Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 06, 2016, 06:21:02 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: how to? shortcut on desktop to open URL in NEW window  (Read 4384 times)

brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,136
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
how to? shortcut on desktop to open URL in NEW window
« on: November 01, 2005, 07:16:18 AM »
How can I place a shortcut to an URL on the desktop that will always open a NEW browser window instead of opening the page in an existing one?

Does anyone know? 

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: how to? shortcut on desktop to open URL in NEW window
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2005, 01:05:24 PM »
on a web page you would add:
location="top" to the href, but i'm not sure you can do that in a shortcut.

another good solution would be that you could make your shortcut to a tiny .js javascript file that just opened a web page on a new page.  that should work well.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: how to? shortcut on desktop to open URL in NEW window
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2005, 01:10:59 PM »

brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,136
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: how to? shortcut on desktop to open URL in NEW window
« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2005, 02:46:01 PM »
Thanks mouser, I found an even better way - or two, to be exact :)

First I wrote a little AutoHotkey script to do what I need (pressing some keys is better than grabbing the mouse anyway :) ), then I thought about it again and put the link to the IE exe together with the URL in Logitech's iTouch config. Just specifying the URL there sometimes didn't work, this now looks promising!

Thanks for the ideas!  :Thmbsup: