Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 02, 2015, 07:52:28 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Google Translation Plugin  (Read 54190 times)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,977
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Google Translation Plugin
« on: January 31, 2008, 06:29:20 AM »
http://www.google.co...language_tools?hl=en

google can translate between a lot of languages, it would be nice if a plugin could be made so you can indicate what language you want to translate to and from..

like:

gt en fr hello there my friend!

would do google translate from english to french the phrase "hello there my friend!"



Screenshot from czechboy's plugin:
Screenshot - 2_2_2008 , 7_42_51 AM.png
« Last Edit: February 02, 2008, 07:43:43 AM by mouser »

czb

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 336
    • View Profile
    • My open-source online piano game
    • Donate to Member
Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2008, 04:44:14 AM »
DOWNLOAD:
As part of: CZB pack.
My open-source online piano game: https://github.com/musicope/game
« Last Edit: February 07, 2010, 02:28:51 PM by mouser »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,977
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2008, 07:36:10 AM »
hahahahaha it works!!!!  :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup:
wonderful.  :up: :up:

this is a really great one.

it might be nice to be able to skip having to put the "" around the text.

this translate plugin really deserves its own thread so im going to split it off into a separate thread if you don't mind.
« Last Edit: February 02, 2008, 07:38:32 AM by mouser »

nitrix-ud

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 483
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2008, 01:33:17 PM »
looks really nice but does not work on my computer...  :(
it works sometimes... very rarely... strange
gt.png

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2008, 09:07:32 PM »
cool looking script. i have a tool like this that pulls the translation from google. but just like nitrix-ud the plugin is not working, do i have to press enter or something? currently it doesn't translate anything..

ws-farr-google-trans-1.png

czb

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 336
    • View Profile
    • My open-source online piano game
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2008, 04:56:02 AM »
well.. I must say that there may be (and I think there are) many bugs... so I will take a look into the code once more and see what is wrong there... And if you know just a little of javascript you are welcome to help me with it ;)

EDIT: nitrix-ud: I am not seasoned coder but let as see. If you try to translate "friend" from english french on this site ( http://translate.google.com/translate_t ) do you see there the result? if so, could you please copy and paste here source code of the page with result? so that I can check the regex... ;)

EDIT: I have found that English->German does not work for me even on translate.google.com (it writes the same in english as result).. strange :o

EDIT: I post a new version. Now you can type something like
Quote
gt en fr hello there my friend!
After space is pressed it searches for the result. So check it and tell me if it works or not ;)
My open-source online piano game: https://github.com/musicope/game
« Last Edit: February 03, 2008, 05:29:32 AM by czechboy »

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #6 on: February 03, 2008, 05:44:18 AM »
Lanux: There's no portuguese equivalent for the english term "muito obrigado", it's the other way around :P

nitrix-ud

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 483
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #7 on: February 03, 2008, 09:01:56 AM »
@czechboy

here is the code source of the google page

note: i tried the latest version with no luck

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #8 on: February 03, 2008, 07:14:58 PM »
Lanux: There's no portuguese equivalent for the english term "muito obrigado", it's the other way around :P

ah, no wonder! my blunder.. :-[

czb

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 336
    • View Profile
    • My open-source online piano game
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #9 on: February 04, 2008, 10:42:16 AM »
New version:
now it displays Greek, russian etc corectly (hopefuly)
you can write "gt 4 6 school"
or "gt school"
it remembers last chosen languages
My open-source online piano game: https://github.com/musicope/game

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #10 on: February 04, 2008, 11:11:30 AM »
it remembers last chosen languages
Now THAT is a touch of class :P

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,708
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #11 on: February 04, 2008, 12:22:02 PM »
hummmm... doesn't work either here (like nitrix-ud)

czb

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 336
    • View Profile
    • My open-source online piano game
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #12 on: February 04, 2008, 03:04:15 PM »
Armando: and what exactly does it tell you? If you have my last version, does it say: error: Connection failed... or error: No translation found...? BTW: Are you able to debug javascript?

Try this version and copy paste what it tells you ;)
My open-source online piano game: https://github.com/musicope/game
« Last Edit: February 04, 2008, 03:09:18 PM by czechboy »

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,708
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #13 on: February 04, 2008, 04:54:44 PM »
Hi czechboy,
Thanks for your answer. Like I said, it did exactly the same think as Reply #3 by nitrix-ud : error: No translation found (whatever the words).

But now I  replaced the plugin with the new proposed version, and now nothing appears at all when I press "space" at the end of the expression.

Screenshot - 2008-02-04 , 17_57_01.jpg

But right before inserting the space this is what it shows :

Screenshot - 2008-02-04 , 17_57_13.jpg


(Sorry : I realized after attaching the screenshots that farr had transparency enabled... I'm just reattaching new images) Everything's ok now!  ;)

Thanks!
« Last Edit: February 04, 2008, 04:59:44 PM by Armando »

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,708
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #14 on: February 04, 2008, 05:02:48 PM »
BTW: Are you able to debug javascript?
I forgot to answer that one... unfortunately, no.  :-[

czb

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 336
    • View Profile
    • My open-source online piano game
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #15 on: February 05, 2008, 01:44:30 AM »
I see.. fine. that is unicode description of the sentence. Ok.. Probably there is problem in RTF file or probably I have writen the RTF unicode wrong. Is here anybody who knows RTF1 very well so that he/she can help me in writing unicode the right way? Anyway what I would suggest is to make new RTF files in a program you use most (MS OFFICE etc), copy and paste the text from both RTF files in plugin folder and save and override the former RTF files. Probably it will help since those files are created in StarOffice on Czech locals... But it is only guess...
But I am glad to see that it went fine through all the way till the unicode ;)

one more thing to mouser: How do you display RTF in FARR? Is it dependant on the system or not? I mean, if it can happen that people have different version of RTF and display text differently or not...
My open-source online piano game: https://github.com/musicope/game

czb

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 336
    • View Profile
    • My open-source online piano game
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #16 on: February 05, 2008, 05:48:05 AM »
OK. So I have modified RTF files and also all RTF printing so it works on my PC just fine... So lets say this is something like final version :-[ Hopefully everything works just fine. So please let me know if it does not work and what exactly does not work ;)
Quote
Schránka02.jpg
My open-source online piano game: https://github.com/musicope/game

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,977
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #17 on: February 05, 2008, 08:06:17 AM »
works wonderfully here!

one minor suggestion: the search on space is really nice. i think you should add also to search on end of sentence punctuation (period, exclamation point, questionmark, quotationmark) [.!?"]

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,708
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #18 on: February 05, 2008, 10:44:50 PM »
It still doesn't work for me. Am I having unusual unicode problems of some sort??? I'm starting to wonder what's wrong with my farr installation (I'm also having perpetual and unresolved problems with the farr alt tab plugin which I have permanently disabled).

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #19 on: February 05, 2008, 10:54:55 PM »
Armando, try going to the Plugins panel in the Options and look into "Advanced Settings". maybe there will be a clue.

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,708
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #20 on: February 05, 2008, 11:04:39 PM »
What's the role of fscript.dll? There seems to be a problem with "it" or something in relation to it.

The "configure advanced plugin options"  of the google translate plugin pops up that window :

Screenshot - 2008-02-05 , 23_58_34.jpg

And if I click OK, this is what happens :

Screenshot - 2008-02-05 , 23_56_13.jpg

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #21 on: February 05, 2008, 11:16:14 PM »
i think then there must be something wrong with fscript.dll which is the underlying engine for the JS-based plugins such as Farr-AltTab, Delicious & etc. maybe the respective authors can shed more light?

ecaradec

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 409
    • View Profile
    • Blog & Projects
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #22 on: February 06, 2008, 07:04:02 AM »
Quote
What's the role of fscript.dll? There seems to be a problem with "it" or something in relation to it.
Hum, the dialog shouldn't show at all since there is no options to configure. I will remove that as soon as possible.
Blog & Projects : Blog | Qatapult | SwiffOut | FScript

czb

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 336
    • View Profile
    • My open-source online piano game
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #23 on: February 06, 2008, 09:16:18 AM »
ecaradec: I would like to suggest something. Is it possible to make javascript SDK plugin such way that all javascript plugins would be saved in folder like Fscript/jsplugins/myplugin and there would be only one fscript.dll for all javascript plugins. So that you would be able to update fscript yourself without us. Now I have to update all fscript.dll for my plugins manualy...
My open-source online piano game: https://github.com/musicope/game

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #24 on: February 06, 2008, 12:02:32 PM »
ecaradec: I would like to suggest something. Is it possible to make javascript SDK plugin such way that all javascript plugins would be saved in folder like Fscript/jsplugins/myplugin and there would be only one fscript.dll for all javascript plugins. So that you would be able to update fscript yourself without us. Now I have to update all fscript.dll for my plugins manualy...

good idea! :up: i had been thinking along the same way since that means all the JS plugins would be streamlined making it easier pinpoint if any error occurs.