Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • August 29, 2016, 04:03:48 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Major CPU flaw?  (Read 5585 times)

Rasczak

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Major CPU flaw?
« on: October 10, 2008, 12:27:41 PM »
G'day.

First. I've gotta say: This program has great potential! A really convenient program for turning my server into a batch-robot, without the hassle of making batch-files.


The problem:
I've got dual-cores on all my machines.
When I start DD-robot, it uses one whole core! Even when doing multithreaded operations (using both cores for batch-work) - DD-robot is competing with the other programs for cycles. This slows down operations tremendously.

Solution:
By holding the mouse-button down inside - or otherwise drag/move - the window of DD-robot, the percent of CPU-cycles used instantly drops to zero.
What causes this? Seems like there's a major flaw within the app framework.


Here's two images showing the action.
The first shows DDrobot in action without any involvement from my side.
In the second image, I'm dragging the window.

http://img293.imageshack.us/img293/8844/ddroboteroorcpuhighuf9.jpg
Major CPU flaw?
http://img293.imageshack.us/images/thpix.gif
Major CPU flaw?


http://img205.imageshack.us/img205/6604/ddroboteroorcpulowao3.jpg
Major CPU flaw?
http://img205.imageshack.us/images/thpix.gif
Major CPU flaw?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,146
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Major CPU flaw?
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2008, 12:19:57 AM »
there are too possibilities here.. either i have forgotten something and am using a huge amount of cpu monitoring the launched application.. or more likely, what's happening is that D+D Robot is being "blamed" for the cpu use of the program you are launching.

In other words, i suspect that cpu usage you are seeing is really the cpu use of the launched program -- it's just being assigned to D+D Robot because of the way D+D launches the program.

Rasczak

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Major CPU flaw?
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2008, 06:53:46 AM »
Initially, I also thought that D+D was only displaying CPU usage, because of the processes being run under it.
However, the difference between running commands through D+D and directly through CMD is noticably

I did a test with PAR2 just recently. By running the command thrugh D+D, it took 48,8 sec to get from 0,1 to 0,5 percent. The same process took 36,2 sec by running the command directly.
D+D fluctuates between 0 and 50% cpu usage (50% is one core). Actually, it was at 0% CPU usage about 60% of the time. The difference is also noticeably, in the sense that the percentage of work done, increases more rapidly when run directly.
Also, if the process were 'hiding' under D+D, it makes no sense that moving/clicking the D+D window would instantly drop CPU-usage to zero.

Something is definitely wrong.

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,027
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Major CPU flaw?
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2008, 09:22:06 AM »
Mouser, what kind of "monitoring" of the launched app are you doing?

If it's simply to wait for termination, I hope you're doing WaitForSingleObject and not polling GetExitCodeProcess... :)
- carpe noctem

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,146
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Major CPU flaw?
« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2008, 11:25:48 AM »
Ok so it does sound like something is going wrong with D+D robot.  It's been a while since i was in the source code -- i'll take a look and see what i see and report back.