Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 03, 2015, 10:50:39 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Timer - closed  (Read 69767 times)

herojoker

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 124
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #100 on: September 22, 2008, 11:17:46 AM »
czechboy: Hint for the future: Use a versioning system like SVN  :)

czb

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 336
    • View Profile
    • My open-source online piano game
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #101 on: September 22, 2008, 11:36:50 AM »
you are right :) that is one of the reasons why I would like to see plugin CMS with versioning etc
My open-source online piano game: https://github.com/musicope/game

czb

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 336
    • View Profile
    • My open-source online piano game
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #102 on: September 22, 2008, 11:49:53 AM »
It seems there is some bug at dcmembers.com site so meanwhile you can download the correct (hopefuly) version here:
http://dl.getdropbox...com/u/4571/Timer.zip
My open-source online piano game: https://github.com/musicope/game

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,708
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #103 on: September 22, 2008, 09:47:55 PM »
Thanks czechboy! :) Your timer has become a tool I now frequently use.   :Thmbsup:

CleverCat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,137
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #104 on: September 23, 2008, 02:07:51 AM »
Oh goody!  :Thmbsup:

czb

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 336
    • View Profile
    • My open-source online piano game
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #105 on: September 23, 2008, 03:12:20 PM »
now timer.zip file from the dcmembers.com should work as usual
My open-source online piano game: https://github.com/musicope/game

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,012
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #106 on: September 23, 2008, 03:25:44 PM »
hitting enter doesnt work for me on new version.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,012
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #107 on: September 24, 2008, 03:01:59 AM »
I found out why my latest install of timer wasn't working -- the directory for storing the timer.txt settings was reset to a non-existent directory, which caused the plugin to not work.

If you get this behavior, time "tm settings" and specify a valid directory.  :up:

CleverCat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,137
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #108 on: September 24, 2008, 04:14:37 AM »
It works for me - first time it's worked with FARR window popping up message!  :Thmbsup:

Ta czechboy...  :D

alexey_r

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #109 on: September 24, 2008, 10:17:49 AM »
Good news everyone! :D  Sorry, could not resist. But it works!

If the file at dcmembers.com has been updated (as it seems from Reply #105), the version should be incremented as well, so that DcUpdater detects the change.
Alexey Romanov

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,708
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #110 on: September 29, 2008, 12:56:28 AM »
I found out why my latest install of timer wasn't working -- the directory for storing the timer.txt settings was reset to a non-existent directory, which caused the plugin to not work.

If you get this behavior, time "tm settings" and specify a valid directory.  :up:

Thanks for the tip mouser. For some reason, I missed your post.
So, yes... It works...  :)

argv

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #111 on: October 02, 2008, 03:20:43 PM »
It should be nice to have an option like:

everyday at 5PM some alert

By the way: nice addon; thanks!

macs

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #112 on: October 12, 2008, 01:37:45 PM »
I've read this thread and searched the whole of the forums but I still can't get this to work.

If I type (for example)

tm in 20 Hello

then I get the message box with all the details of the countdown (20 seconds, text: hello), so far so good. But I can't get it to accept the entry.

This thread seem to imply that I need to press period (.) but that doesn't work. It just puts adds the period to the entry. I've also tried enter, tab .... with no success. I can't find any way to get it to accept the countdown.  Am I doing something wrong or is this a problem with me having a UK rather than US keyboard (altough Period / Full Stop are both in the same place).

czb

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 336
    • View Profile
    • My open-source online piano game
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #113 on: October 13, 2008, 12:49:11 AM »
It should work without period as well just by hitting enter. try to type "tm settings" and check if everything is set correctly :up:

Quote
everyday at 5PM some alert
I will probably add it when I have time  ;)
My open-source online piano game: https://github.com/musicope/game

macs

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #114 on: October 13, 2008, 02:27:36 AM »
It should work without period as well just by hitting enter. try to type "tm settings" and check if everything is set correctly :up:
Period doesn't seem to do anything.

Pressing enter just results in the timer message window closing and FARR showing "Found 0 results in 0 seconds" under the input box.

If I then type "tm" into the input box it says "Next event in: no timer set" at the bottom of the timer message window.

If I type "tm settings" then it display the mainly blank timer message window (with the "TYPE:" message at the top, date and time at the bottom and the "no timer set" message at the bottom). Then after a few seconds the "timer settings - windows internet explorer" box opens).

czb

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 336
    • View Profile
    • My open-source online piano game
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #115 on: October 13, 2008, 04:37:00 AM »
Is there anything in the timer settings windows internet explorer box? also try to delete and install timer from scratch because we had some issues of having wrong version of timer on http and we could not get rid of it ;)
My open-source online piano game: https://github.com/musicope/game

macs

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #116 on: October 13, 2008, 09:45:48 AM »
also try to deleted and install timer
I delete the timer and reinstalled it (by downloading the Zip file as it wasn't listed in DCUpdater after deleting it for some reason).  Once reinstalled I got the internet explorer settings box showing (exactly the same before (ie. with setting details in it)). I then clicked on send and it all seemed ok. DCUpdater is listing it and shows the same version as before (1.01.13).

It will now accept timers if I press enter, but it still doesn't accept period/full stop. From my point of view it now works and is easy to use.  However, somebody else might still have a problem as the forum tends to refer to period rather than pressing enter. So I'm happy but it might need a look to make the documentation clearer for other people.

Thanks for the help on this.

kartal

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 1,529
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #117 on: October 14, 2008, 09:23:42 PM »
thanks mouser, it was not working for me as well.


I found out why my latest install of timer wasn't working -- the directory for storing the timer.txt settings was reset to a non-existent directory, which caused the plugin to not work.

If you get this behavior, time "tm settings" and specify a valid directory.  :up:

vjcamarena

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #118 on: December 13, 2008, 02:35:52 PM »
sir... you have just made my life better!
thank you!

CleverCat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,137
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #119 on: December 13, 2008, 11:47:32 PM »
I have a question! Why does the pop up not only speak your Text but also the ":p:" for preset?

I laugh when I hear - "You have a reminder - make an Image p!"  ;D

czb

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 336
    • View Profile
    • My open-source online piano game
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #120 on: December 30, 2008, 06:21:44 AM »
CleverCat: I will correct it
My open-source online piano game: https://github.com/musicope/game

czb

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 336
    • View Profile
    • My open-source online piano game
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #121 on: December 30, 2008, 06:30:33 AM »
My open-source online piano game: https://github.com/musicope/game

CleverCat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,137
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #122 on: January 01, 2009, 02:09:27 AM »
Actually, I just leave out the :p: now! What diffs does the preset make czb?

czb

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 336
    • View Profile
    • My open-source online piano game
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #123 on: January 01, 2009, 05:07:02 AM »
the timer marked as preset is saved in preset section, so anytime you can call it out.

PS: timer needs some rewriting and polishing of the code. I will do it in a month ;)
My open-source online piano game: https://github.com/musicope/game

CleverCat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,137
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #124 on: January 02, 2009, 05:36:18 AM »
Understood...It works great anyway, I use it every day! I like the way it still reminds me even if I boot up after the reminder time!  :D :Thmbsup: