Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 05, 2015, 11:20:56 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Someone MUST make a new PowerMarks program.  (Read 112896 times)

Outertech Support

  • Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 171
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Someone MUST make a new PowerMarks program.
« Reply #175 on: March 11, 2010, 05:28:36 AM »
I wanted to thank all DonationCoder users which have participated in the Linkman 7.90 beta test.

While we're thanking people....Thank you, OuterTech Guys, for making this a free upgrade to existing v7.x users & not seeing these improvements as an excuse to bump the version to 8.0 to generate some cash.

While I'm not one of your oldest users I may be becoming one of your users who is most impressed by the way you conduct business.  :Thmbsup:

8.0 will be someday a free update too.

delwoode

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 142
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Someone MUST make a new PowerMarks program.
« Reply #176 on: March 18, 2010, 05:09:56 AM »
Tried the latest version of Linkman light and it was no use to me,
Hated the splash screen that takes too long to go away, It didnt integrate with firefox, and it just froze too many times so i removed it.

Outertech Support

  • Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 171
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Someone MUST make a new PowerMarks program.
« Reply #177 on: March 18, 2010, 06:22:55 AM »
You should have contacted support. Any freeze problem indicates something gone awry during installations (Microsoft VC++ redistributable, LinkmanFox.xpi etc). We can see what's wrong when you send the errorlog file which Linkman creates. As to the splash screen, it displays at most for 1.7 seconds, I don't think it's too long (unless it did not go away because it was related to the freeze problem you had). It can also be disabled in the Pro version.

delwoode

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 142
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Someone MUST make a new PowerMarks program.
« Reply #178 on: March 18, 2010, 08:38:00 AM »
You should have contacted support. Any freeze problem indicates something gone awry during installations (Microsoft VC++ redistributable, LinkmanFox.xpi etc). We can see what's wrong when you send the errorlog file which Linkman creates. As to the splash screen, it displays at most for 1.7 seconds, I don't think it's too long (unless it did not go away because it was related to the freeze problem you had). It can also be disabled in the Pro version.
Your right I should have gone to the website and tried to find out the cause.
disagree with you about the splash screen though, it was more like 3 seconds for me and well however made it might have thought it was cool to have it slowly fade in and out but its just too slow and annoying.
I uninstalled the program about 30mins after installing it, sorry.

Outertech Support

  • Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 171
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Someone MUST make a new PowerMarks program.
« Reply #179 on: March 18, 2010, 08:46:55 AM »
The fade in/out should be quick, unless there is something going wrong. You see it in this video at 0:30: http://www.outertech...s/linkman_video.html
« Last Edit: March 18, 2010, 08:48:56 AM by Outertech Support »

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,032
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Someone MUST make a new PowerMarks program.
« Reply #180 on: March 18, 2010, 08:56:46 AM »
You should have contacted support. Any freeze problem indicates something gone awry during installations (Microsoft VC++ redistributable, LinkmanFox.xpi etc). We can see what's wrong when you send the errorlog file which Linkman creates. As to the splash screen, it displays at most for 1.7 seconds, I don't think it's too long (unless it did not go away because it was related to the freeze problem you had). It can also be disabled in the Pro version.
I can attest to this.  Outertech really works hard to solve any little bug that comes up.  The developers are one of the most responsive that I've ever come across.

Innuendo

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,189
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Someone MUST make a new PowerMarks program.
« Reply #181 on: March 18, 2010, 09:03:02 AM »
disagree with you about the splash screen though, it was more like 3 seconds for me and well however made it might have thought it was cool to have it slowly fade in and out but its just too slow and annoying.

Some video cards have a real problem with fade-out effects like that. Sometimes upgrading the drivers will help. Sometimes not.

Outertech Support

  • Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 171
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Someone MUST make a new PowerMarks program.
« Reply #182 on: March 18, 2010, 11:56:05 AM »
If any user with a fade-in/fade-out problem contacts support, we will try to fix it. If that's not possible we could add an option where the splash does not fade-in.

Outertech Support

  • Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 171
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Someone MUST make a new PowerMarks program.
« Reply #183 on: April 12, 2010, 09:04:56 AM »
Linkman 7.9.0.30 is available for download.

<b><i>Changes since 7.9.0.0</i></b>
<ul><li>Firefox 3 Import converts tags to Linkman keywords (this was not trivial to implement, as Firefox stores tags in a weird and inefficient way)</li>
<li>Firefox integration will now load Linkman on demand (if not already loaded)</li>
<li>Added Modified (Date) column to Query areas in main window, search window and Desktop Toolbar</li>
<li>Closing the search window with the Escape key will restore focus to browser</li>
<li>Improved support for less known browsers such as Avant</li>
<li>Keyword list window trims leading and trailing spaces from keywords</li>
<li>You can add tabulators to comment text by pressing shift + tab</li>
<li>All reported bugs have been fixed</li></ul>Shareware Version (Linkman Pro, $25, 30 day trial):

Homepage: http://linkmanpro.outertech.com
Download: http://download.oute...h.com/linkmanpro.exe

Freeware version (Linkman Lite):

Homepage: http://linkmanlite.outertech.com
Download: http://download.oute....com/linkmanlite.exe

--

Tutorial video (Linkman 7.60): http://linkmanvideo.outertech.com

PDF Manual: http://www.outertech...om/files/linkman.pdf

Outertech Support

  • Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 171
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Someone MUST make a new PowerMarks program.
« Reply #184 on: April 28, 2010, 04:07:59 PM »
Linkman 7.9.0.44 is available for download.

Linkman is now able to launch links into existing Firefox tabs with browser.link.open_newwindow untouched.
URL Validation can be started from the search window.
Improved Error Messages.
Also several minor bugs have been fixed.
« Last Edit: April 28, 2010, 06:38:43 PM by Outertech Support »

Outertech Support

  • Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 171
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Someone MUST make a new PowerMarks program.
« Reply #185 on: May 11, 2010, 02:21:20 AM »
We have Build 50 with further improvements to Firefox launching. Linkman is now able to launch into existing tab/new tab/new window, without touching prefs.js at all (browser.link.open_external etc).

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,032
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Someone MUST make a new PowerMarks program.
« Reply #186 on: May 11, 2010, 08:35:09 AM »
We have Build 50 with further improvements to Firefox launching. Linkman is now able to launch into existing tab/new tab/new window, without touching prefs.js at all (browser.link.open_external etc).

I wanted to point out that the Firefox launching into existing tab is working well, once again.  Thanks Outertech.

cyberdiva

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Someone MUST make a new PowerMarks program.
« Reply #187 on: May 11, 2010, 09:24:43 AM »
We have Build 50 with further improvements....
One improvement I keep hoping to see (but probably haven't bothered to ask for) is an option of whether or not Linkman launches at startup.  I try to include in my startup menu only those apps I know I'm going to need right away.  Everything else gets added when I need it.  Every time I install a new version of Linkman, WinPatrol alerts me that Linkman has inserted itself into the startup menu, and each time I respond that no, it is NOT OK.  Since Linkman includes options for things like desktop icons, why not add an option to start at startup?  It's no big deal, but Linkman is one of my very favorite apps, and I'd like it to be perfect  :) .

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,032
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Someone MUST make a new PowerMarks program.
« Reply #188 on: May 11, 2010, 09:52:15 AM »
We have Build 50 with further improvements....
One improvement I keep hoping to see (but probably haven't bothered to ask for) is an option of whether or not Linkman launches at startup.  I try to include in my startup menu only those apps I know I'm going to need right away.  Everything else gets added when I need it.  Every time I install a new version of Linkman, WinPatrol alerts me that Linkman has inserted itself into the startup menu, and each time I respond that no, it is NOT OK.  Since Linkman includes options for things like desktop icons, why not add an option to start at startup?  It's no big deal, but Linkman is one of my very favorite apps, and I'd like it to be perfect  :) .
Should already be working:
screenshot_20100511075134.png

Outertech Support

  • Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 171
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Someone MUST make a new PowerMarks program.
« Reply #189 on: May 11, 2010, 10:10:10 AM »
It may be a problem in the installer, we'll look into it for the next build.

cyberdiva

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Someone MUST make a new PowerMarks program.
« Reply #190 on: May 11, 2010, 11:20:50 AM »
Should already be working: (see attachment in previous post)
This is only accessible AFTER one has installed the program.  That's not what I'm referring to.  I would like to be asked at installation whether I want the program to start at startup. 

I see from Outertech's message (following yours) that this may be an installer problem that they'll look into.  Thanks VERY much, Outertech!!

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,032
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Someone MUST make a new PowerMarks program.
« Reply #191 on: May 11, 2010, 12:36:42 PM »
This is only accessible AFTER one has installed the program.  That's not what I'm referring to.  I would like to be asked at installation whether I want the program to start at startup. 

I see from Outertech's message (following yours) that this may be an installer problem that they'll look into.  Thanks VERY much, Outertech!!
My, my!  aren't we picky!  Ha, just kidding...I'm one to talk with my very particular firefox integration requests ;)

J-Mac

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 2,905
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Someone MUST make a new PowerMarks program.
« Reply #192 on: May 11, 2010, 01:26:43 PM »
I use Chameleon Startup Manager. It stops all programs from setting themselves up to start with Windows automatically, and asks me if I want it to be in the startup config. Or I can configure it to just deny without asking me also. There are some other apps that similarly control what goes into startup config.

Jim

cyberdiva

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Someone MUST make a new PowerMarks program.
« Reply #193 on: May 11, 2010, 03:39:51 PM »
I use Chameleon Startup Manager. It stops all programs from setting themselves up to start with Windows automatically, and asks me if I want it to be in the startup config. Or I can configure it to just deny without asking me also. There are some other apps that similarly control what goes into startup config.
Yes, I use WinPatrol Plus for the same purpose, and it blocks Linkman each time.  But I don't think any program should insert itself into the startup menu without first asking, except perhaps for some programs vital to system functioning. 

Outertech Support

  • Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 171
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Someone MUST make a new PowerMarks program.
« Reply #194 on: June 18, 2010, 11:41:13 AM »
Next week there will be a 24 hours Linkman Pro deal on Bitsdujour, $14.99 for a 2 computers license.


J-Mac

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 2,905
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Someone MUST make a new PowerMarks program.
« Reply #195 on: June 18, 2010, 12:10:08 PM »
Wow - that IS a deal.

I recommend that any DC member reading this at least take a good look and consider picking up Linkman Pro - at that price it is literally a steal!

Jim

cyberdiva

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Someone MUST make a new PowerMarks program.
« Reply #196 on: June 18, 2010, 10:32:52 PM »
I agree.  $14.99 for a 2-computer license is an amazing price for an amazing program!   :Thmbsup:

Hefty Hippie

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Someone MUST make a new PowerMarks program.
« Reply #197 on: June 24, 2010, 08:56:14 AM »
A superb program, which I'll be purchasing tomorrow, but I do think it could be improved by the addition of a mini/compact mode which could be opened as a separate window.

I'm thinking something like the bookmarks panel in Opera - quick search at the top and scrollable list of favs/bookmarks below.

The mini/compact mode window could be docked to the LHS of main monitor, parked on a secondary monitor and/or wherever else was handy. I think such a facility would certainly appeal to users and potential users who are used to accessing their favs/bookmarks the old fashioned way.

Outertech Support

  • Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 171
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Someone MUST make a new PowerMarks program.
« Reply #198 on: January 03, 2011, 10:06:18 AM »
10 more spots have opened for Linkman Beta Test (Version 8). If you are interested, please apply to betatest@outertech.com.

Outertech Support

  • Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 171
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Someone MUST make a new PowerMarks program.
« Reply #199 on: March 30, 2011, 05:47:53 AM »
Linkman 8 is available for download.

Changes since 7.90

* Firefox 4 Addon (works also with 3.6)

* Improved Internet Explorer Addon: works with UAC enabled, added compatibility for Internet Explorer 9

* Google Chrome Addon (all versions)

* Opera 11 Addon

* Bookmark properties dialog can be resized

* The initial focus of Bookmark properties dialog can be configured (Options Tab)

* Alternate combobox display for numeric user defined data fields

* Query Favorites can be created in search window (Linkman Pro)

* In searches AND NOT can be substituted with a - sign
  for example:
  a search for: foo -bar
  is the same as: foo and not bar

* Replace dialog: use * to delete fields (Linkman Pro)
  for example:
  enter * as new text, do not enter anything as new text
  Enable Keywords Checkbox
  Click Replace All and all Keywords content will be deleted

* Added Time to Date display in search results

* Added "Page changed" Date/Time column to Search results

* Rearranged some Hotkeys due to user suggestions (see Hotkey list for details)

* Improved search experience on very large databases (100.000 links and more)

* Many tweaks and some bug fixes

Homepage (show a list of differences between Linkman Lite and Linkman Pro)

http://www.outertech...com/bookmark-manager

Shareware version (Linkman Pro, $25 with optional lifetime upgrades, 30 day trial):
http://download.oute...h.com/linkmanpro.exe

Freeware version for private usage (Linkman Lite):
http://download.oute....com/linkmanlite.exe

--

Tutorial video (Linkman 7.60): http://linkmanvideo.outertech.com

PDF Manual: http://www.outertech...om/files/linkman.pdf
« Last Edit: March 30, 2011, 05:51:40 AM by Outertech Support »