Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 01, 2014, 01:02:44 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Check out and download the GOE 2007 Freeware Challenge productivity tools.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Firefox 3 + IE6  (Read 8481 times)
johnnyzero
Participant
*
Posts: 24

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: May 16, 2008, 02:06:15 PM »

Hi Mouser,

I've used BrowserTraySwitch for ages - great software!

Unfortunately, since installing Firefox 3 Beta4, it no longer lets me switch my default browsers between FF3 & IE6. It's kinda hard to tell since there are so many registry entries involved, but certainly it doesn't correctly change the URL shortcut association.

I've tried your suggestion of manually setting each browser as the default once, but that doesn't fix it.

One more thing: my config.ini file is empty - I'm relying on BrowserTraySwitch's auto-detect.

Any ideas on how I might fix this?

best,
JohnB
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,422



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2008, 02:14:21 PM »

a couple of things i need to know first:
1) can you set the default browsers sucessfully from within the browsers themselves? ie if you tell FF3 to be your default, is it obeyed? same question for IE?
2) can browsertrayswitch not switch to either of them successfully? or is it just switching to FF3 that doesnt work?
Logged
johnnyzero
Participant
*
Posts: 24

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2008, 02:45:25 PM »

Thanks for your quick reply, Mouser.

Duh - I should've mentioned those things in my original post.

Quote
1) can you set the default browsers sucessfully from within the browsers themselves? ie if you tell FF3 to be your default, is it obeyed? same question for IE?

Yes, that works fine for both browsers.

Quote
2) can browsertrayswitch not switch to either of them successfully? or is it just switching to FF3 that doesnt work?

The problem appears to be "bi-directional" - I can't switch from either browser to the other browser.

Weird, huh? If it were simply an issue of FF3 compatibility, BrowserTraySwitch should still be able to switch back to IE6 like it always has. Maybe FF3 creates (or breaks) some registry entry that we don't know about?

best,
JohnB
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,422



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2008, 03:43:30 PM »

it's insane how many different ways there are to mess with the default browser. it's ridiculous.
ok what i need you to do for me is install a registry snapshot-compare tool, and compare your registry when IE is default vs when FF3 is default -- that will tell me which registry entries are changed and i can add support in browsertrayswitch to make those changes.
Logged
johnnyzero
Participant
*
Posts: 24

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2008, 04:14:03 PM »

Will do. Any suggestions on a freeware registry snapshot/diff utility?

thanks,
JohnB
Logged
Veign
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 993



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: May 16, 2008, 04:23:05 PM »

it's insane how many different ways there are to mess with the default browser. it's ridiculous.
ok what i need you to do for me is install a registry snapshot-compare tool, and compare your registry when IE is default vs when FF3 is default -- that will tell me which registry entries are changed and i can add support in browsertrayswitch to make those changes.

Here's a tool:
http://www.veign.com/blog...try-before-and-after.html
Logged

johnnyzero
Participant
*
Posts: 24

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2008, 05:34:02 PM »

Thanks, Mouser - attached is the RegShot "compare" file (before: default=FF3; after: default=IE6). Hopefully that will help us troubleshoot this issue.

Of course, I'd be happy to "beta test" any prelim updates you make to BrowserTraySwitch.

btw, thanks for the tip on RegShot. Great tool - can't believe I've never used it before.

best,
JohnB

ps: you'll need to rename the .txt file as .htm - forum doesn't allow uploads of .htm files.


* DefaultBrowserDiff.txt (68.27 KB - downloaded 361 times.)
Logged
johnnyzero
Participant
*
Posts: 24

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: May 20, 2008, 06:40:15 AM »

Just a quick update: I installed the new FF3 RC1 yesterday, which includes a new option during install to make FF your default browser. Just so you know, this does not fix the issue I've described - I was hoping it might. Oh well...

best,
JohnB

ps: unrelated topic - Firefox3 RC1 does NOT render the DonationCoder Forum pages correctly - screenshot attached. I assume the same is true with any SMF-based forums.


* Forum_FF3Rc1.jpg (110.96 KB, 960x749 - viewed 447 times.)
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,422



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: May 20, 2008, 08:17:14 AM »

Thanks for the info johnny, i'm going to try to address the browsertrayswitch soon i just have to handle a few other more pressing matters first.

As for the FF3, that's not good.. looks like css stylesheet is not being used properly.. i'll have to try to figure out why.
Logged
sri
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 673


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: May 20, 2008, 09:36:43 AM »

http://windowsxp.mvps.org/defaultbrowser.htm
Logged

johnnyzero
Participant
*
Posts: 24

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: May 21, 2008, 07:06:36 PM »

Looks like you fixed the stylesheet - it now renders correctly in FF3.

JohnB
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.033s | Server load: 0.09 ]