topbanner_forum

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Friday April 19, 2024, 11:26 pm
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: PHP5 driving me insane! removeChild() bug?  (Read 5072 times)

Ampa

• Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • I am cute ;)
    • View Profile
    • MonkeyDash - 2 Player strategy boardgame
    • Donate to Member
PHP5 driving me insane! removeChild() bug?
« on: January 14, 2008, 08:29 PM »
1st: I am NOT a PHP expert. I struggle. I read a lot of help and tutorials. I understand some of them!

2nd: I found a PHP driven menu system called EasyNav - that was the easy bit.. things go downhill from this point!

I like the way that PHP is used to rewrite the site navigation, specifically removing nested menu items, and applying ID and CLASS tags to the menu to facilitate easy styling.

BUT the original script is written for PHP4 and my host uses PHP5. No problem, I thought, I'll rewrite the bits of the script that I need, and learn a lot about PHP along the way.

Generally I have got things working, but there is a bug in the code somewhere...

In one section I loop through all the UL elements in the DOM, checking to see whether their parent nodes are LI elements. If they are then the UL is a nested list, and so, unless it is the one containing the current page, should be removed from the menu.

Code: PHP [Select]
  1. $HTMLDOM = new DOMDocument();                           //Create a new DOMDocument.
  2. $HTMLDOM->loadHTML($NavHTML);                           //Convert $NavHTML to a tree of DOM objects.
  3. $ULs = $HTMLDOM->getElementsByTagname("ul");            //Get a NodeList of the <ul> elements in the document.
  4. foreach($ULs as $CurrentUL)                                     //For each <ul>...