Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 07, 2016, 08:11:57 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Maxthon or Avant?  (Read 24446 times)

Renegade

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 13,220
  • Tell me something you don't know...
    • View Profile
    • Renegade Minds
    • Donate to Member
Re: Maxthon or Avant?
« Reply #25 on: May 12, 2008, 10:26:06 PM »
Quote
don't have native Mouse Gestures

I never understood mouse gestures - first thing i disable in any software.

I tend to move my mouse when i think or do things -i guess its like doodling- and that triggers stuff at random.  :tellme:

Mouse Gestures are an absolute MUST for me!

Opera is good. The FF ones are ok. There's a plugin for IE that sucks. But what I've found the best are the ALToolbar Mouse Gestures. They rock! They are so good that I switched back to IE for them. (Well, that and a couple other things in it, especially the search features -- they're much faster.)
Slow Down Music - Where I commit thought crimes...

Freedom is the right to be wrong, not the right to do wrong. - John Diefenbaker

sri

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 677
    • View Profile
    • Sridhar Katakam
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Maxthon or Avant?
« Reply #26 on: May 12, 2008, 10:32:29 PM »
I use system-wide mouse gestures thanks to StrokeIt.
<a href="https://sridharkatakam.com">My blog</a>

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,091
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Maxthon or Avant?
« Reply #27 on: May 13, 2008, 05:26:15 AM »
I use system-wide mouse gestures thanks to StrokeIt.

- Is that "almost" or 'each&every program included' -system-wide?

StrokeIt hasn't been updated for 3 yrs. Does it have any problems?

sri

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 677
    • View Profile
    • Sridhar Katakam
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Maxthon or Avant?
« Reply #28 on: May 13, 2008, 05:34:10 AM »
well, which ever program I feel like using mouse gestures in. Mainly in Firefox though.

You can easily add the window class of the program in which your desired mouse gestures should work.
<a href="https://sridharkatakam.com">My blog</a>

Lashiec

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,374
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Maxthon or Avant?
« Reply #29 on: May 13, 2008, 06:43:18 AM »
I tend to move my mouse when i think or do things -i guess its like doodling- and that triggers stuff at random.  :tellme:

Em, you know, you have to press an action key and "draw" the gesture before triggering any action ;D

sri

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 677
    • View Profile
    • Sridhar Katakam
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Maxthon or Avant?
« Reply #30 on: May 13, 2008, 07:02:24 AM »
For a mouse gesture to work, the mouse button (usually the right one) has to be held (and released to end the gesture).
<a href="https://sridharkatakam.com">My blog</a>

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Maxthon or Avant?
« Reply #31 on: May 13, 2008, 12:54:48 PM »
StrokeIt hasn't been updated for 3 yrs. Does it have any problems?

None that I've ever noticed.

Another strokeit user here...  :)

wellofsouls

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Maxthon or Avant?
« Reply #32 on: May 16, 2008, 02:25:16 AM »
... From the link I provided : http://www.miniie.com/ you can see th...

... I suggest you take a look at the Donut family from Japan.


- this is confusing me:
You imply that you read Chinese but suggests we should look at something from Japan.  :-\

Besides, their site is not listing any version numbers to be read in Arabic (Latin) digits.

Edit:
And whatsmore: I have maybe 700 fonts, but miniIE has not chosen to use any of them...
Yes, I can read Chinese, and yes, I can read Japanese too, anything wrong with that?  :-\

well, they do (or did) list updates in Arabic (Latin) digits in their "update log" section on their site :
http://miniie.com/Mi...e_Log.htm#MiniIE.com

I mentioned both MiniIE from China and Donut from Japan since MiniIE is one that uses little memory, while Donut uses little disk space and is more portable.