Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 05, 2016, 04:21:52 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: I think ive worked out a way to turn a virtual machine into a bootable one?  (Read 2774 times)

relequestual

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
    • AppAholic
    • Donate to Member
OK, so here it is. Im sure some of you have heard of drive image XML. I was thinking, im using windows virtual machine, and you can have an external shared folder. What if i was to use drive image XML to create an image of the HD, and then use a bootable CD with drive image xml to restore the image to a blank HD i have spare. Would that then have effectivle made a virtual machine into a bootable one?

am i wrong or missing something?

Thing is, i want to use vista in xp (know how and can), but i also dont want to do TOO much with it, and then have 2 do it all again when i eventually make the switch, which will happen sooner or later.

Your opinions/thoughts/comments please?
<a href="http://feeds.feedbur...om/~r/Appaholic/~6/3"><img src="http://feeds.feedbur....com/Appaholic.3.gif" alt="Are You An AppAholic?" style="border:0"></a>

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
I think you'd have problems with the hardware configuration (because the hardware on the virtual machine isn't the same on the real computer..

relequestual

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
    • AppAholic
    • Donate to Member
oh
i was worried there might be something like that.

why dont the VM people make a way of being able to boot from virtual machines aswell. Im sure EVERYone (by everyone i mean alot of ppl) want it
<a href="http://feeds.feedbur...om/~r/Appaholic/~6/3"><img src="http://feeds.feedbur....com/Appaholic.3.gif" alt="Are You An AppAholic?" style="border:0"></a>

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
oh
i was worried there might be something like that.

why dont the VM people make a way of being able to boot from virtual machines aswell. Im sure EVERYone (by everyone i mean alot of ppl) want it
The enterprise does it, but that has an enterprise pricetag associated with it :)

Doing what you're describing might work, I know people that have transplanted a disk from an AMD machine to an Intel - obviously boot-time RAID wasn't involved, only standard adapters.
- carpe noctem

relequestual

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
    • AppAholic
    • Donate to Member
the enterprise does it? really?
ive been looking but unable to find anything that even does it.
does it allow you to boot the same machine as your virtualising, or just turn a virtual into a real one?
can you find me the link where it says it can do that? i cant find any information on the website.
I dont mean convert a machine to a virtual one, i mean the reverse, a virtual to normal
<a href="http://feeds.feedbur...om/~r/Appaholic/~6/3"><img src="http://feeds.feedbur....com/Appaholic.3.gif" alt="Are You An AppAholic?" style="border:0"></a>
« Last Edit: May 08, 2008, 04:11:15 PM by relequestual »

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Well, I was thinking in the lines of vmware esx/gsx server, which basically boots the VM without an OS (although in reality, iirc it uses a heavily modified linux as base OS). So you still don't _really_ go from a vm image to on-the-hardware...
- carpe noctem

relequestual

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
    • AppAholic
    • Donate to Member
<a href="http://feeds.feedbur...om/~r/Appaholic/~6/3"><img src="http://feeds.feedbur....com/Appaholic.3.gif" alt="Are You An AppAholic?" style="border:0"></a>