Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 31, 2014, 07:33:23 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Check out and download the GOE 2007 Freeware Challenge productivity tools.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Poll
Question: How many users have system problems upon installing Setpoint software?
System instability - 1 (12.5%)
System slowdown - 2 (25%)
Interference with other applications - 5 (62.5%)
Other - 0 (0%)
Total Voters: 8

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Logitech's Setpoint  (Read 7767 times)
Charleybriz
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 6

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: January 08, 2008, 12:41:37 PM »

I have installed a Logitech Gamepad & Optical Mouse. In both cases "Setpoint" caused either freezes, or frequent instability in running the hardware it came with.
My system is by no means resource poor or old, and I'm a half-way experienced user. How many people have run into problems with this software.
Logged
tranglos
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,079



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2008, 02:52:05 PM »

No issues at all on WinXP SP2. The drivers that come on CD with the device are usually outdated though, and I've seen bugs in SetPoint 3.x. Nothing that affected system stability however, just UI annoyances, such as various settings not remembered across reboots. Upgrading to the latest 4.0.x release seems to fix them.

I've never used gamepads though, just mice - MX Revolution and a "wired" (what's the opposite of cordless?) laser mouse.
Logged

J-Mac
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,869


see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2008, 03:59:41 PM »

Check the Logitech Forum and you'll see that you are not alone.  Several solutions are discussed there, but different ones seem to work for different users.

Personally, I have had much difficulty at times but the 4.x versions run OK for me now.  Also, make sure to give UberOptions a try.  UberOptions is an add-on that gives you a lot more options, more customization of the various buttons on different mice.  (meeces?)  E.g., on my MX Revolution wireless mouse you cannot use the middle button in Firefox to open a new tab. UberOptions adds that plus many other added features.  UberOptions is developed by Richard Lowens - rloens on the forum.  He's a user who is apparently a good coder also.

Setpoint used to automatically install the Logitech Desktop Manager (LDM) which you don't want.  Part of it is simply an installation of Backweb.  It is constantly running in the background and sends advertising pop-ups to your desktop.  (I think they were all Logitech ads, but I hate it just the same!)  It also pops up when a new version is available, but you can get that functionality with Secunia's free PSI program.  (Personal Software Inspector)  It places 78 separate entries in your Startup config!  It also talks to Logitech far too much for my liking.

Also, if you use a Logitech Web Cam, be very careful and read up as much as you can before installing the drivers for it.  Two separate webcam drivers turned out to be incompatible with Creative SoundBlaster sound cards and caused some sudden hard crashes - hard to recover from because as soon as you'd restart your PC it would crash again as the sound card drivers initialized.  I had to use system restore in safe mode.  After the first time this occurred on a pretty widespread basis Logitech discovered that it was their built-in sound drivers for the webcam's auto-record audio feature - Echo-something or other.  Then after getting that fixed they released another driver with the exact same conflict 8 months later!   ohmy

Jim
Logged

"I am getting so tired of slitting the throats of people who say that I am a violent psychopath."
J-Mac
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,869


see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2008, 04:03:08 PM »

No issues at all on WinXP SP2. The drivers that come on CD with the device are usually outdated though, and I've seen bugs in SetPoint 3.x. Nothing that affected system stability however, just UI annoyances, such as various settings not remembered across reboots. Upgrading to the latest 4.0.x release seems to fix them.

I've never used gamepads though, just mice - MX Revolution and a "wired" (what's the opposite of cordless?) laser mouse.


Tranglos - After having no luck with the G5 and G7 mice - lags and delays - the MX Revolution totally rocks!  I'd say the best overall wireless mouse I have used.  I have WebSite Watcher watching the Amazon and Newegg pages for the MX Revolution so I can maybe buy one or two more if they go on a big enough sale.  This mouse works so well I just know Logitech will discontinue it!!

Jim
Logged

"I am getting so tired of slitting the throats of people who say that I am a violent psychopath."
wreckedcarzz
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,620



Happy wolfie ^_^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2008, 04:08:28 PM »

I have SetPoint on my Vista machine with my Logitech G11 gaming keyboard and G7 wireless gaming mouse, and I have no issues. I use the options frequently to fine tune things and it goes off without a hitch. Thmbsup Not sure why you guys are seeing problems huh

After reading J-Mac's post, though, I will not be buying a $100 webcam from Logitech if it means it may screw over my $150 SoundBlaster card. ohmy

-Brandon
Logged

New website! With a fancy domain name and everything! *gasp*
http://www.wreckedcarzz.com/
tranglos
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,079



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2008, 05:19:00 PM »

Tranglos - After having no luck with the G5 and G7 mice - lags and delays - the MX Revolution totally rocks!  I'd say the best overall wireless mouse I have used.  I have WebSite Watcher watching the Amazon and Newegg pages for the MX Revolution so I can maybe buy one or two more if they go on a big enough sale.  This mouse works so well I just know Logitech will discontinue it!!

MX Revolution is indeed sweet. The only thing I don't like about it is that it runs no more than 3-4 days without charging - compared to months for mice with replaceable batteries, but those were too heavy for me. But MX Revolution looks like a damn spaceship sitting on my desk, all is forgiven! smiley

« Last Edit: January 08, 2008, 05:20:40 PM by tranglos » Logged

J-Mac
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,869


see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2008, 05:41:53 PM »

Tranglos - After having no luck with the G5 and G7 mice - lags and delays - the MX Revolution totally rocks!  I'd say the best overall wireless mouse I have used.  I have WebSite Watcher watching the Amazon and Newegg pages for the MX Revolution so I can maybe buy one or two more if they go on a big enough sale.  This mouse works so well I just know Logitech will discontinue it!!

MX Revolution is indeed sweet. The only thing I don't like about it is that it runs no more than 3-4 days without charging - compared to months for mice with replaceable batteries, but those were too heavy for me. But MX Revolution looks like a damn spaceship sitting on my desk, all is forgiven! smiley



True, but if you have tried their other wireless mice, some only get 8 to 12 hours!  I have a G7 and three extra batteries to keep swapping them out!  So four days is a lifetime compared to that.  BTW, the G5 doesn't have any spare batteries available and they have a short charge life also.

Jim
Logged

"I am getting so tired of slitting the throats of people who say that I am a violent psychopath."
J-Mac
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,869


see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2008, 05:43:15 PM »

I have SetPoint on my Vista machine with my Logitech G11 gaming keyboard and G7 wireless gaming mouse, and I have no issues. I use the options frequently to fine tune things and it goes off without a hitch. Thmbsup Not sure why you guys are seeing problems huh

After reading J-Mac's post, though, I will not be buying a $100 webcam from Logitech if it means it may screw over my $150 SoundBlaster card. ohmy

-Brandon

Mine are all on XP Pro - maybe the new drivers they had to develop for Vista work better.

You have never had any lags with your G7?  Their forum is overflowing with users who are seeing this.
Logged

"I am getting so tired of slitting the throats of people who say that I am a violent psychopath."
wreckedcarzz
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,620



Happy wolfie ^_^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: January 08, 2008, 10:16:27 PM »

You have never had any lags with your G7?  Their forum is overflowing with users who are seeing this.

Never an instant. Response time improved over any mouse I have had to date. Plugged, played, and installed SetPoint. smiley

Only "complaint" I have is that it runs about 1.5 days of gaming on weekends without needing a battery swap, but a good few days on school days before recharging. Not my idea of long battery life, but a 2 hour charge isn't something to bitch about, either. undecided
Logged

New website! With a fancy domain name and everything! *gasp*
http://www.wreckedcarzz.com/
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,614



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: January 08, 2008, 11:34:53 PM »

In my case logitech's setpoint seemed to be conflicting with the microsoft keyboard special driver.  my conclusion was mixing the two was not good.
Logged
a_lunatic
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 71


Fulltime Single Dad

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: January 09, 2008, 01:13:17 AM »

I got two G5's & had no problems with them & now I got a G9 with SetPointII with no problems.
Logged
Deozaan
Charter Member
***
Posts: 6,439



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: January 11, 2008, 12:23:44 AM »

I just stopped installing Logitech mouse drivers. Default XP drivers work fine for me.
Logged

J-Mac
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,869


see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: January 11, 2008, 03:05:49 AM »

I just stopped installing Logitech mouse drivers. Default XP drivers work fine for me.

Gaming mice?  With added acceleration features, ability to have different buttons perform different actions depending on what application is focused?

Jim
Logged

"I am getting so tired of slitting the throats of people who say that I am a violent psychopath."
Deozaan
Charter Member
***
Posts: 6,439



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: January 11, 2008, 03:13:19 AM »

No, not gaming mice. I have a Logitech TrackMan (no special buttons) and a Logitech MX 1000 Cordless Laser. The MX 1000 is too erratic with the cursor sometimes not responding or jumping across the screen suddenly so I use it on my computer I don't use very much. I also don't use any of the special buttons on it. All I need/want are right and left clicks with a scroll wheel.
Logged

J-Mac
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,869


see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: January 11, 2008, 12:27:33 PM »

No, not gaming mice. I have a Logitech TrackMan (no special buttons) and a Logitech MX 1000 Cordless Laser. The MX 1000 is too erratic with the cursor sometimes not responding or jumping across the screen suddenly so I use it on my computer I don't use very much. I also don't use any of the special buttons on it. All I need/want are right and left clicks with a scroll wheel.
That's why the default XP drivers are OK by you.  If you wre using the above, you would need to Setpoint software.

Jim
Logged

"I am getting so tired of slitting the throats of people who say that I am a violent psychopath."
vegas
Charter Member
***
Posts: 352


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: January 14, 2008, 09:53:19 AM »

I have had 4 Logitech G7 mice (2 black, 2 green) for a while now running them with setpoint software and having no issues in the last 2 years.  (Just a tip for anyone considering buying a G7, don't accidentally purchase the older green version, as the black one is MUCH better)
Logged
psionics
Participant
*
Posts: 116


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: January 14, 2008, 10:48:22 AM »

E.g., on my MX Revolution wireless mouse you cannot use the middle button in Firefox to open a new tab.

select "autoscroll" as your middle mouse button. for firefox to open in new tab, you have to double-click the middle mouse button.
Logged
urlwolf
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,784



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: July 21, 2008, 01:06:08 PM »

In my case logitech's setpoint seemed to be conflicting with the microsoft keyboard special driver.  my conclusion was mixing the two was not good.

Same here. Conflicts with my IBM ultranav. Logitech sucks at writing drivers.
Logged
Lashiec
Member
**
Posts: 2,374


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #18 on: July 22, 2008, 08:11:51 PM »

The only thing I don't like about SetPoint is lack of configuration for some things, in my case media players, but it's easily solved with a text editor, Google, and some tweaking here and there. Other than that, I'm happy with them smiley
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,120



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #19 on: July 22, 2008, 10:03:32 PM »

The only thing I don't like about SetPoint is lack of configuration for some things, in my case media players, but it's easily solved with a text editor, Google, and some tweaking here and there. Other than that, I'm happy with them smiley

yeah, SetPoint is sadly lacking but uberOptions helps you to soften the blow and it uses AHK for extended functionality. thumbs up
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.054s | Server load: 0.18 ]