=23

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: A plugin based information bar in Windows
« Reply #34 on: September 04, 2008, 10:16:04 PM »
didnt really say the error, BUT i installed .net 3.5 sp1 without trouble.

topbar however is giving me an error:

Quote
See the end of this message for details on invoking
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
   at Topbar.frmMain.frmMain_Load(Object sender, EventArgs e)
   at System.EventHandler.Invoke(Object sender, EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Form.OnLoad(EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateControl(Boolean fIgnoreVisible)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateControl()
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmShowWindow(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
   at Topbar.frmMain.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.3053 (netfxsp.050727-3000)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.NET/Framework64/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
Topbar
    Assembly Version: 0.1.0.5
    Win32 Version: 0.1.0.5
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/Topbar/Topbar.exe
----------------------------------------
Microsoft.VisualBasic
    Assembly Version: 8.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 8.0.50727.3053 (netfxsp.050727-3000)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.VisualBasic/8.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/Microsoft.VisualBasic.dll
----------------------------------------
System
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.3053 (netfxsp.050727-3000)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.3053 (netfxsp.050727-3000)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.3053 (netfxsp.050727-3000)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Configuration
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.3053 (netfxsp.050727-3000)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.3053 (netfxsp.050727-3000)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Runtime.Remoting
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.3053 (netfxsp.050727-3000)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Runtime.Remoting/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Runtime.Remoting.dll
----------------------------------------
Nini
    Assembly Version: 1.1.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.1.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/Topbar/Nini.DLL
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.



jake78

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: A plugin based information bar in Windows
« Reply #35 on: September 04, 2008, 10:25:04 PM »
Does this pop up right after you launch Topbar without any plugins loaded?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: A plugin based information bar in Windows
« Reply #36 on: September 04, 2008, 10:26:29 PM »
yes.
and if i say continue i am able to add plugins, save.
but no plugins show up on the bar.

jake78

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: A plugin based information bar in Windows
« Reply #37 on: September 04, 2008, 11:13:38 PM »
I downloaded a Windows XP 64 trial and I see the same problem. It is something specific to XP 64, it works on all other Windows versions. I will look into this ASAP.

jake78

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: A plugin based information bar in Windows
« Reply #38 on: September 05, 2008, 12:46:51 AM »
I managed to solve the issue, could you try again?
Uninstall the old version first and answer yes on if you want to remove the setting files.

The bug was the multi-monitor feature, XP x64 apparently reports devicenames slightly differently.

http://www.nordicfx....;id=29&Itemid=23

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: A plugin based information bar in Windows
« Reply #39 on: September 05, 2008, 01:16:17 AM »
Works!!!!

The progress bar is cool too.  :up:

The background color of the righthand clock is off (its gray here on a blue gradient bar).  probably because i am using classic theme in win xp instead of default?

jake78

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: A plugin based information bar in Windows
« Reply #40 on: September 05, 2008, 01:19:18 AM »
Great!
Could you maybe send a screenshot?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: A plugin based information bar in Windows
« Reply #41 on: September 05, 2008, 08:21:54 AM »
sure, here it is with a notepad window shown as well so you can see the theme colors:
Screenshot - 9_5_2008 , 8_21_14 AM.pngA plugin based information bar in Windows

jake78

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: A plugin based information bar in Windows
« Reply #42 on: September 05, 2008, 09:53:29 PM »
Yeah, another XP x64 issue... I have fixed it and uploaded a new version.

http://www.nordicfx....;id=29&Itemid=23

wreckedcarzz

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,623
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: A plugin based information bar in Windows
« Reply #43 on: September 08, 2008, 10:34:03 PM »
Any news? I don't want to be a pain, just love testing new stuff :)
EDIT: I'm too stupid to see the page 2...

jake78

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: A plugin based information bar in Windows
« Reply #44 on: September 08, 2008, 10:36:46 PM »
I'm working on the quick launch plugin at the moment... but the EventProgress is working as it should.

jake78

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: A plugin based information bar in Windows
« Reply #45 on: September 19, 2008, 02:54:20 AM »
I just finished the new quick launch plugin. Try it out:

http://www.nordicfx....;id=29&Itemid=23

Let me know if you have any problems.

jake78

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: A plugin based information bar in Windows
« Reply #46 on: October 29, 2008, 12:29:49 AM »
I have just uploaded a new version.

Release notes:
    * Stability issues fixed.
    * New fields in the GetColor plugin
    * History graph in the Currency plugin
    * Ability to edit countdown list

http://www.nordicfx....;id=29&Itemid=23

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: A plugin based information bar in Windows
« Reply #47 on: October 29, 2008, 01:52:30 AM »
Very cool -- i was especially impressed to see that you can load multiple copies of a plugin, so that you can create a bunch of these progress bar items which are quite fun.

Tiny bug:
Day of week is showing twice:
Screenshot - 10_29_2008 , 1_51_54 AM.png

jake78

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: A plugin based information bar in Windows
« Reply #48 on: October 29, 2008, 01:58:40 AM »
To try to narrow it down, could you try changing timezones in the plugin settings?

Maybe also try changing the formats?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: A plugin based information bar in Windows
« Reply #49 on: October 29, 2008, 02:54:40 AM »
ok i guess the problem was user error -- i had both long day and long date clicked in options.. i cant remember if that was default or i set it to that.