Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site September 01, 2014, 04:10:47 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Read the full one-year retrospective report on DonationCoder.com.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: new farr: aliases now requiring [enter] twice  (Read 6816 times)
ottenm
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 69

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: June 19, 2008, 06:22:32 AM »

I have just upgraded to the latest farr and now my aliases do not launch when they are the top item in the result list.  Instead, when I hit enter to launch them, if I haven't typed the complete name, all that happens is the rest of the Group Alias Name gets pasted up where I am typing and the result list is filtered to reflect that.  Then, when I hit enter the second time it actually launches.  Most everything else, including aliases where I have typed the entire Group Alias Name, are working as they used to (launch on enter, whatever item is at the top of the results list).

Related (?): When I'm using fcalc (also newly updated) and hit [enter], it used to just add the current expression/result to the result list below.  Now, it closes out fcalc, replaces what I've typed with "fc", and shows a farr result list containing everything with "fc" in it.

Thanks for any help-
Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2008, 07:04:39 AM »

I don't know about the first thing you mentioned, but i can answer about fcalc:
Have you changed the default name of fcalc? Because it always acted like that, when you press enter, it saves the expression, clears the entrybox and types "fc" again, so that fcalc is launched again. Possibly, if you have changed the name from "fc" to "fcalc" or something like that, it types "fc" but that isn't a match for fcalc again.
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,294



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2008, 05:18:25 PM »

Quote
I have just upgraded to the latest farr and now my aliases do not launch when they are the top item in the result list.  Instead, when I hit enter to launch them, if I haven't typed the complete name, all that happens is the rest of the Group Alias Name gets pasted up where I am typing and the result list is filtered to reflect that.


yes i noticed that too.. will fix in update next couple of days.

Quote
Related (?): When I'm using fcalc (also newly updated) and hit [enter], it used to just add the current expression/result to the result list below.  Now, it closes out fcalc, replaces what I've typed with "fc", and shows a farr result list containing everything with "fc" in it.

jgp's explanation seems likely to me.
Logged
ottenm
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 69

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2008, 05:50:36 PM »

Well, a month has gone by and I have never sorted this out.  I don't know if I have changed the "default name" or not (image below).  I did change the Regular Expression so it would open on "=".  But it does not come up one the list if I type "fc" or "fcalc", so when I hit enter from inside fcalc (by habit) and hope to stay in fcalc, I get dropped out to the FARR command line with "fc" typed in and unrelated results in the result list.  Is it somewhere else I would have changed the default name (and could change it back)?  Should I not be using "=", or is there not a way to use "=" and have the "fc" trigger fcalc to restart?

Thanks for any help.

Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: July 16, 2008, 05:54:25 PM »

When I mentioned "default name", I meant the "alias (override)" field. Sorry for not being specific Sad
Yeah, but changing the Regular Expression has that same effect.
This is indeed a problem that can only be changed by modifying fcalc, so I'll let mouser answer.
Logged

ottenm
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 69

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: July 16, 2008, 05:58:01 PM »

They seemed the same, but I thought I might be missing something else.

Is there a regular expression that would basically say "either = or fc"?
Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: July 16, 2008, 06:04:57 PM »

You're a genious ottenm! Of course, just use:
^=(.*)$|^fc(.*)$
That should work perfectly.

PS: still, I think this should be solved at the level of the plugin
Logged

ottenm
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 69

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: July 16, 2008, 06:09:07 PM »

Oh yeah, that feels good.  Enter.  Expression.  All day long.  This is going to be a good second half of the week.

Do you have a number where my wife might phone?  She does not think I are a genius.  Especially if I can not OR two regular expressions together.

Thanks for the help jgpaiva.
Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: July 16, 2008, 06:12:36 PM »

 cheesy Another happy costumer! Good to know it's fixed, ottenm. Now you can focus on finding other problems tongue
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,294



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: July 16, 2008, 07:38:52 PM »

clever solution thumbs up thumbs up thumbs up
perhaps i should consider a special variable or something that people can configure for what text to put back in the search box after an operation is complete.
Logged
ottenm
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 69

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: July 16, 2008, 09:47:09 PM »

I'm all good.  You do so much as it is, and nobody else with the same issue, and now they can find a solution..... I say let it go.  Finish your dissertation. Wink
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,294



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: July 19, 2008, 12:31:28 PM »

I believe i have fixed the double-enter requirement for aliases with new version 2.23.01 today (July 19).
Logged
ottenm
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 69

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: July 19, 2008, 12:54:12 PM »

Not sure what happened, but at the end of the install I got "file <wasn't paying attention> is not a valid FARR ini file" something along those lines.  Not sure where it was pointing, but I'll find a copy of the file on another machine, restore it here, and let you know how it goes.  I have not edited the ini file for many months.
Logged
ottenm
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 69

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: July 19, 2008, 12:56:27 PM »

Where can I modify the key(s) to launch FARR?  I have been using alt-J, but apparently that is/was not the default.  I'm not seeing it in the options panel, but I'm sure it's there somewhere.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,294



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: July 19, 2008, 12:57:09 PM »

farr v2 has an entire hotkey tab page where you can configure multiple hotkeys that work in different ways.
Logged
ottenm
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 69

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: July 19, 2008, 01:06:58 PM »

My bad, incorrectly recalled there being a global activation key, with the rest of the hotkey tab as separate.

Meanwhile: I did find the ini file and there is a backup in there, but it is an empty file.  It kind of seems like the installer may have done this.  I've been using farr all morning, and for months before, without touching the ini file or that directory.  I did the new install, and now the previous settings seem gone.

Thanks for the help and update Mouser, I'm sure I'll get back on track.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,294



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: July 19, 2008, 01:17:27 PM »

Quote
It kind of seems like the installer may have done this.

i wonder if somehow when the installer forced FARR to exit it caused the ini file to get corrupted.
the farr code specifically wont overwrite the past ini file until it knows its saved it successfully but then i did change the ini file writing code recently and maybe something got messed up there.

HOWEVER:
go in your FARR directory
and look for a subfolder named: BackupIni
you might be (pleasently?) surprised by how many backup ini files are in there smiley

the truth is i became paranoid about the thought of people losing their ini files at one point and so did this backup ini
the irony/problem is that this was really motivated mainly by the fear that people would lose their ALIAS definitions, but now aliases are stored in separate files so this wont help in that case.  i might need to backup alias user alias files.
« Last Edit: July 19, 2008, 01:19:03 PM by mouser » Logged
ottenm
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 69

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: July 19, 2008, 01:28:56 PM »

Just because you are paranoid Mouser, doesn't mean they are not after you.

All of the last (4? 5?) updates have forced FARR to exit, and no problem until this one.

Although my most recent BackupIni file was 0 bytes, the one before had everything and all is restored perfectly at this time.  Perfection.  That is what I get from FARR, a *very* high percentage of the time.

As always, thank you!  And have a great day!
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.038s | Server load: 0.11 ]