Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 01, 2015, 09:26:50 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: might be a bit off BUT i would like advice about a game ( not another one)  (Read 3371 times)

jamesdoc01

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 11
  • On The Gers
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
i have just got a new game and it is bloody tearing my hair out with lag.......
My specs are as follows

Windows XP Home Edition (5.01.2600 Service Pack 2
Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 2.80GHz
NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT 256 mb
Maxtor 6V160E0 140 gig
If any other info in the PC specs are required please let me know.........

The game is battlefield 2 Complete collection. I do also use battlefield 2142 and do not have the same problems.
Any help in this matter would be fantastic.
I would like to thank all who take the time to read this post as i know it might not be the posting that goes on this site.
Thanks  jamesdoc01

Ehtyar

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 1,237
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
You can try to identify the host for online play and tracert it, but this will only identify the lagging hop (if indeed it is a hop) and will do nothing to mitigate the problem. It has been known to improve your latency during online gameplay by setting your TcpAckFrquency to 1 but the benefit is minimal and will likely have little effect on such high latency as you are experiencing.

Ehtyar.

mediaguycouk

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 245
    • View Profile
    • Mediaguy
    • Donate to Member
Do you get the same lag if you play single player or host your own server?

Learning C# - Graham Robinson

jamesdoc01

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 11
  • On The Gers
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Thanks for the response.
To answer your question No i don't get lag if i play single player.
Not hosted my own server, i don't seem to get as bad a lag when playing 2142 so it seems to have stumped me..... I will try your suggestion about setting the TCPACKFREQUENCY to 1. Post the response in this soon......

wraith808

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,314
  • "In my dreams, I always do it right."
    • View Profile
    • wraith808
    • Donate to Member
1. Does it matter what server you connect to?
2. What's your ping in the server list?

If your ping is low, and it's consistently a problem no matter what server you connect to, I'd say your problem is on your end... what other software do you have running?

jamesdoc01

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 11
  • On The Gers
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Thanks for the response.
I can't ping my IP am not allowed (Norton Firewall and don't know how to get the setting to allow this, BT said this is normal a security measure)
Only thing i have running when playing the game is my Norton Anti-Virus & Firewall.
If you need any other info then please get back to me.

Thanks again for the response

wraith808

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,314
  • "In my dreams, I always do it right."
    • View Profile
    • wraith808
    • Donate to Member
When I say ping, I don't mean your ping, I mean the server's ping.  What I mean by that, is on the select server screen, there should be a column with ping (i think that's what it's called) that should have a number.  What does this say?  And does this happen no matter what BF2 server you're connected to?

For more information on what column I mean, look at this screenshot of the server selection screen:
http://img243.images...mg243/3112/pbwk0.jpg

Also, other questions to speed up troubleshooting:  Are you connected directly to your modem, or is there a router in the way?  Is it laggy all the time, or does it just happen at certain times?
« Last Edit: April 25, 2008, 02:26:15 PM by wraith808 »