Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site April 19, 2014, 07:38:53 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Read the full one-year retrospective report on DonationCoder.com.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Still having problems ... ignoring rules with full shutdown/reload of PT  (Read 7035 times)
Carol Haynes
Waffles for England (patent pending)
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 7,919



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: October 10, 2005, 08:07:50 AM »

Still having problems with the config screen not updating the currently processed rules.

If I load a program and PT reduces its priority when I open the config window - select Rule>Ignore and hit OK shouldn't the process be restored to its Normal level.

Even worse - if I disable PT from the tray icon the process is retored to normal level, but as soon as PT is re-enabled it is reduced again - ignoring the rule that was set up.

Is it just me with this prob?
« Last Edit: October 10, 2005, 01:18:23 PM by CarolHaynes » Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2005, 09:20:39 AM »

i have a guess at what might be happening.. i'm going to make a test version of PT if you don't mind helping me test.
Logged
Carol Haynes
Waffles for England (patent pending)
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 7,919



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2005, 11:51:23 AM »

I can change the habit of a life time and be helpful tongue
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2005, 12:02:58 PM »

first question, to recap:
when you launch the configuration screen from within Process Tamer tray tool,
it launches and then quickly says that the tray tool is NOT RUNNING in the configuration dialog, is that right?

Once that happens it means the tray will never know that the configuration tool has changed any settings and so any changes will be ignored.

it's also the easiest thing for me to try to discover the cause of because i can have the config tool print out a list of what apps it does see running, and we can take it from there.
Logged
Carol Haynes
Waffles for England (patent pending)
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 7,919



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2005, 12:54:53 PM »

No it says it is running
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2005, 01:11:59 PM »

oh.  ok says it is running...  that's different issue then.

ok let's try to isolate the problem.

1) so if you launch the config tool from the tray tool, it does show as running in the config dialog.
that's good, at least the apps are talking.

2) now when you added your rule, how exactly did you add it?
did you add it manually from the configuration tab by right clicking and selecting "add rule", or did you add it by clicking on the Processes tab, finding the app and selecting "Ignore".

3) either way:
when you close the config tool and reopen it (always open config tool using tray tool), is your rule still there?

4) now before we get to the subtleties of disabling and enabling and obeying rule changes -
can you check if you exit the tray program completely, and restart it, is it now obeying the ignore rule?

once we know the answers to these we will know a lot more about the cause.
Logged
Carol Haynes
Waffles for England (patent pending)
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 7,919



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: October 10, 2005, 01:18:01 PM »

I am just clicking on the rules column for existing processes and selecting Ignore and then OK (bottom right).

The rule is remembered after closing and reopening the config screen, but not applied.

The rule is applied after the tray icon is exited and restarted.
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: October 10, 2005, 01:19:20 PM »

ok,
so once PT is exited and restarted, then forever after the rule is applied. is that right?
Logged
Carol Haynes
Waffles for England (patent pending)
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 7,919



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: October 10, 2005, 01:20:27 PM »

Thanks - out of curiosity are other people experiencing this too - or is it just me?
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: October 10, 2005, 01:25:30 PM »

it's not just you - it's basically how PT currently works.

when you added a rule saying "IGNORE"
PT assumed you had taken over responsibility for the app, and completely stopped all management of it.

it assumed that you would change the priority back to normal this time if you wanted it back at normal.
(you can easily change priorities from the same process tamer configuration screen as the one you added the rule).

so this is just the way process tamer currently works - as soon as you say IGNORE, it IGNORES it, it does not restore its priority, it assumes you will do it.

but i can change that if its counter intuitive.
Logged
Carol Haynes
Waffles for England (patent pending)
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 7,919



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: October 10, 2005, 01:29:02 PM »

Ah - got it finally, that works.

Perhaps PT should return processes back to the state they were in before they were managed when Ignored (so if it was originally High, and PT changes it to Low then Ignore should return it to High).

Don't know how easy or practical this is though.
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: October 10, 2005, 01:39:04 PM »

yes, i think that probably makes sense.  i know i considered this at the time, but i can't remember if i had a good reason for doing it the way i did.

Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: October 10, 2005, 02:07:52 PM »

the reason i may have done it the way i've done it could be this:

with the current approach, if you want the process to bump back up to normal, then its just 2 more clicks from the same page you are adding the rule on.  and if you want to leave it at low priority, you do nothing.

but if i made the program automatically go back to normal priority then you would be out of luck if you wanted to leave it at low priority.
(for more complicated reasons the configurator cannot know that the process was lowered by the tray tool, so it cant restore it, it has to wait until it closes and tray tool would restore it). so youd have to reopen the config after that and go manually lower it again if you wanted it to stay lowered.

perhaps the best clearest solution would be very simple:
If user adds a new rule to IGNORE an app and priority is low, the configure app can simply pop up a simple message saying:
"Process Tamer will now ignore this application completely.  It is currently set at low priority - if you would like to boost it back to it's normal priority, just choose 'NORMAL' from the processes priority drop down box now."

what do you think?
Logged
Carol Haynes
Waffles for England (patent pending)
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 7,919



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: October 10, 2005, 02:40:21 PM »

Fine by me - thanks, at least this has clarified for my little brain how it is meant to work Wink
Logged

Carol Haynes
Waffles for England (patent pending)
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 7,919



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: December 14, 2005, 02:52:15 AM »

I have just updated the bug tracker - the new build of PT doesn't seem to solve the problem of not correctly updating behaviour when clicking OK in the config screen.

Eg. set process to ignore, put it manually to the process priority you want, click OK. PT immediately carries on taming the process as though you had not set up a rule.
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: December 14, 2005, 03:04:03 AM »

not fixed yet.
Logged
Carol Haynes
Waffles for England (patent pending)
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 7,919



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: December 14, 2005, 03:05:18 AM »

'K, having just reinstalled I donwloaded the latest build expecting great things Wink
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: December 14, 2005, 03:11:28 AM »

a major release of pt is in the works, this was just minor maintenance release.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.035s | Server load: 0.07 ]