ATTENTION: You are viewing a page formatted for mobile devices; to view the full web page, click HERE.

Main Area and Open Discussion > General Software Discussion

windows security - what's really necessary?

(1/10) > >>

Target:
there is an ongoing thread at https://www.donationcoder.com/forum/index.php?topic=6059.0 about the best free windows firewall

that thread got me thinking about what it is that is really necessary to make the virtual world a safe place to visit.

a lot of people have espoused various firewalls, while others have been given a big thumbs down - some even eschew any sort of software firewalling

on top of a firewall most use a range of AV and antimalware utilities. 

Some users install and maintain a sometimes bewildering array of these tools and swear by the results

I'm no expert, but I can't help but wonder whether this in an effective strategy - OK, let's assume it's 'effective', but at what cost?.  does the extra overhead justify the results

I guess the question I'm actually asking here is what is it we really need, ie

* firewalls - which features or functionality should we consider mandatory, which are nice to have, and which ones are useless fluff/bloat.
* AV - as above
* Anti-Malware - I've separated this as I consider things like ad-aware etc perform a different function to 'normal' AV applications
and just how can we, as end users, determine the effectiveness of any or all of these tools, individually or in concert, in meeting our particular needs?

Target

J-Mac:
I used to be almost religious about PC online security. Probably to the point of being very annoying, such a proselytizer I was.  I always had what I researched to be the best AV, AS, and FW available installed and setup carefully.  Built a regular cocoon around my PC, I thought!  But my stance on this has definitely weakened considerably over the past year, year and a half.  And I'm still not certain if I am OK with this, or if I am just being overly sloppy about it.