Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 07, 2016, 06:17:08 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Set foreground to "above normal" rather than "high"  (Read 4464 times)

stinky1

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Set foreground to "above normal" rather than "high"
« on: February 06, 2008, 12:27:16 PM »
It would be nice if my foreground process was above normal rather than high, i.e., higher priority than all my others, except for the ones that are high, which should stay above the foreground.  I like to protect the foreground from taming, and set explorer to high.  That way the foreground gets lots of cpu attention, but if I want to task switch, explorer does not get delayed because it is above the foreground priority.

Makes sense to me ;-)

Is this an easy fix?

-------------------

I forgot to mention that Process Tamer is fantastic!!   :Thmbsup:
« Last Edit: February 07, 2008, 09:10:09 AM by stinky1 »

stinky1

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Set foreground to "above normal" rather than "high"
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2008, 12:51:35 PM »
hmmm, not even worthy of a "no way you loser" ?

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Set foreground to "above normal" rather than "high"
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2008, 01:29:51 PM »
hmmm, not even worthy of a "no way you loser" ?
Mouser probably missed this thread, poor busy soul - he'll probably pick it up soon :)
- carpe noctem

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,410
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Set foreground to "above normal" rather than "high"
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2008, 12:00:43 AM »
It's actually quite a good idea to change the foreground boost option to "above normal", as making it high might be pushing things too far -- adding to my todo list.

and thanks for alerting me not to miss this post f0dder.