Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 08, 2016, 04:10:34 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Domain names and how they are set up  (Read 3004 times)

clif_notes

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
  • Clif Notes Newsletter
    • View Profile
    • Clif Notes Newsletter
    • Donate to Member
Domain names and how they are set up
« on: October 20, 2005, 10:55:30 PM »
I saw another discussion of this ...

I have a domain http://clifnotes.net pointing to my host at http://clifnotes.mybesthost.com. I have cpanel access. I notice that as soon as you get to mybesthost, I lose the clifnotes.net name.

I this a setting I can fix somewhere? I got the domain through Yahoo Domains, not my host.

I'd like to see all of my site using the clifnotes.net address. Is it possible?

Devoted to promoting freeware and free information

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,418
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Domain names and how they are set up
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2005, 04:38:52 AM »
ok first thing is, it has nothing to do with the domain name provider or anything on that end.
all you ever do at the domain name side is point it to your site.

UNLESS you are using some very funky thing at yahoo where you are merely giving it a full url to redirect people to - in which case you want to go and edit that and what you want to do is change the nameserver of the domain to point to your hosting accounts name server.  depending on the control you have their you may need to get them to add the entry for the new domain name.

then in your cpanel for your hosting account you would add cliffnotes.net to your list of PARKED domains (if you want it to be like an alias for your entire site), or else as an Addon domain if you want it to appear like its own complete site but really live in a subdirectory of your existing server [note many hosting providers do not give normal clients the ability to create addon domains].

i'm sure there are other people more expert in this stuff than me who can help out - struggling with this stuff can be extremely confusing when it doesn't work right  :tellme:

clif_notes

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
  • Clif Notes Newsletter
    • View Profile
    • Clif Notes Newsletter
    • Donate to Member
Re: Domain names and how they are set up
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2005, 11:36:13 AM »
Thanks, I think the fog is clearing a bit.

I can now see my way to get to a flashlight at my webhost.

Devoted to promoting freeware and free information

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,418
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Domain names and how they are set up
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2005, 11:50:36 PM »
something bears saying in revising my comments:

my experience with web server and domain name stuff is that many of these things SHOULD be simple and straightforward - sometimes they work flawlessly as they should, but then sometimes they involve 3 days of frustration for no seemingly logical reason.