Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 02, 2016, 10:39:34 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Alias with a space in the name not working  (Read 2620 times)

BrokenNails

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Alias with a space in the name not working
« on: June 08, 2008, 03:09:39 AM »
I recently added a simple alias for my bank's website containing a name and a result (ie no regex).

I discovered that if the name I gave it (the alias) was only one word eg "Bank" then I could type part of that name eg "ban", FARR would show the bank alias in the dropdown, and would launch the website if I selected it.

If, however, the alias name had a space in it eg "Bank Online" then when I typed "ban", FARR would again show the alias in the dropdown but if I clicked it it would just expand what I'd typed to "Bank Online" but wouldn't actually launch the website.

I tried this with a number of other aliases and there was definitely a difference between aliases with a space (or multiple words I guess) in the name and those without.

NOTE: this is not the case if you add a regex to the alias. eg in the case above I could get "Bank Online" to work correctly if I simply added the regex pattern "bank online". Given the pattern was considered 'optional' I wonder if this is an issue or I'm using FARR incorrectly...?

nitrix-ud

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 516
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Alias with a space in the name not working
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2008, 04:12:26 AM »
i also noticed that, what i do is what you did last...
always use a regex mask

name of the aliase :
keywords

regex :
^keywords$

other things i do (for modifiers)

for folder keyword i use : folder_nameoffolder
for action keyword i use : open_nameofprogram

i always do that since if you use the same name, you can have very strange behaviour (very difficult to "debug")

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Alias with a space in the name not working
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2008, 07:55:55 AM »
im afraid this is true, farr does not match alias names with spaces properly.  i have on my todo list to decide how to handle this, but you can use regular expression match as nitrix said to get around the limittion for now.

BrokenNails

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Alias with a space in the name not working
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2008, 09:04:05 PM »
Thanks guys. It's not a major issue (especially given the regex workaround) - I was mainly concerned that perhaps I'd misunderstood how to use FARR correctly!  :)