Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site December 19, 2014, 09:50:34 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2010! Download 24 custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: piss off your users?make a non-redefinable shortcut that clobbers a standard one  (Read 6492 times)
urlwolf
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,784



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: May 12, 2008, 02:04:37 AM »

This is exactly what iRotate has done: mapped shift + ctrl + arrows (something everyone uses to move around text, select blocks in excel etc) as their main screen rotation shortcut.

It's fun to try to select a word and see your screen rotating... several times.

The tool is incrediby useful, but it should have user-defined shortcuts, and in any case, never redefine window's system-wide shortcuts for a good reason.
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,136



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2008, 03:28:47 AM »

i believe this must have been a constant problem for iRotate users since there is a sticky in their forums on changing default hot-keys plus another thread on turning off the hotkeys totally.

FAQ: Configuring hotkeys for softSpin and iRotate
shutting off hot keys
Logged

J-Mac
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,888


see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2008, 02:42:37 PM »

I had similar issues with PhraseExpress last year. They use a lot of hotkeys for extending text, but override existing ones on your computer.

E.g., on my computer OneNote 2007 uses the Win+S shortcut for screen clipping.  Whenever PhraseExpress was open it changed that hotkey to "Sleep".  That got more than a little frustrating!  I inquired about allowing users to disable that and the developer told me to close all other programs with hotkeys when I run PhraseExpress.

Not a very good fix IMO.  I use Direct Access now.

Jim
Logged

"I am getting so tired of slitting the throats of people who say that I am a violent psychopath."
TucknDar
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,094


Advanced coder of Nowt

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2008, 01:17:42 PM »

PhraseExpress doesn't do that now, though. Just tried Wink
Logged
J-Mac
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,888


see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2008, 02:52:18 PM »

PhraseExpress doesn't do that now, though. Just tried Wink

Nice to know, but a little late...   smiley

Jim
Logged

"I am getting so tired of slitting the throats of people who say that I am a violent psychopath."
Writer4Hire
Participant
*
Posts: 1

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2008, 07:46:55 PM »

While it's nice that they provide a sticky, it would be nicer if, anywhere on their site, they actually explain how to turn off their hideously annoying (some might say abusive) shortcuts IN VISTA. They don't. The information they give simply doesn't work, the files they reference do not exist.
Logged
Merida
Participant
*
Posts: 21


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: November 16, 2008, 09:56:47 AM »

Have you contacted technical support? What was their reaction?
Logged
ak_
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 223


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: November 16, 2008, 11:16:00 AM »

I used iRotate some time ago and i think i faced the same problem. The solution i found was to create two autohotkey shortcut running the appropriate iRotate command-line, as the program accepts parameters.
Logged

Deozaan
Charter Member
***
Posts: 6,533



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: November 16, 2008, 03:26:56 PM »

This is exactly what iRotate has done: mapped shift + ctrl + arrows (something everyone uses to move around text, select blocks in excel etc) as their main screen rotation shortcut.

It's fun to try to select a word and see your screen rotating... several times.

The tool is incredibly useful, but it should have user-defined shortcuts, and in any case, never redefine window's system-wide shortcuts for a good reason.

Sounds like they need to rename their app to iRate to better reflect how it makes end-users feel.
Logged

ak_
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 223


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: November 16, 2008, 07:54:34 PM »

iRant ? cheesy
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.038s | Server load: 0.08 ]