Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site December 21, 2014, 05:58:41 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Learn about the DonationCoder.com microdonation system (DonationCredits).
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Hide menu in Start Menu  (Read 15942 times)
blackcat
Participant
*
Posts: 62

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: May 24, 2008, 11:30:53 PM »

Hello. I have a long list of start menu and i want to hide some of them to make it shorter. i could just use 'tidy start menu' but it doesnt hide menu instead it just sort the menus into group. that's not what i want.

can someone write a program that will hide main entries by changing their folder attrib. a simple program with listbox (with checkboxes)

thanks in advanced!  smiley
Logged
Jammo the OrganizedFellow
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 212


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2008, 11:57:08 PM »

You could try editing it by hand?!

It is very easy too, under XP just navigate to:
C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Start Menu\Programs

I prefer to organize my favorite/needed applications by their shortcuts using Quick Launch
C:\Documents and Settings\***USERNAME***HERE***\Application Data\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch
Logged

As an aspiring web developer/designer, it is a constant struggle to cope with my ADHD + Hypomania/Bipolar Disorder.

The slow growth of my web dev projects is eclipsed by my patience, understanding and desire to learn AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE as I slowly progress.

X_____jamjammo_____
belkira
Member
**
Posts: 52



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2008, 10:16:00 PM »

Well these are a bit ugly, and I have not yet figured out how to combine both
scripts into one so it takes two scripts. One to hide the apps, and one to unhide them.

Usage:

Launch, check the program(s) you want hidden. Thats it, when you have checked all the boxes
of the programs you want hidden just close the app. There is no undo so if you accidentally
click on something you didn't want hidden you will have to use the unhider script to unhide it.

Also because of the way Windows is, this hides folders from current users profile, and the all users
profile so if someone else uses your pc they may notice things missing.

* Start Menu Hider.ahk (2.29 KB - downloaded 294 times.)
* Start Menu Unhider.ahk (2.38 KB - downloaded 256 times.)
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,136



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2008, 06:55:24 AM »

I have not yet figured out how to combine both
scripts into one so it takes two scripts. One to hide the apps, and one to unhide them.

just an idea, how about combining both scripts in a GUI with a tabbed Hide/Unhide options. smiley
Logged

belkira
Member
**
Posts: 52



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2008, 04:56:16 PM »

Tried...I couldnt get the tabs to work. Only the first tab showed any info.
Logged
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 884



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: June 14, 2008, 12:56:11 PM »

 smiley Here's a listview version, HideStartmenuFolders!

Easily hide starmenu folders.
Just toggle a checkbox to change the visibility.
Edit the doubleclick action to change from opening the folder in Explorer or toggeling the hidden state.
Click Restart Explorer to rebuild the Starmenu.

Skrommel @ 2008


[copy or print]
;HideStartmenuFolders.ahk
; Easily hide starmenu folders.
; Just toggle a checkbox to change the visibility.
; Edit the doubleclick action to change from opening the folder in Explorer or toggeling the hidden state.
; Click Restart Explorer to rebuild the Starmenu.
;Skrommel @ 2008

;Settings - changes doubleclick action
doubleclick=Explore ; Toggle

#NoEnv
#SingleInstance,Force
SetBatchLines,-1

applicationname=HideStartmenuFolders

Gui,Margin,0,0
Gui,+Resize
Gui,Add,Button,xm yp w50 GHIDE,&Hide
Gui,Add,Button,x+0 yp w50 GSHOW,&Show
Gui,Add,Button,x+10 yp W50 GDELETE,&Delete
Gui,Add,Button,x+10 yp w75 GREFRESH,&Refresh
Gui,Add,Button,x+0 yp GREBUILD,Restart &Explorer
Gui,Add,ListView,xm Vlistview GTOGGLE Checked AltSubmit,Hidden|Folder|Path|Old Attribute|New Attribute
Gui,Add,StatusBar,G1HOURSOFTWARE,% " www.1HourSoftware.com"

Gosub,REFRESH
Gui,Show,W600 H400,%applicationname%
OnExit,EXIT
changed=0
Return


TRAVERSE:
Loop,%startmenu%\*.*,1,1
{
  IfNotInString,A_LoopFileAttrib,D
    Continue
  IfInString,A_LoopFileAttrib,H
    LV_Add("Check","",A_LoopFileName,A_LoopFileLongPath,"H","H")
  Else
    LV_Add("UnCheck","",A_LoopFileName,A_LoopFileLongPath,"","")
}
Return


REFRESH:
LV_Delete()
building=1
startmenu:=A_StartMenu ;A_Programs
Gosub,TRAVERSE
startmenu:=A_StartMenuCommon ;A_ProgramsCommon
Gosub,TRAVERSE
building=0
LV_ModifyCol(1,"AutoHdr")
LV_ModifyCol(2,"AutoHdr")
LV_ModifyCol(3,"AutoHdr Sort")
LV_ModifyCol(4,0)
LV_ModifyCol(5,0)
Return


TOGGLE:
action:=ErrorLevel
If building=1
  Return

If (A_GuiEvent="ColClick" And A_EventInfo=1)
{
  LV_ModifyCol(5,"SortDesc")
  Return
}
Else
If (A_GuiEvent="I" And action="C")
{
  If (Asc(action)=Asc("C"))
    newattrib=+H
  Else
    newattrib=-H
}
Else
If (A_GuiEvent="DoubleClick")
{
  If doubleclick=Explore
  {
    LV_GetText(path,A_EventInfo,3)
    Run,Explorer.exe /e`,%path%
    Return
  }
  Else
  {
    row:=LV_GetNext(A_EventInfo-1,"C")
    If (row=A_EventInfo)
      LV_Modify(A_EventInfo,"-Check") 
    Else
      LV_Modify(A_EventInfo,"+Check") 
    Return
  }
}
Else
  Return

LV_GetText(path,A_EventInfo,3)
LV_GetText(origattrib,A_EventInfo,4)

FileSetAttrib,%newattrib%,%path%,1,0
FileGetAttrib,attrib,%path%
IfInString,attrib,H
  attrib=H
Else
  attrib=
LV_Modify(A_EventInfo,"Col5",attrib)
If (attrib<>origattrib)
  changed+=1
Else
  changed-=1
SB_SetText(" www.1HourSoftware.com       Changed folders: " changed)
Return


REBUILD:
Process,Close,Explorer.exe
Sleep,5000
Process,Exist,Explorer.exe
If ErrorLevel=0
  Run,Explorer.exe
Return


HIDE:
row=0
Loop
{
  row:=LV_GetNext(row,"")
  If row=0
    Break
  LV_Modify(row,"+Check") 
}
Return


SHOW:
row=0
Loop
{
  row:=LV_GetNext(row,"")
  If row=0
    Break
  LV_Modify(row,"-Check") 
}
Return


DELETE:
count=0
row=0
Loop
{
  row:=LV_GetNext(row,"")
  If row=0
    Break
  count+=1
}
If count=0
  Return

MsgBox,4,%applicationname%,Delete %count% folders?
IfMsgBox,No
 Return

row=0
Loop
{
  row:=LV_GetNext(row,"")
  If row=0
    Break
  LV_GetText(path,row,3)
  FileRecycle,%path%
  LV_Delete(row)
}
Return


1HOURSOFTWARE:
Run,www.1HourSoftware.com
Return


GuiSize:
If A_EventInfo<>1  ;not minimized
  GuiControl,Move,listview,% "W" A_GuiWidth " H" A_GuiHeight-45
Return


GuiClose:
GuiEscape:
Gui,Destroy
ExitApp


EXIT:
If changed<>0
  MsgBox,0,%applicationname%,You may have to log off to update the Startmenu
ExitApp
« Last Edit: June 27, 2008, 04:32:50 PM by skrommel » Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,136



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: June 18, 2008, 02:52:15 AM »

looks great, Skrommel! i just modified to add another column containing the "name" as separated from the "path" but somehow it's not working. i will go on poking into the source but is there any chance you could add this feature as well? smiley

Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,793



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: June 18, 2008, 09:03:46 AM »

Skrommel is on one of his coding snack binges i see  Kiss Kiss Kiss
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,136



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: June 18, 2008, 09:36:50 AM »

ok, i have fixed the problem with the additional column. thumbs up but just wondering why didn't you use AHK's built-in "A_StartMenu" & "A_StartMenuCommon" variable?
Logged

skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 884



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: June 18, 2008, 01:32:50 PM »

 smiley Too busy programming to read the manual...

I've added another column and double click action to the script above.

Skrommel
Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,136



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: June 18, 2008, 07:53:45 PM »

Too busy programming to read the manual...

you've got it spot-on. Wink btw, i have another bug report or maybe it's just me - i can't click on the 'hidden' header to sort. the other two headers work fine.

Logged

skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 884



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: June 19, 2008, 03:02:33 PM »

 smiley The code above lets you sort by hidden state, too.

Skrommel
Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
jdd
Charter Member
***
Posts: 214


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: June 21, 2008, 06:43:31 PM »

Thanks skrommel.  This is a very nice little gem!  thumbs up

As someone who installs and uninstalls a lot of software, my Start Menu was completely bloated with junk.  Now it is nice and tidy.
Logged
kartal
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,529


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: June 21, 2008, 06:49:12 PM »

Alternatively you can use tweakui from microsoft?

http://www.microsoft.com/...owertoys/xppowertoys.mspx
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,136



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: June 21, 2008, 10:02:42 PM »

Alternatively you can use tweakui from microsoft?

does TweakUI really have this feature? what version are you using?
Logged

kartal
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,529


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: June 22, 2008, 12:05:20 AM »

it has taskbar and start menu part where you can hide stuff. I use 64bit version but 32bit version has same features.
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,136



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: June 22, 2008, 12:35:22 AM »

it has taskbar and start menu part where you can hide stuff. I use 64bit version but 32bit version has same features.
the option you mentioned is for hiding the "frequently used programs" that appear on the left-side of the start menu. Skrommel's script does a different function - it hides the folders inside the start menu. smiley



Logged

kartal
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,529


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: June 22, 2008, 12:54:28 AM »

Sorry about that I thought that it was for hiding any start menu item since it actually lists all the programs under "start menu".
Logged
blackcat
Participant
*
Posts: 62

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #18 on: June 26, 2008, 02:55:34 AM »

skrommel
nice! that's just perfect.  thumbs up thanks so much! it's just like i want.  Kiss

can you please add shortcuts from these main path too?

[copy or print]
C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Start Menu
C:\Documents and Settings\username\Start Menu

some programs put their start menu shortcuts in these locations and they are listed on the top of other start menu shortcuts eg Windows Update & Windows Catalog.





thanks again!  Thmbsup
« Last Edit: June 26, 2008, 03:14:14 AM by blackcat » Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,136



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #19 on: June 26, 2008, 03:28:39 AM »

until Skrommel updates the script, you can have this function by replacing "A_Programs" & "A_ProgramsCommon" with "A_StartMenu" & "A_StartMenuCommon".
Logged

wreckedcarzz
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,620



Happy wolfie ^_^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #20 on: June 26, 2008, 03:34:24 AM »

Could "delete folder" and "refresh" buttons be added? I am on Vista so I just drag everything to the "main area" out of the folders and then delete the folders, and doing this manually takes forever...
Logged

New website! With a fancy domain name and everything! *gasp*
http://www.wreckedcarzz.com/
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 884



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #21 on: June 27, 2008, 04:36:31 PM »

 smiley Updated the code aboove with Delete, Refresh and Restart Explorer buttons,
and you can doubleclick to open a folder in Explorer.
Also added Hide and Show buttons so you change multiple selected lines at once.

Skrommel
Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
blackcat
Participant
*
Posts: 62

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #22 on: June 28, 2008, 07:58:47 AM »

thanks skrommel. love the new updates.

Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,793



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #23 on: June 28, 2008, 08:37:56 AM »

Where do we sign the petition to make skrommel update his webpage with his new software releases?  huh
Logged
Jammo the OrganizedFellow
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 212


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #24 on: July 31, 2008, 08:45:12 AM »

Where do we sign the petition to make skrommel update his webpage with his new software releases?  huh

__X__my signature__
Logged

As an aspiring web developer/designer, it is a constant struggle to cope with my ADHD + Hypomania/Bipolar Disorder.

The slow growth of my web dev projects is eclipsed by my patience, understanding and desire to learn AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE as I slowly progress.

X_____jamjammo_____
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.049s | Server load: 0.11 ]