Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 08:50:38 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: slow boot on new hard drive problem  (Read 10188 times)

techidave

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 1,012
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: slow boot on new hard drive problem
« Reply #25 on: February 23, 2008, 02:49:57 PM »
I thought about that a little while ago.  or at least putting two hd's on the same cable marked as master and slave instead of cable select.

I will give it a whirl in the next day or two.

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: slow boot on new hard drive problem
« Reply #26 on: February 23, 2008, 02:52:40 PM »
What I'm really interested in is whether the no-jumper aka "Master or Single" works *with* a slave drive... in that case, I dunno wtf. there's a "Master w/ Slave Present" (pins 5&6) mode as well... perhaps it's for inducing a startup delay so a buggy slave drive will be detected? :)
- carpe noctem

techidave

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 1,012
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: slow boot on new hard drive problem
« Reply #27 on: February 25, 2008, 06:44:00 AM »
well fodder I have tested your question and here are the results.  it will work if the Master has no jumper or is on the storage position of 3-5 or 4-6 and the second drive is jumpered as slave.  if I jumper one as the master and the other as slave then it will also boot about the same time frame, 40 seconds.

I do intend to ask WD why one hard drive jumpered as master doesn't work.

Dave

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: slow boot on new hard drive problem
« Reply #28 on: February 25, 2008, 08:53:43 AM »
So, you're saying it does work if you don't put a jumper on (effectively having the drive in "Single or Master" setting), and you have a slave-jumpered drive on the same cable? And does that give the (short?) 40-sec time as well?
- carpe noctem

techidave

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 1,012
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: slow boot on new hard drive problem
« Reply #29 on: February 25, 2008, 10:37:23 AM »
yepper (yes)!   ;D

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: slow boot on new hard drive problem
« Reply #30 on: February 25, 2008, 10:46:15 AM »
Note that all WD drives require no jumper for Master/Slave for a single drive.

You only need jumpers if you have Master and Slave drives.

Here is the IDE install guide http://www.wdc.com/e...eide/2779-001001.pdf

and the SATA guide http://www.wdc.com/e...sata/2779-001006.pdf

techidave

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 1,012
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: slow boot on new hard drive problem
« Reply #31 on: February 25, 2008, 03:07:31 PM »
Apparently it is an XP issue??  :tease:

I am waitin on a reply back from WD support (hopefully).  But I did find this:

    How do I configure a WD EIDE drive using the Alternate Jumper Settings?
     Answer
     When NOT to use Alternate Jumper Settings:

    * If you are running Windows NT/2000/XP.

    * If the system can boot with just one jumper on the drive without locking up.

    * If the drive is installed on an IDE controller card that is providing support to access the full drive capacity.


When to use Alternate Jumper Settings
The most common scenario when a drive should be configured with the Alternate Jumper Settings is when the system hangs up or freezes upon boot up after auto-detecting all IDE devices. The reason for this error is because the drive capacity is larger than what the system can support.

What happens after the drive is configured with the Alternate Jumper Settings
The full capacity of the drive is not recognized. In order for the system to boot properly, the BIOS will recoginze smaller drive capacity. Depending on your BIOS, your drive will recongize one of the following sizes: 2.1GB, 8.4GB, 32GB.

Configuring a single (alone on the IDE cable) drive with the Alternate Jumper Settings
If you are connecting your drive as the only IDE device on the cable, place the jumper shunts on pins 3 & 4 and 5 & 6. Connect the drive to the black connector at the end of the cable.

Configuring a primary or dual Master drive with the Alternate Jumper Settings
If you are connecting your drive as the Master drive on the cable with another IDE device, place the jumper shunts on pins 1 & 2 and 5 & 6. Then configure the jumper on the other IDE device as Slave. Connect the drive to the black connector at the end of the cable and the other IDE device to the gray connector located at the middle of the cable.

Configuring a secondary or dual Slave drive with the Alternate Jumper Settings
If you are connecting your drive as the Slave drive on the cable with another IDE device, place the jumper shunts on pins 1 & 2 and 3 & 4. Then configure the jumper on the other IDE device as Master. Connect the drive to the gray connector at the middle of the cable and the other IDE device to the black connector located at the end of the cable.

Alternate Jumper Settings

techidave

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 1,012
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: slow boot on new hard drive problem
« Reply #32 on: February 27, 2008, 09:57:18 PM »
Well I received an answer this evening.  Didn't tell me anything I hadn't already figured out.

Dear Dave,

Thank you for contacting Western Digital Customer Service and Support.

If it is the only drive on the cable, then there shouldn't be any jumpers on the drive. If there are two drives, then one will need to be set to Master and the other to Slave. If that doesn't work, set both drives to Cable Select.

Answer Title: Jumper settings for WD 2.5 inch and 3.5 inch EIDE drives.
Answer Link: http://wdc.custhelp....p_created=1005005461

Answer Title: Potential problems when an EIDE hard drive is jumpered incorrectly in a PC.
Answer Link: http://wdc.custhelp....p_created=1088531904

Sincerely,
John E.
Western Digital Service and Support
http://support.wdc.com