Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 09, 2016, 01:21:08 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: DONE: easily 'remote-start' Google-search from Google Sidebar  (Read 4008 times)

brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,136
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
DONE: easily 'remote-start' Google-search from Google Sidebar
« on: October 19, 2005, 03:47:14 AM »
Hi,

you maybe know that I love the new, great Google Sidebar: http://desktop.google.com/en/ (improved again). I just miss tiny feature - back when I use the old Desktop Search I had a Google search field in my taskbar which I could jump to with Ctrl+g. Not possible anymore  :(

Now it looks like this:
http://img291.imageshack.us/img291/8886/screenshot103714v60bw.png
DONE: easily 'remote-start' Google-search from Google Sidebar


So a tiny script for Ctrl+g would just need to place the cursor at -10 pixel from right side of screen and -10 pixel from bottom from screen and click the left mouse button.


;Google Sidebar search with Ctrl+g
;http://www.donationcoder.com/forum/index.php?topic=1252.0
^g::
[please fill with script, thank you]
;Google Sidebar search with Ctrl+g
« Last Edit: October 21, 2005, 05:52:24 AM by brotherS »

brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,136
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: easily 'remote-start' Google-search from Google Sidebar
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2005, 02:08:39 AM »
;Google Sidebar search with Ctrl+g
;http://www.donationcoder.com/forum/index.php?topic=1252.0
^g::
if WinExist("ahk_class _GD_Sidebar")
{
    WinActivate
    MouseClick, left, 156, 1011
    return
}
;Google Sidebar search with Ctrl+g

I think I made it :D

Improvements welcome!

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: easily 'remote-start Google-search from Sidebar
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2005, 04:55:53 AM »
I decided to give GDS a try but your script didn't work for me immeditaely. I have modified two things:

  • If the bar is in autohide mode it moves the mouse to the left of the screen and waits for it to open
  • I have put in different coordinates to suit my screen size (1280x1024)

Quote
;Google Sidebar search with Ctrl+g
;http://www.donationc...dex.php?topic=1252.0
^g::
if WinExist("ahk_class _GD_Sidebar")
{
    WinActivate
    MouseMove, 0,950   
    Sleep, 600
    MouseClick, left, 50, 950
    return
}
;Google Sidebar search with Ctrl+g

I wanted to find a better way of opening that hidden window but unfortunately the window doesn't have any title text to identify it by and all the commands I tried needed title text to unhide the window??? Anyone got a neater solution? 600ms is a bit long but it was the shortest period that seems to work consistently - the window opening speed depends on what else your system is doing at the time.

brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,136
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: easily 'remote-start Google-search from Sidebar
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2005, 05:51:57 AM »
Yeah, I don't use autohide, but I guess you'll always need to adjust scripts like these to fit your desktop and Sidebar width. For example, I use the Windows taskbar on the left side (very 1337 ;)) and the GDSidebar on the right side of the screen.