Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 03, 2015, 04:30:36 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Google Translation Plugin  (Read 54217 times)

czb

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 336
    • View Profile
    • My open-source online piano game
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #25 on: February 08, 2008, 10:13:09 AM »
If someone of you would like to translate to chinese etc, then just open results.rtf and change font of "$$1" to Arial Unicode MS or Code2000.
My open-source online piano game: https://github.com/musicope/game

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,708
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #26 on: February 08, 2008, 11:08:51 PM »
Thanks for the tip czechboy.
Any news of a new version of fscript.dll ? I'm still having issues with it... GT still not showing anything in my case. I can't imagine I'm the only one... Am I ? :(

ecaradec

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 409
    • View Profile
    • Blog & Projects
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #27 on: February 09, 2008, 04:55:36 AM »
ecaradec: I would like to suggest something. Is it possible to make javascript SDK plugin such way that all javascript plugins would be saved in folder like Fscript/jsplugins/myplugin and there would be only one fscript.dll for all javascript plugins. So that you would be able to update fscript yourself without us. Now I have to update all fscript.dll for my plugins manualy...
This was my first idea. I'm not sure how I could do it, because FARR expect a plugin to export only one alias or one regex. I could make it work for aliases by filtering queries, but I'm not sure how I could do that for regexes because I would need to handle them myself and it may be not 100% compatible with FARR regexes.
Blog & Projects : Blog | Qatapult | SwiffOut | FScript

ecaradec

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 409
    • View Profile
    • Blog & Projects
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #28 on: February 09, 2008, 03:59:48 PM »
I uploaded a new SDK with the correction for option dialog. A conflict between several instances of fscript.dll caused the problem. Download the last SDK from http://www.donationc...ex.php?topic=11804.0 . The options should work now. It is now possible to open the dialog on demand by calling FARR.showOptions(). I did it in the last delicious plugin, the dialog open after the installation of the plugins if the options are not configured.

I just realized how big the problem could be if there was a lot of plugins based on the fscript.dll. A bug in the SDK would force all developers of plugins based on the buggy SDK to upload a correction. I could create a version that does not use the regexes of FARR and let the plugins developers use the javascript regexes to match requests instead. Would that be acceptable ? This would help in creating a dll that is used for all plugins.


Blog & Projects : Blog | Qatapult | SwiffOut | FScript

czb

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 336
    • View Profile
    • My open-source online piano game
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #29 on: February 10, 2008, 03:15:50 AM »
Well, why not? Is there any reason why not to use javascript regex? So I am for ;)
My open-source online piano game: https://github.com/musicope/game

ecaradec

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 409
    • View Profile
    • Blog & Projects
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #30 on: February 10, 2008, 04:29:18 AM »
Well, why not? Is there any reason why not to use javascript regex? So I am for ;)
It may be slightly incompatible with FARR regexes, there would be no call to onRegexSearchMatch. It wouldn't be possible to change the regexes from the FARR dialogs.
It's ok for me, may be someone has an objection :)
Blog & Projects : Blog | Qatapult | SwiffOut | FScript

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,708
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #31 on: February 10, 2008, 11:56:31 PM »
@czechboy

here is the code source of the google page

note: i tried the latest version with no luck

nitrix-ud : were you able to have the google translate plugin working?

nitrix-ud

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 483
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #32 on: February 11, 2008, 02:15:15 AM »
@armando

Quote
nitrix-ud : were you able to have the google translate plugin working?

i just tried now and it seems to work as expected !

PS: je me suis un temps demandé si cela avait a voir avec le fait que nous soyons francais ! (je crois que tu l'es ;))
mais mon windows xp est un windows anglais...

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,708
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #33 on: February 11, 2008, 02:21:35 AM »
Thanks nitrix-ud -- ahah, yes I do speak French, and... it still doesn't work for me. My Windows is in English too, so that's ruled out. I really wonder what the problem is on my side...

Nod5

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 812
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #34 on: February 17, 2008, 04:48:18 PM »
This translation plugin looks great! It is quicke to use compared to having FARR opening a page in the browser. Has anyone thought about writing a similar plugin that replaces/supplements the default "define" action in FARR? Example: typing "df football" could trigger a plugin that shows the english definition for the english word football (="the greatest sport ever") in the FARR results field, similarly to how the translation plugin works. The definitions could be pulled from definr.com or from one of the site used in the current define action in FARR.

odyon

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #35 on: February 20, 2008, 07:07:43 AM »
i really like the idea behind this plugin (i'm new in the world of FARR), but i can't get it working properly.
I just get the screen (below), and nothing more happens :(
any suggestions (i allready gave FARR full rights to the internet in my firewall, but that doesn't seems to be it)

GT1.jpg



edit by jgpaiva: fixed attachment tag
« Last Edit: February 20, 2008, 07:28:18 AM by jgpaiva »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,007
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #36 on: February 20, 2008, 07:21:21 AM »
try typing a period at the end to tell it to GO.

odyon

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #37 on: February 20, 2008, 07:44:51 AM »
cheers mouser, i thought it would be something simple, and there you go! great tool this is btw (FARR in general), starting to like this more and more  :Thmbsup:

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,007
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #38 on: February 20, 2008, 08:26:15 AM »
the real thanks go to ecaradec and czechboy for making this plugin possible  :up: :up:

czb

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 336
    • View Profile
    • My open-source online piano game
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #39 on: February 22, 2008, 11:05:47 AM »
New version, now without any results.rtf (since it did not work properly)
My open-source online piano game: https://github.com/musicope/game

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,708
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #40 on: February 22, 2008, 11:42:29 AM »
Thank you so much czechboy! Now everything is working!  :-*

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,708
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #41 on: February 28, 2008, 08:56:31 PM »
Actually, I realize that others get a nice screen with all the codes for languages (see reply #35) : I don't. Is that normal?  :-[

czb

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 336
    • View Profile
    • My open-source online piano game
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #42 on: February 29, 2008, 02:47:35 AM »
Well... again it is loaded from a file. Where is your FARR installed? Since it seams like that you can not open any file?? :tellme: Ok I can avoid any loading of files but then it can get a little bit messy..
My open-source online piano game: https://github.com/musicope/game

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,708
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #43 on: February 29, 2008, 09:49:55 AM »
Hi czechboy. Thanks.
farr is installed very normally in the program files folder. Here's the path : C:\Program Files\FindAndRunRobot\Plugins\Google_Translate\

czb

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 336
    • View Profile
    • My open-source online piano game
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #44 on: May 08, 2008, 11:40:19 AM »
New version. Google translate now supports 24 languages!
My open-source online piano game: https://github.com/musicope/game

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,708
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #45 on: May 08, 2008, 12:01:22 PM »
BTW, I should note here that my previous problems with Google Translate were fixed with the reinstallation of Windows Script:
http://www.microsoft...1&displaylang=en
thanks to czechboy's suggestion here.

Again : thanks!!!

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,708
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #46 on: May 15, 2008, 10:46:36 PM »
Hi czechboy,

I'm having some trouble updating to the new version through the DC updater. Here's what I wrote there... : "DcUpdater always says that my "Google translate" installed version is 1.01.02 and that version on the web is 1.01.04, even after several updates.
Any ideas?"

Also, after the update, the language numbers don't seem to match the actual languages aymore. e.g. : according to the list, French should now be 10, but I found that it's rather 5 and English is 4... So it seems that only the language "presentation page" has been updated in the process, but not the actual real number-language association.

(Hopefully, what I wrote is understandable...  :))

czb

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 336
    • View Profile
    • My open-source online piano game
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #47 on: May 16, 2008, 02:36:48 AM »
I have checked the version on the web and it is all right. To me it seams as if DC updater tries to update your files but can not. Try to delete all files in the directory  manualy but dcupdate file and see if update goes smoothly.

Mouser: Is there any check in DC updater which would check if the instalation was succesful => I all files were overwriten corectly?
My open-source online piano game: https://github.com/musicope/game

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,007
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #48 on: May 16, 2008, 02:45:46 AM »
I've checked the google translate plugin updating and like czb im not seeing any trouble.  its telling me that verstion 1.01.04 is installed and is on web.

I suspect that what might be happening is that you have google translate manually placed in a slightly different subdirectory than you should.

As czb says go look in your FARR plugin directory -- see if you dont have 2 dif subdirectories for it (maybe one double nested in like Plugins\Google_Translate\Google_Translate or something like that.. if so , delete it.

I suspect the problem is that the update from the web is installing, but you have an old copy in a dif location which is not being replaced.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,007
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Google Translation Plugin
« Reply #49 on: May 16, 2008, 02:47:57 AM »
It would probably be a good idea for adding a command in FARR to install a plugin, so as to avoid users having to manually unpack files in the FARR plugin directory themself.