Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site November 23, 2014, 01:57:15 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2011! Download 30+ custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Audio format (batch) convert/transcode  (Read 8587 times)
f0dder
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 8,774



[Well, THAT escalated quickly!]

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: January 30, 2008, 06:41:16 AM »

I finally got myself a new MP3 player (my Creative MuVo^2 4gig died several years ago), a Sandisk Sansa E280 player with 8gig of flash memory. Much <3, especially since it simply pops up as a disk drive and doesn't require stupid drivers.

I have all my own CDs ripped to one .cue file and .wav file per album (those .wav's are going to be .flac some day, but haven't gotten around to that yet embarassed ), which is just fine for foobar and other decent software players - but obviously my MP3 player wants mp3 files smiley

I've tried using foobar's convert tool, which does work - but it dumps all files in one folder, instead of splitting per album.

So, does anybody know a decent (preferably free) transcoder/converter that supports cue files?
Logged

- carpe noctem
f0dder
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 8,774



[Well, THAT escalated quickly!]

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2008, 07:17:09 AM »

Note: I've already tried MediaCoder, but it isn't able to YEAR and ALBUM from .cue sheets, it's config system suuuuucks, etc.

I have a feeling that foobar can probably do what I want, but that it's just me that doesn't know how to fix it (it's config system suuuuucks, etc.)
Logged

- carpe noctem
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,132



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2008, 07:21:27 AM »

what about dBPowerAmp or BeSweet?
Logged

PhilB66
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,510


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2008, 07:39:58 AM »

GermaniX Transcoder
Logged
f0dder
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 8,774



[Well, THAT escalated quickly!]

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2008, 07:41:27 AM »

what about dBPowerAmp or BeSweet?
Hm, didn't even think about dbPoweramp, I do own a license but I only use it for ripping embarassed. If it can handle cue/wav input, I should take a look at it, though. But iirc it uses fraunhofer and not LAME for MP3 codec, ho humm.

I think I got foobar2000 to do what I want, though - I set single tracks formatting specifier to this: [%album artist%]\[%album artist% - ][{%date%}] %album%\[%tracknumber%] - [%title%] ... I would prefer straight brackets around %date%, but I dunno how to escape them  embarassed
Logged

- carpe noctem
f0dder
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 8,774



[Well, THAT escalated quickly!]

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2008, 07:44:08 AM »

Does that one support cue sheets? Doesn't seem like it from the website, which is half English and half German smiley
Logged

- carpe noctem
PhilB66
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,510


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: January 30, 2008, 08:25:20 AM »

You are right, the transcoder has a Cue-Cutter but I don't think it does what you want.
Logged
Dirhael
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 370


View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: January 30, 2008, 08:40:13 AM »

what about dBPowerAmp or BeSweet?
Hm, didn't even think about dbPoweramp, I do own a license but I only use it for ripping embarassed. If it can handle cue/wav input, I should take a look at it, though. But iirc it uses fraunhofer and not LAME for MP3 codec, ho humm.

I think I got foobar2000 to do what I want, though - I set single tracks formatting specifier to this: [%album artist%]\[%album artist% - ][{%date%}] %album%\[%tracknumber%] - [%title%] ... I would prefer straight brackets around %date%, but I dunno how to escape them  embarassed

You can escape it like this smiley
[copy or print]
['['%date%']']
Logged

Registered nurse by day, hobby programmer by night.
Lashiec
Member
**
Posts: 2,374


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: January 30, 2008, 08:44:36 AM »

Straight brackets? These ones: [] ? You enclose them in quotes '[' ']', like this. Some more information. Em, bummer, Dirhael beat me to it Grin

BTW, the Reference version of dBpoweramp supports commandline encoders smiley

OMG, still using WAV? Hundreds of megabytes wasted, no metadata...
« Last Edit: January 30, 2008, 12:58:58 PM by Lashiec » Logged
f0dder
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 8,774



[Well, THAT escalated quickly!]

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: January 30, 2008, 08:47:26 AM »

Ah, escaping them in singlequotes. I tried \, old C habits die hard Wink. And thanks for the link, Lashiec, couldn't find it with "I'm in a hurry" google and on-site searches, and the context-sensitive help in foobar doesn't work.

Commandline encoders would do the trick fine, as long as dbPoweramp supports cue/wav combo. I'll look into that later, since I do own the reference version. Silly me for not checking embarassed

Yes, still using wav. Not hundreds of gigabytes wasted though, FLAC doesn't compress that well. As for metadata, it's stored in the .cue files.
Logged

- carpe noctem
Lashiec
Member
**
Posts: 2,374


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: January 30, 2008, 01:04:08 PM »

Who said gigabytes? tongue

Yeah, Peter should include a help file like God intended, or at least provide some more documents on advanced configuration with the package. I think the quotes trick was mentioned somewhere with foobar 0.8.3, though.
Logged
TheQwerty
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 84

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: January 30, 2008, 03:16:42 PM »

Yeah, Peter should include a help file like God intended, or at least provide some more documents on advanced configuration with the package. I think the quotes trick was mentioned somewhere with foobar 0.8.3, though.
You just have to know where to look:
http://wiki.hydrogenaudio...ndex.php?title=Foobar2000
or more specifically:
http://wiki.hydrogenaudio...:Titleformat_Introduction

That said, I agree there really needs to be some better documentation within the program (in the very least a link to the HA wiki from the Help menu).


f0dder, the good news is now that you've set up the converter to do MP3 it's relatively simple for you to go to FLAC and join modern civilization in using lossless compression.  tongue
Logged
f0dder
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 8,774



[Well, THAT escalated quickly!]

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: January 31, 2008, 04:29:57 AM »

TheQwerty: I keep my "archives" in .wav format (planned to go .flac all the time, just didn't get to it yet - more focused on getting my CDs ripped, as I can always batch compress later). As I've mentioned before, each CD I rip gets a single .wav file and a .cue sheet with all the necessary meta information.

My use for MP3s, and one-file-per-track, is specifically for my new MP3 player (did you read the first post in this thread? tongue), which obviously doesn't support flac or cue sheets. Thanks for the Titleformat_Introduction link - it had a link at the bottom that has the really useful information.
Logged

- carpe noctem
TheQwerty
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 84

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: January 31, 2008, 05:49:02 AM »

TheQwerty: I keep my "archives" in .wav format (planned to go .flac all the time, just didn't get to it yet - more focused on getting my CDs ripped, as I can always batch compress later). As I've mentioned before, each CD I rip gets a single .wav file and a .cue sheet with all the necessary meta information.

My use for MP3s, and one-file-per-track, is specifically for my new MP3 player (did you read the first post in this thread? tongue), which obviously doesn't support flac or cue sheets. Thanks for the Titleformat_Introduction link - it had a link at the bottom that has the really useful information.
Of course I read it, and after re-reading it, it doesn't change what I said.  (But it does make me wonder if you read my post.  tongue )

Now that you have set up and (presumably) used Foobar2000 to create the MP3 files for your DAP, it is relatively easy to go back into Foobar2000 and do the WAV to FLAC conversion for storage.
Logged
f0dder
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 8,774



[Well, THAT escalated quickly!]

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: January 31, 2008, 06:08:21 AM »

Yes, except that I will drag the .wav files and not the .cue files into foobar (I want single-file-per-album mode), and afterwards I'll have to fix all the .cue sheets to reference .flac instead of .wav files.

I've been pondering writing a tool of my own to handle this kind of stuff for quite some time.
Logged

- carpe noctem
TheQwerty
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 84

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: January 31, 2008, 07:02:54 AM »

Yes, except that I will drag the .wav files and not the .cue files into foobar (I want single-file-per-album mode), and afterwards I'll have to fix all the .cue sheets to reference .flac instead of .wav files.
Foobar2000 is not limited to converting to track files, it can produce image files.

Though I'm not sure if it is capable of creating an external cuesheet; it might force you to embed the cue in the FLAC's metadata (which I prefer for the few image files I have, so I never tried to change it).
* TheQwerty shrugs.
To each their own.
Logged
f0dder
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 8,774



[Well, THAT escalated quickly!]

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: January 31, 2008, 07:30:03 AM »

I'll just use whatever program for compressing the single-file .wav to a single-file .flac, no magic involved. Then edit the .cue sheet to say ".flac" instead of ".wav". This does work in foobar already.
Logged

- carpe noctem
vegas
Charter Member
***
Posts: 352


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: February 01, 2008, 08:33:28 AM »

Another reason to switch to FLAC or Wavpack, is for integrity checking of the file, which is built in and it will report errors within, or you can use an external utility to scan a drive (which could always go bad) for corrupted sound files.  I believe both formats have such a utility available for mass checking.
Logged
f0dder
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 8,774



[Well, THAT escalated quickly!]

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #18 on: February 01, 2008, 09:50:02 AM »

Another reason to switch to FLAC or Wavpack, is for integrity checking of the file, which is built in and it will report errors within, or you can use an external utility to scan a drive (which could always go bad) for corrupted sound files.  I believe both formats have such a utility available for mass checking.
Good point Thmbsup
Logged

- carpe noctem
Lashiec
Member
**
Posts: 2,374


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #19 on: February 01, 2008, 01:07:05 PM »

foobar also has a plugin to verify sound files, so you can use it for now with WAV. Don't expect a very thorough analyzer, Peter says it reports only decoding errors that could stop the playback process. Well, and with MP3 it also shows inaccuracies in reported lengths and such (side effects of buggy encoders and an overly abused format).
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.048s | Server load: 0.01 ]