Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 20, 2014, 01:07:21 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Read the Practical Guide to DonationCoder.com Forum Search Features
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Inadvertent Googling in Spanish  (Read 8243 times)
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,182



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: January 13, 2008, 08:02:46 PM »

Hi everyone.

I just noticed  that my Google searches take me to Google Espa├▒a.
Also, if I explicitly enter http://www.google.com/ that's converted to http://www.google.es/.

The same thing happens with both Firefox and IE, other search engines don't do this.

Anyone know why this happens?

TIA

Logged

Chris
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2008, 08:16:25 PM »

Are you in spain? smiley

I suppose not, but if you were, that'd be normal.

To get back to the english version, go to "preferences" ("Preferencias"), on the main page, then select "english" in the " Idioma de la interfaz" pulldown menu and press "guardar preferencias" at the top-right. Wink
Logged

cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,182



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2008, 08:39:20 PM »

Are you in spain? smiley

I suppose not, but if you were, that'd be normal.

To get back to the english version, go to "preferences" ("Preferencias"), on the main page, then select "english" in the " Idioma de la interfaz" pulldown menu and press "guardar preferencias" at the top-right. Wink

Thanks for the quick reply, and I can do all that, including setting ingl├ęs and saving.
However, the next call to Google takes me back to http://www.google.es/
So, what your suggestion does is to let me see an English interface on http://www.google.es/

If I close and reopen, say Firefox, I'm back to Spanish so, saved or not, something doesn't stick.

This makes no real difference to me as I'm as inept in Spanish as I am in English but I'm puzzled about why/how this happened. smiley
 
I'll force it to Google.ca, that works.


Logged

Chris
parpfish
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 36

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2008, 08:46:32 PM »

Does this work?

http://www.google.com/ncr

P.
Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2008, 08:50:48 PM »

Do you have a google account, chris? Maybe the "country" option unter "my account" / "Edit personal information" is wrong.
Logged

cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,182



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2008, 08:51:37 PM »

Does this work?

http://www.google.com/ncr

P.

Gets me here, but with English labels.   huh


* G00.png (16.81 KB, 300x116 - viewed 300 times.)
Logged

Chris
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,182



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: January 13, 2008, 08:54:28 PM »

Do you have a google account, chris? Maybe the "country" option unter "my account" / "Edit personal information" is wrong.

Nope, I don't have a Google account.
Logged

Chris
parpfish
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 36

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: January 13, 2008, 09:00:32 PM »

There's always Scroogle, that's my default with K-Ninja (browser)

http://www.scroogle.org/cgi-bin/scraper.htm

Works for me:

no cookies
no search-term records
access log deleted within 48 hours

Have a feeling there's a Scroogle search plugin for Firefox too.

That's all I can think of (as remotely helpful) --- good luck.

P.
Logged
tranglos
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,079



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: January 13, 2008, 09:59:50 PM »

Nope, I don't have a Google account.

Make sure FireFox accepts Google's cookie. Delete all cookies from Google, then pick the English-language site. This should reset Google's memory of your browser, unless you've tried it already.

If you were using IE, I'd advise you to scan for malware, since a trojan could be proxying your browser through a site in .es. Who knows, maybe FF can be hacked that way too?

Since Google thinks your requests are coming from Spain, try www.whatsmyip.org and see if the IP address looks fishy.
Logged

cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,182



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: January 14, 2008, 07:48:22 AM »

Thanks to you all for the helpful replies.
I'm poking around trying to sort out what's happening and all of your suggestions are useful.

Appreciated...

Logged

Chris
Deozaan
Charter Member
***
Posts: 6,415



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: January 14, 2008, 11:46:24 AM »

I'm not sure about any solutions to your problem, but I've noticed Google always forgets my preference to have more than 10 results per page, even though it remembers my Safe Search preference.

And I DO have a Google account. What's the deal with that?
Logged

jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: January 14, 2008, 11:54:48 AM »

Deozaan: if you use opera or firefox, you can edit the search link and add it "&num=100", to have 100 results for the query. Notice that it'll only work when you use the search box or the address box.
Logged

Lashiec
Member
**
Posts: 2,374


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: January 14, 2008, 11:56:28 AM »

The plan for world dominance is going as expected. With the inadvertent help of those dumbasses fine guys at Google, the Spanish Empire will rise again!!

cranioscopical, maybe you're using a proxy and you forgot to set things back to normal? (I hope you're not being proxyed by the action of a trojan, our methods are not that rude tongue)
Logged
Deozaan
Charter Member
***
Posts: 6,415



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: January 14, 2008, 12:15:22 PM »

Deozaan: if you use opera or firefox, you can edit the search link and add it "&num=100", to have 100 results for the query. Notice that it'll only work when you use the search box or the address box.

How do you do this from the Firefox Quick Search bar thingy?

Oh, and I think I exaggerated a little. It doesn't always forget, but it seems to forget often enough that I get a little bothered by it.
Logged

jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: January 14, 2008, 12:44:21 PM »

I'm an opera user, but i think this would solve it.
Logged

tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,603



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: January 14, 2008, 01:09:10 PM »

or maybe make a new one undecided
http://developer.mozilla....earch_plugins_for_Firefox
Logged

Tom
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,182



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: January 14, 2008, 02:42:43 PM »

The plan for world dominance is going as expected. With the inadvertent help of those dumbasses fine guys at Google, the Spanish Empire will rise again!!
¡Hola!
Viva Espa├▒a

cranioscopical, maybe you're using a proxy and you forgot to set things back to normal? (I hope you're not being proxyed by the action of a trojan, our methods are not that rude tongue)

The same thing happens with both Firefox and IE, other search engines don't do this.
If I enter google.com into the address bar, or if I enter anything into the search box, off I go to google.es
If I enter an explicit google address into the address bar then I go to, e.g. google.ca

I've killed off any and all google cookies then 'reset' to english.
Nothing I've run here so far has found a trojan at work (although my grumbling has left me hoarse).

Logged

Chris
jazper
Coding Snacks Author
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 92



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: January 14, 2008, 03:11:35 PM »

Found this link in google's help center...you may have to contact them

"How do I stop Google.com from redirecting to another Google domain?"
http://www.google.com/sup.../bin/answer.py?answer=873



Edit: Added title of link
Logged
Edvard
Coding Snacks Author
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 2,580



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #18 on: January 14, 2008, 03:21:46 PM »

Quote
The plan for world dominance is going as expected. With the inadvertent help of those dumbasses fine guys at Google, the Spanish Empire will rise again!!

Just goes to show...
NO-ONE EXPECTS THE SPANISH INQUISITION!!!

[sorry, that was obligatory, i know... but it had to be done...]
Logged

All children left unattended will be given a mocha and a puppy.
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,182



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #19 on: January 14, 2008, 03:42:47 PM »

Found this link in google's help center...you may have to contact them

"How do I stop Google.com from redirecting to another Google domain?"
http://www.google.com/sup.../bin/answer.py?answer=873

Thanks!
Logged

Chris
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,182



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #20 on: January 14, 2008, 03:47:02 PM »

NO-ONE EXPECTS THE SPANISH INQUISITION!!!

I see you've been coding in Python again!

Logged

Chris
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,182



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #21 on: January 15, 2008, 04:34:45 PM »

Found this link in google's help center...you may have to contact them

"How do I stop Google.com from redirecting to another Google domain?"
http://www.google.com/sup.../bin/answer.py?answer=873

And that was the answer, thank you.  Google replied that a recent reconfiguration at their end probably caused this. 

Google replied surprisingly quickly.  It might take a while for them to implement a fix but it's nice to have had a response.
Logged

Chris
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.047s | Server load: 0.03 ]