Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 02, 2015, 02:01:45 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Hide menu in Start Menu  (Read 16740 times)

blackcat

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Hide menu in Start Menu
« on: May 24, 2008, 11:30:53 PM »
Hello. I have a long list of start menu and i want to hide some of them to make it shorter. i could just use 'tidy start menu' but it doesnt hide menu instead it just sort the menus into group. that's not what i want.

can someone write a program that will hide main entries by changing their folder attrib. a simple program with listbox (with checkboxes)

thanks in advanced!  :)

Jammo the OrganizedFellow

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 212
    • View Profile
    • OrganizedFellow
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hide menu in Start Menu
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2008, 11:57:08 PM »
You could try editing it by hand?!

It is very easy too, under XP just navigate to:
C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Start Menu\Programs

I prefer to organize my favorite/needed applications by their shortcuts using Quick Launch
C:\Documents and Settings\***USERNAME***HERE***\Application Data\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch
As an aspiring web developer/designer, it is a constant struggle to cope with my ADHD + Hypomania/Bipolar Disorder.

The slow growth of my web dev projects is eclipsed by my patience, understanding and desire to learn AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE as I slowly progress.

X_____jamjammo_____

belkira

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hide menu in Start Menu
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2008, 10:16:00 PM »
Well these are a bit ugly, and I have not yet figured out how to combine both
scripts into one so it takes two scripts. One to hide the apps, and one to unhide them.

Usage:

Launch, check the program(s) you want hidden. Thats it, when you have checked all the boxes
of the programs you want hidden just close the app. There is no undo so if you accidentally
click on something you didn't want hidden you will have to use the unhider script to unhide it.

Also because of the way Windows is, this hides folders from current users profile, and the all users
profile so if someone else uses your pc they may notice things missing.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hide menu in Start Menu
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2008, 06:55:24 AM »
I have not yet figured out how to combine both
scripts into one so it takes two scripts. One to hide the apps, and one to unhide them.

just an idea, how about combining both scripts in a GUI with a tabbed Hide/Unhide options. :)

belkira

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hide menu in Start Menu
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2008, 04:56:16 PM »
Tried...I couldnt get the tabs to work. Only the first tab showed any info.

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hide menu in Start Menu
« Reply #5 on: June 14, 2008, 12:56:11 PM »
 :) Here's a listview version, HideStartmenuFolders!

Easily hide starmenu folders.
Just toggle a checkbox to change the visibility.
Edit the doubleclick action to change from opening the folder in Explorer or toggeling the hidden state.
Click Restart Explorer to rebuild the Starmenu.

Skrommel @ 2008


Code: [Select]
;HideStartmenuFolders.ahk
; Easily hide starmenu folders.
; Just toggle a checkbox to change the visibility.
; Edit the doubleclick action to change from opening the folder in Explorer or toggeling the hidden state.
; Click Restart Explorer to rebuild the Starmenu.
;Skrommel @ 2008

;Settings - changes doubleclick action
doubleclick=Explore ; Toggle

#NoEnv
#SingleInstance,Force
SetBatchLines,-1

applicationname=HideStartmenuFolders

Gui,Margin,0,0
Gui,+Resize
Gui,Add,Button,xm yp w50 GHIDE,&Hide
Gui,Add,Button,x+0 yp w50 GSHOW,&Show
Gui,Add,Button,x+10 yp W50 GDELETE,&Delete
Gui,Add,Button,x+10 yp w75 GREFRESH,&Refresh
Gui,Add,Button,x+0 yp GREBUILD,Restart &Explorer
Gui,Add,ListView,xm Vlistview GTOGGLE Checked AltSubmit,Hidden|Folder|Path|Old Attribute|New Attribute
Gui,Add,StatusBar,G1HOURSOFTWARE,% " www.1HourSoftware.com"

Gosub,REFRESH
Gui,Show,W600 H400,%applicationname%
OnExit,EXIT
changed=0
Return


TRAVERSE:
Loop,%startmenu%\*.*,1,1
{
  IfNotInString,A_LoopFileAttrib,D
    Continue
  IfInString,A_LoopFileAttrib,H
    LV_Add("Check","",A_LoopFileName,A_LoopFileLongPath,"H","H")
  Else
    LV_Add("UnCheck","",A_LoopFileName,A_LoopFileLongPath,"","")
}
Return


REFRESH:
LV_Delete()
building=1
startmenu:=A_StartMenu ;A_Programs
Gosub,TRAVERSE
startmenu:=A_StartMenuCommon ;A_ProgramsCommon
Gosub,TRAVERSE
building=0
LV_ModifyCol(1,"AutoHdr")
LV_ModifyCol(2,"AutoHdr")
LV_ModifyCol(3,"AutoHdr Sort")
LV_ModifyCol(4,0)
LV_ModifyCol(5,0)
Return


TOGGLE:
action:=ErrorLevel
If building=1
  Return

If (A_GuiEvent="ColClick" And A_EventInfo=1)
{
  LV_ModifyCol(5,"SortDesc")
  Return
}
Else
If (A_GuiEvent="I" And action="C")
{
  If (Asc(action)=Asc("C"))
    newattrib=+H
  Else
    newattrib=-H
}
Else
If (A_GuiEvent="DoubleClick")
{
  If doubleclick=Explore
  {
    LV_GetText(path,A_EventInfo,3)
    Run,Explorer.exe /e`,%path%
    Return
  }
  Else
  {
    row:=LV_GetNext(A_EventInfo-1,"C")
    If (row=A_EventInfo)
      LV_Modify(A_EventInfo,"-Check") 
    Else
      LV_Modify(A_EventInfo,"+Check") 
    Return
  }
}
Else
  Return

LV_GetText(path,A_EventInfo,3)
LV_GetText(origattrib,A_EventInfo,4)

FileSetAttrib,%newattrib%,%path%,1,0
FileGetAttrib,attrib,%path%
IfInString,attrib,H
  attrib=H
Else
  attrib=
LV_Modify(A_EventInfo,"Col5",attrib)
If (attrib<>origattrib)
  changed+=1
Else
  changed-=1
SB_SetText(" www.1HourSoftware.com       Changed folders: " changed)
Return


REBUILD:
Process,Close,Explorer.exe
Sleep,5000
Process,Exist,Explorer.exe
If ErrorLevel=0
  Run,Explorer.exe
Return


HIDE:
row=0
Loop
{
  row:=LV_GetNext(row,"")
  If row=0
    Break
  LV_Modify(row,"+Check") 
}
Return


SHOW:
row=0
Loop
{
  row:=LV_GetNext(row,"")
  If row=0
    Break
  LV_Modify(row,"-Check") 
}
Return


DELETE:
count=0
row=0
Loop
{
  row:=LV_GetNext(row,"")
  If row=0
    Break
  count+=1
}
If count=0
  Return

MsgBox,4,%applicationname%,Delete %count% folders?
IfMsgBox,No
 Return

row=0
Loop
{
  row:=LV_GetNext(row,"")
  If row=0
    Break
  LV_GetText(path,row,3)
  FileRecycle,%path%
  LV_Delete(row)
}
Return


1HOURSOFTWARE:
Run,www.1HourSoftware.com
Return


GuiSize:
If A_EventInfo<>1  ;not minimized
  GuiControl,Move,listview,% "W" A_GuiWidth " H" A_GuiHeight-45
Return


GuiClose:
GuiEscape:
Gui,Destroy
ExitApp


EXIT:
If changed<>0
  MsgBox,0,%applicationname%,You may have to log off to update the Startmenu
ExitApp
Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
« Last Edit: June 27, 2008, 04:32:50 PM by skrommel »

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hide menu in Start Menu
« Reply #6 on: June 18, 2008, 02:52:15 AM »
looks great, Skrommel! i just modified to add another column containing the "name" as separated from the "path" but somehow it's not working. i will go on poking into the source but is there any chance you could add this feature as well? :)

ws-smhider-2.png

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,989
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hide menu in Start Menu
« Reply #7 on: June 18, 2008, 09:03:46 AM »
Skrommel is on one of his coding snack binges i see  :-* :-* :-*

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hide menu in Start Menu
« Reply #8 on: June 18, 2008, 09:36:50 AM »
ok, i have fixed the problem with the additional column. :up: but just wondering why didn't you use AHK's built-in "A_StartMenu" & "A_StartMenuCommon" variable?

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hide menu in Start Menu
« Reply #9 on: June 18, 2008, 01:32:50 PM »
 :) Too busy programming to read the manual...

I've added another column and double click action to the script above.

Skrommel
Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hide menu in Start Menu
« Reply #10 on: June 18, 2008, 07:53:45 PM »
Too busy programming to read the manual...

you've got it spot-on. ;) btw, i have another bug report or maybe it's just me - i can't click on the 'hidden' header to sort. the other two headers work fine.

ws-HideStartmenuFolders-v2.png

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hide menu in Start Menu
« Reply #11 on: June 19, 2008, 03:02:33 PM »
 :) The code above lets you sort by hidden state, too.

Skrommel
Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.

jdd

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 214
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hide menu in Start Menu
« Reply #12 on: June 21, 2008, 06:43:31 PM »
Thanks skrommel.  This is a very nice little gem!  :up:

As someone who installs and uninstalls a lot of software, my Start Menu was completely bloated with junk.  Now it is nice and tidy.

kartal

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 1,529
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hide menu in Start Menu
« Reply #13 on: June 21, 2008, 06:49:12 PM »
Alternatively you can use tweakui from microsoft?

http://www.microsoft...oys/xppowertoys.mspx

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hide menu in Start Menu
« Reply #14 on: June 21, 2008, 10:02:42 PM »
Alternatively you can use tweakui from microsoft?

does TweakUI really have this feature? what version are you using?

kartal

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 1,529
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hide menu in Start Menu
« Reply #15 on: June 22, 2008, 12:05:20 AM »
it has taskbar and start menu part where you can hide stuff. I use 64bit version but 32bit version has same features.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hide menu in Start Menu
« Reply #16 on: June 22, 2008, 12:35:22 AM »
it has taskbar and start menu part where you can hide stuff. I use 64bit version but 32bit version has same features.
the option you mentioned is for hiding the "frequently used programs" that appear on the left-side of the start menu. Skrommel's script does a different function - it hides the folders inside the start menu. :)

ws-tweakui-frequently-used-1.png


kartal

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 1,529
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hide menu in Start Menu
« Reply #17 on: June 22, 2008, 12:54:28 AM »
Sorry about that I thought that it was for hiding any start menu item since it actually lists all the programs under "start menu".

blackcat

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hide menu in Start Menu
« Reply #18 on: June 26, 2008, 02:55:34 AM »
skrommel
nice! that's just perfect.  :up: thanks so much! it's just like i want.  :-*

can you please add shortcuts from these main path too?

Code: [Select]
C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Start Menu
C:\Documents and Settings\username\Start Menu

some programs put their start menu shortcuts in these locations and they are listed on the top of other start menu shortcuts eg Windows Update & Windows Catalog.





thanks again!  :Thmbsup:
« Last Edit: June 26, 2008, 03:14:14 AM by blackcat »

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hide menu in Start Menu
« Reply #19 on: June 26, 2008, 03:28:39 AM »
until Skrommel updates the script, you can have this function by replacing "A_Programs" & "A_ProgramsCommon" with "A_StartMenu" & "A_StartMenuCommon".

wreckedcarzz

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,623
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hide menu in Start Menu
« Reply #20 on: June 26, 2008, 03:34:24 AM »
Could "delete folder" and "refresh" buttons be added? I am on Vista so I just drag everything to the "main area" out of the folders and then delete the folders, and doing this manually takes forever...

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hide menu in Start Menu
« Reply #21 on: June 27, 2008, 04:36:31 PM »
 :) Updated the code aboove with Delete, Refresh and Restart Explorer buttons,
and you can doubleclick to open a folder in Explorer.
Also added Hide and Show buttons so you change multiple selected lines at once.

Skrommel
Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.

blackcat

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hide menu in Start Menu
« Reply #22 on: June 28, 2008, 07:58:47 AM »
thanks skrommel. love the new updates.


mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,989
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hide menu in Start Menu
« Reply #23 on: June 28, 2008, 08:37:56 AM »
Where do we sign the petition to make skrommel update his webpage with his new software releases?  :huh:

Jammo the OrganizedFellow

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 212
    • View Profile
    • OrganizedFellow
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hide menu in Start Menu
« Reply #24 on: July 31, 2008, 08:45:12 AM »
Where do we sign the petition to make skrommel update his webpage with his new software releases?  :huh:

__X__my signature__
As an aspiring web developer/designer, it is a constant struggle to cope with my ADHD + Hypomania/Bipolar Disorder.

The slow growth of my web dev projects is eclipsed by my patience, understanding and desire to learn AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE as I slowly progress.

X_____jamjammo_____