Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 02, 2016, 12:01:54 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Timer - closed  (Read 76009 times)

czb

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 336
    • View Profile
    • My open-source online piano game
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #75 on: June 12, 2008, 11:16:22 AM »
A minnor update. Enter is now used and the memo mode is now active :up:
My open-source online piano game: https://github.com/musicope/game

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #76 on: June 12, 2008, 11:43:44 AM »
Oh, i hadn't noticed that.
It's interesting.. I search for "d\ga\tm", and Timer comes up, it really shouldn't.. I'm not sure if the regex would solve it, though, because i added that regex as a custom regex and then Timer stopped working as it did normally.

I guess mouser could give us some explanation? :)

czb

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 336
    • View Profile
    • My open-source online piano game
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #77 on: June 12, 2008, 12:04:31 PM »
Yeah it seems as a bug. I have already given notice to mouser and he said he would resolve it ;) So let us hope :)
My open-source online piano game: https://github.com/musicope/game
« Last Edit: June 12, 2008, 12:06:53 PM by czechboy »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #78 on: June 12, 2008, 02:31:22 PM »
Quote
I search for "d\ga\tm", and Timer comes up

i think this might be a bug in fscript matching of keyword. i'm passing the buck to ecaradec and see if it comes back to me :)

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,366
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #79 on: June 12, 2008, 04:48:46 PM »
I have tried talking warning and I have got "unknown exception" several times and suddenly now it works fine again. I have no idea why this happends but I have included try catch statement so in case of any error you will not loose your alert message

Thanks.  I'll experiment with that!


cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,366
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #80 on: June 12, 2008, 05:14:13 PM »
tm settings
gets me a never-ending series of settings windows. Have to kill FARR to stifle the little blighters... :down:

Having spoken messages enabled no longer causes the message window to fail, though : :up:

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #81 on: June 12, 2008, 05:15:14 PM »
Quote
tm settings
gets me a never-ending series of settings windows

same here! definitely a problem.

czechboy and i might have to talk to see if this is a bug with the new FARR system or a bug in the plugin.

i suspect the problem may be with the way that farr now signifies an Enter being pressed after a search string is set programmatically.
the solution may be simply to add the ability to add a \n to a string when you specify an alias action of "restartsearch" so that plugin/alias can choose whether to trigger the hitting of enter after setting the search string.  if you don't understand what i'm talking about that's ok, this is only for the heavy alias users and plugin writers to be concerned with.
« Last Edit: June 12, 2008, 05:33:31 PM by mouser »

czb

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 336
    • View Profile
    • My open-source online piano game
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #82 on: June 13, 2008, 03:01:41 AM »
tm settings
gets me a never-ending series of settings windows. Have to kill FARR to stifle the little blighters... :down:

Having spoken messages enabled no longer causes the message window to fail, though : :up:

It was my mistake. I do not know how it happened by forgot to save and upload the latest version... now it should be fine. But to be sure pls check it ;)
thanks
My open-source online piano game: https://github.com/musicope/game

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #83 on: June 13, 2008, 05:44:24 AM »
i think there was also something farr was doing wrong that is now fixed. new version of farr+timer have no trouble with settings.

czb: you might want to make timer (and any other plugins) not launch settings until user hits enter, and just display in output that they should hit enter to launch settings dialog now that the Enter method works.  just an idea.

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,366
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #84 on: June 13, 2008, 02:32:08 PM »
tm settings
gets me a never-ending series of settings windows. Have to kill FARR to stifle the little blighters... :down:

Having spoken messages enabled no longer causes the message window to fail, though : :up:

It was my mistake. I do not know how it happened by forgot to save and upload the latest version... now it should be fine. But to be sure pls check it ;)
thanks

 :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup:

[edit]
Just had a spoken message for the first time ever, too!.
This is almost as good as an Amiga.
 :)
« Last Edit: June 13, 2008, 02:37:21 PM by cranioscopical »

echo

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #85 on: July 15, 2008, 02:53:58 PM »
Talking about timer (just peeped into it) :
Why can't I make an ALIAS like " tm in 60 tada " , work (I doesn't create a timer)
 :tellme:


jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #86 on: July 15, 2008, 06:16:43 PM »
Hi echo!
I think you're looking for "dosearch", "restartsearch" or "dosearchontrigger". They're documented on the help file, under "Advanced Use -> Special/Virtual Launch Strings".
An example would be:
dosearch tm in 60 tada
The three different keywords are aimed at different situations, so just try each one and see which ones fits best ;)

echo

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #87 on: July 16, 2008, 12:27:18 PM »
mytm2To my surprise
dosearch helped     :Thmbsup:

It might be only me , but I wouldn't have guessed it from the HELP .  Why are aliases so different from UNIX aliases ?

Thank you for the assistance  :)

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #88 on: July 16, 2008, 12:28:52 PM »
:) The aliases aren't designed to replace a search by another search, they are designed to be used to launch other programs. Only when you add one of those I mentioned do they work like you'd expect with an unix alias.
Probably, the name isn't very adequate :)

mmx

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2005
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #89 on: August 18, 2008, 04:35:58 AM »
A minnor update. Enter is now used  :up:
Enter doesn't work for validation :(.
Typing a period is not intuitive and very puzzling for a new user (in the video the period is hardly visible ;))
Otherwise a great bravo for Timer

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #90 on: August 18, 2008, 06:25:02 AM »
timer plugin rocks, i was just using it this weekend.

czb

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 336
    • View Profile
    • My open-source online piano game
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #91 on: August 18, 2008, 07:39:50 AM »
when I have time I will focus on timer ;)
My open-source online piano game: https://github.com/musicope/game

mmx

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2005
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #92 on: August 18, 2008, 07:42:55 AM »
timer plugin rocks, i was just using it this weekend.
I'm not saying Timer plugin don't work. I'm saying that it works but with period key for validation and not with enter key (XP SP2, French keyboard).
My bad English for sure ;D.

when I have time I will focus on timer ;)
Thanks  :)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #93 on: August 25, 2008, 10:34:49 AM »
ATTENTION czb:
The web still has the old version of this plugin (and google translate plugin)!
Share the latest version with the world please.

mmx

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2005
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #94 on: August 27, 2008, 04:03:26 AM »
Now it's OK ! :up:
« Last Edit: August 27, 2008, 03:45:20 PM by mmx »

czb

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 336
    • View Profile
    • My open-source online piano game
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #95 on: September 21, 2008, 12:37:46 PM »
somehow it happened that timer was not working.. so I have just uploaded a correct version
My open-source online piano game: https://github.com/musicope/game

alexey_r

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #96 on: September 22, 2008, 07:41:00 AM »
It was working for me before the latest update, but doesn't anymore :(
Alexey Romanov

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #97 on: September 22, 2008, 08:58:43 AM »
Same thing here... Installed the update but doesn't work anymore. Was working before.

CleverCat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,158
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #98 on: September 22, 2008, 09:22:13 AM »
Ditto....  ;)

czb

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 336
    • View Profile
    • My open-source online piano game
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timer
« Reply #99 on: September 22, 2008, 11:09:36 AM »
working on it
My open-source online piano game: https://github.com/musicope/game
« Last Edit: September 22, 2008, 11:35:41 AM by czechboy »