Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • August 31, 2015, 06:52:33 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: [bug report] Plist Plugin  (Read 12053 times)

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,301
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
[bug report] Plist Plugin
« on: June 09, 2008, 10:38:26 PM »
With 2.05.01 plist doesn't function well.
Shows only 1 entry here, vs. 10 previously.
Calling an explicit printer e.g. plist Canon shows only the first Canon entry.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,958
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: [bug report]
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2008, 10:44:16 PM »
nice find. i can confirm this too.. but im not sure why it's happening yet.
the result count shown on statusbar seems to indicate all results have been made available, not sure why FARR would only show 1.  looking into it.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,958
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: [bug report] Plist Plugin
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2008, 11:29:21 PM »
Ok i can confirm that the problem is that FARR thinks the entries are "duplicates" and is rejecting them.
Technically this happens because the plist results are returned as file and the filename for each entry is the same.

I've modified FARR to only do dupe checking with files, but the plist plugin needs to be rebuilt to return results saying that the return type is something other than a file (E_EntryType_UNKNOWN would be good).

I could actually work around this but it would be a little inefficient so i'll wait for a plist update.

rjbull

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 2,856
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: [bug report] Plist Plugin
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2008, 03:29:36 AM »
Plist working OK here - I must have out-of-date copies (FARR 2.00.145).  Is plist's purpose to set the default printer?  Could there also be an option to also open a particular printer, so you can see the progress of that printer's jobs?  I don't think you can do that from most launchers because the desktop links for printers aren't files?  Thanks...



mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,958
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: [bug report] Plist Plugin
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2008, 03:33:56 AM »
One of the new plugin features that will be coming very soon will be the ability to specify a custom right-click context menu for items displayed.  That would make it easier to do things like show menu items to open printer etc.

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,301
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: [bug report] Plist Plugin
« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2008, 09:35:19 AM »
I could actually work around this but it would be a little inefficient so i'll wait for a plist update.
Thanks for the follow-up!

taichimaster

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: [bug report] Plist Plugin
« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2008, 01:57:39 PM »
Plist working OK here - I must have out-of-date copies (FARR 2.00.145).  Is plist's purpose to set the default printer?  Could there also be an option to also open a particular printer, so you can see the progress of that printer's jobs?  I don't think you can do that from most launchers because the desktop links for printers aren't files?  Thanks...




It can already be done through the plugin options, but yea right-clicking or a modifier key would be nicer  :up:

Mouser, I will make the E_EntryType_UNKNOWN change as soon as I set my SVN back up.

screen.jpg

taichimaster

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: [bug report] Plist Plugin
« Reply #7 on: June 10, 2008, 03:42:35 PM »
Ok i can confirm that the problem is that FARR thinks the entries are "duplicates" and is rejecting them.
Technically this happens because the plist results are returned as file and the filename for each entry is the same.

I've modified FARR to only do dupe checking with files, but the plist plugin needs to be rebuilt to return results saying that the return type is something other than a file (E_EntryType_UNKNOWN would be good).

I could actually work around this but it would be a little inefficient so i'll wait for a plist update.

Fixed!  Please download the latest via DcUpdater.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,958
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: [bug report] Plist Plugin
« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2008, 03:48:04 PM »
new version works perfectly.  i love this plugin  :-*

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,301
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: [bug report] Plist Plugin
« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2008, 05:23:19 PM »
Plist 0.0.0.5 isn't working for me here.
At the moment it stilll shows only one entry but with a 'Found' count of 16 results.
The Readme refers to FARR v2.06.02, which I don't have and can't (at the moment) find.
I have 2.05.01 -- is that the stumbling block?

Where is FARR 2.06.02??
I'm off to look for it (again).  :tellme:

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,958
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: [bug report] Plist Plugin
« Reply #10 on: June 10, 2008, 05:25:08 PM »
just redownload from alpha release page and you'll get it:
http://www.donationc...AndRunRobotSetup.exe

taichimaster

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: [bug report] Plist Plugin
« Reply #11 on: June 10, 2008, 05:49:04 PM »
wow you have 16 printer entries??  I have 8 and I thought I have a lot already :up:
« Last Edit: June 10, 2008, 05:52:26 PM by taichimaster »

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,301
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: [bug report] Plist Plugin
« Reply #12 on: June 10, 2008, 06:05:42 PM »
@mouser:  Thanks, have it now!

@taichimaster:  So you can see that your plug-in is useful to me!  I have 3 physical printers hanging off this particular machine, each with multiple profiles, as well as the usual bunch of fax drivers and 'soft' printers.

Thanks for the fixes, gentlemen!
                     

rjbull

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 2,856
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: [bug report] Plist Plugin
« Reply #13 on: June 11, 2008, 03:23:30 AM »
Please download the latest via DcUpdater.

Please give us a normal link as well.  The DCUpdater does not work through proxy.pac-type proxies (not unless it's been updated, anyway).




mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,958
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: [bug report] Plist Plugin
« Reply #14 on: June 11, 2008, 03:25:48 AM »
in the updater if you turn on advanced view you can see the url for all downloads.

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,301
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: [bug report] Plist Plugin
« Reply #15 on: July 06, 2008, 04:52:27 PM »
Hello taichimaster.

I have a problem with plist under the lastest FARR.
I can see only one printer in the plist display.
My version is 0.0.0.4.

Can you help?

One wouldn't ask if your plugin were not so useful!

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,218
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: [bug report] Plist Plugin
« Reply #16 on: July 06, 2008, 08:21:24 PM »
i think v0.0.0.5 had fixed this bug, i updated mine via DCUpdater. ok, i noticed that you're having problems with v0.0.0.5.

ws-plist-1.png

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,958
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: [bug report] Plist Plugin
« Reply #17 on: July 06, 2008, 08:24:43 PM »
the problem is that we moved member servers and it looks like the older version of plist was on the new server by mistake, so that's surely the problem.  when v0.0.5 is back it will solve the problem.

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,301
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: [bug report] Plist Plugin
« Reply #18 on: July 06, 2008, 09:24:50 PM »
Quote from: lanux128
i think v0.0.0.5 had fixed this bug

Yes, thanks.  For reasons of my own I had removed the printer-plugin folder. Reinstallation of the plug-in picked up the older version, as mentioned by mouser.

The correct term for this is FARR too much funn.  ;)


taichimaster

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: [bug report] Plist Plugin
« Reply #19 on: July 06, 2008, 11:59:36 PM »
New version!

---------------
v0.0.0.6 (July 10th, 2008)
---------------
  • Sort results alphabetically in ascending order
  • Always display results in "show all" (+sall) mode

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,958
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: [bug report] Plist Plugin
« Reply #20 on: July 07, 2008, 12:16:39 AM »
works perfectly.  :up:

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,218
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: [bug report] Plist Plugin
« Reply #21 on: July 07, 2008, 12:27:51 AM »
@taichi: i think this has been discussed previously but how about a feature for viewing the printing preference or the print queue via an alias? for example, 'pq' could bring up the list but invoking an item could show the print queue. just a thought. btw, the new version works well! :up:

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,301
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: [bug report] Plist Plugin
« Reply #22 on: July 07, 2008, 01:03:06 AM »
Spot on, thanks very much!