Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 12:41:53 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: DONE: Autoset audio volume on boot  (Read 4049 times)

vevola

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 91
  • VeVoLa
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
DONE: Autoset audio volume on boot
« on: February 06, 2008, 12:38:53 AM »
Looking for something very simple and don't think I've seen it.

Is there anyway to automatically set the volume controls at a certain level so that when I start up my computer it has a certain volume level, no matter how it was before i shut it down? I'm thinking setting everything to 100% except the master volume set to 0%, although other people may have other preferences. I think you can imagine why this is useful.

Thanks for the help!
Vito
« Last Edit: February 06, 2008, 07:04:44 AM by jgpaiva »

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: [IDEA] Autoset audio volume on boot
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2008, 05:10:27 AM »
Would you mind if for now it only set the master volume to 0%?

I can do the rest, but not in next few days.

Just place this on the startup group on the start menu.


PS: I just noticed something important: You probably want this to hide the windows startup sound too, but that's impossible. The windows startup sound is "sounded" (that doesn't make much sense, does it?) before the startup programs are launched. Thus, when this program starts, it'll be too late.

PS2: i think i know how to solve it. The sound volume could be set at shutdown. For that, you'd need to have an app always running that would only serve this purpose.

jovejupiter

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: [IDEA] Autoset audio volume on boot
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2008, 06:43:28 AM »
Try Quickmix

http://www.ptpart.co.uk/quickmix/

This lets you save a standard set of volume control settings and reload them when you boot the computer.

You can also save different volume control setups for different situations and load them as required.

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: [IDEA] Autoset audio volume on boot
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2008, 07:03:05 AM »
Cool solution, jovejupiter! :D