topbanner_forum

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Thursday March 28, 2024, 3:38 pm
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: IDEA: inappropriate word buster  (Read 6177 times)

polski8

• Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • default avatar
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
IDEA: inappropriate word buster
« on: December 08, 2007, 05:47 PM »
I work in a factory in Dickson, TN. The plant manager has a 9 year old daughter who is learning to use the internet at school, and chats with her friends online at home, on approved sites. The manager heard that I know about computers, and shared with me that he had been busy at something else, so he asked his daughter to look up a transmission shop for him. She typed in "trannies" and you KNOW what she got! They were both shocked. He asked me if there was some sort of program which is user-configurable which would catch certain words, or combination of words or numbers (house numbers, personal phone numbers, etc.) which, when caught, would immediately stop the application and flash a warning, possibly until backspace is pressed, or a password is given or key combination is pressed. He would like it to catch incoming as well as outgoing, as in when his daughter chats, he wants to know who might be asking for her number or address, as well as stopping her from giving it, and possibly stopping the question itself. There would also have to be some way to quickly by-pass the word-catcher, as there might be something totally harmless but will nevertheless be caught. He has tried Net Nanny and programs like that, but they are either too restrictive, not restrictive enough, or aren't user configurable enough.
« Last Edit: December 09, 2007, 07:58 AM by brotherS »

brotherS