J-Mac, your problem with redoing the settings is really strange, as Linkman does not overwrite the configuration if you update to a new version, unless you remove the old version completely before installing an update.
In USB mode, Linkman saves all settings to Linkman.ini, which is located in the same folder as Linkman.exe. This file is never overwritten, so if you have a Linkman 7 Linkman.ini file and update to Linkman 8, all the settings will be kept.
If you are moving from a non USB installation to a USB-Mode installation there is also a trick to move also your settings.
1. Load the non USB-Mode Linkman
2. Go to Settings, Program Start section and uncheck the "Use Registry" Checkbox
3. Quit Linkman
4. You settings are now stored in c:\Users\Username\Documents\Linkman\Linkman.ini
5. Copy the Linkman.ini file away
6. Install Linkman in USB-mode
7. Copy the old Linkman.ini to the folder where USB-Mode Linkman.exe is located