Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 07, 2016, 10:27:29 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: sync across machines?  (Read 2291 times)

ottenm

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
sync across machines?
« on: February 28, 2008, 02:42:09 PM »
I have FARR installed at home, work, and on the laptop.  Any suggestions or tips for getting them sychronized (just the aliases would be great, but hotkeys, settings, plugins, the works if possible).

Minimally, is there a way to get FARR to load an alias file from an arbitrary directory?  I have a directory with all my data in it that's already synchronized across the machines.  Reading from there, and I'd be all set.

Mike

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: sync across machines?
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2008, 04:45:01 PM »
I guess one solution would be to use FARR from a usb pen, since farr is portable, this wouldn't be a problem.

From what i know, there's no way to configure another folder for the aliases.
Why don't you install farr in the directory you have synchronized?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,408
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: sync across machines?
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2008, 06:20:54 PM »
FARR uses plain text files to save its settings -- if you add the aliases directory to the list of directories you sync across machines it should work fine.

ottenm

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: sync across machines?
« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2008, 07:29:38 PM »
Thanks for the suggestions.  I have so much creeping onto my USB, I just have to say "no"! ;)  And that's what I use to syn across machines, so I'll figure out which files I need and rig up some kind of sync just for them.

Thanks-