Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 02:31:50 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Invalid docking layout stream header  (Read 7514 times)

Ian E Martin

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Invalid docking layout stream header
« on: December 07, 2007, 02:25:37 PM »
I get an error popup whenever I start Clipboard Help & Spell - it has been happening for awhile, not sure if it started after last update or not - didn't seem to.

The error that pops up is "Invalid docking layout stream header".  Anytime I try to past from history, it does the same thing and pulls up the main window instead of the context window next to the cursor.

Any ideas?

Invalid_docking.png

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Invalid docking layout stream header
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2007, 04:10:27 PM »
sounds like something got corrupted in the PresetViews/ subdirectory.
try choosing a different View from the main Presets menu.  If that fails to solve it, you could try reinstalling on top of your current install (just exit from tray first), or email me (mouser@donationcoder.com) and i can try to help.

Ian E Martin

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Invalid docking layout stream header
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2007, 04:38:07 PM »
Ahh... well at least that gave me a direction to go.  Selecting different views didn't help, neither did re-installing over the top.  What I did do which at least stopped the error popup was stopped the program, went to the PresetViews directory and noticed the Last.preset.dock file was timestamped about the time the issue started happening for me.  I renamed it to Last.preset.dock.old and restarted the program.  Viola!  Error no longer comes up.

Regards,

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Invalid docking layout stream header
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2007, 08:08:38 PM »
thanks for the report Ian -- that's good to know for the future.  Perhaps I can add something to check for such a failure in the future and automatically delete the Last.preset.dock file if it gets messed up somehow (maybe computer reset while it was in the process of saving).

jokimo

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Invalid docking layout stream header
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2009, 10:04:36 PM »
I am having this problem w/ a pop-up error when "Clipboard" loads..... ever since doing an update a couple of months ago... the remedy for the previous similar complaintant mentions does not seem to work....  Mouser, any new remedy you can suggest?   thanks, Jokimo

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Invalid docking layout stream header
« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2009, 10:16:53 PM »
it sounds like something is wrong with the docking thing.
can you try exiting, then deleting the "Last.preset.*" files in the PresetViews subdirectory and then restarting.
i think this 3rd party docking component library was updated recently to solve this bug, i will look for it.

jokimo

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Invalid docking layout stream header
« Reply #6 on: January 04, 2009, 12:20:36 AM »
Thanks, that worked.... I closed the app., then went into windows explorer and deleted this file from "preset views":

last.preset.dock


 and then restarted the app., and the error message is gone.    thanks again, jokimo




imscottb

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Invalid docking layout stream header
« Reply #7 on: April 24, 2016, 06:17:32 PM »
I am having the same problem of late.
I get this error when my computer starts.
chs.pngInvalid docking layout stream header
I am assuming it is from Clipboard Help + Spell, as I cannot link it to anything else.


mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Invalid docking layout stream header
« Reply #8 on: April 24, 2016, 11:56:21 PM »
Try this, open Clipboard Help+Spell, and choose from the Layouts menu "Standard", then exit CHS.
See if that fixes it.

imscottb

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Invalid docking layout stream header
« Reply #9 on: April 25, 2016, 11:41:16 AM »
It does not seem to help if I do what you suggest.
All it does is once I change the Layouts menu to Standard, I get the same error box to pop up right when I do.
Thanks for the tip, but it is not working for me.

I hope we can figure it out.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Invalid docking layout stream header
« Reply #10 on: April 25, 2016, 04:46:47 PM »
Can I ask if you are using the portable version or normal installed version?

imscottb

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Invalid docking layout stream header
« Reply #11 on: April 26, 2016, 10:19:08 AM »
I am quite certain, I am using the normal, portable version. That is what I installed and I use the update feature and it would have updated only the normal version not to the portable version, correct?
I have only noticed this problem within the last month or so.
Should I uninstall and reinstall?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Invalid docking layout stream header
« Reply #12 on: April 26, 2016, 10:55:05 AM »
Try this:
Exit Clipboard Help+Spell.
Then find the directory where Clipboard Help+Spell stores its "PresetViews" folder. By default it is in MyDocuments\DonationCoder\Clipboard Help+Spell\PresetViews\
Then delete all the files in their starting with "Last."

If you keep getting this error, it may be that some security thing is preventing the program from saving its files where it thinks it should.  If so, one solution might be to UNINSTALL and DELETE the C:\ProgramFilesx86\ClipboardHelpAndSpell directory, and then either reinstall OR download the portable version and install it someplace where you store your files normally.

imscottb

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Invalid docking layout stream header
« Reply #13 on: April 29, 2016, 12:45:24 PM »
I deleted all the  files in the directory and rebooted the computer. I do not get the error anymore, however, it does not appear that  the program is saving my clips anylonger.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Invalid docking layout stream header
« Reply #14 on: April 29, 2016, 12:46:14 PM »
Now reinstall!

imscottb

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Invalid docking layout stream header
« Reply #15 on: April 29, 2016, 03:13:57 PM »
Okay. Thanks.

imscottb

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Invalid docking layout stream header
« Reply #16 on: May 08, 2016, 07:27:27 PM »
I have noticed since I did what was suggested in all previous posts, that now CHS no longer captures any of my clips. Once I make a copy  and paste, my clipboard is empty.
It has been since I did all of the steps from late April. I never noticed until the other day, when I tried to go back and get something I had done, and noticed there is NOTHING to get. NOTHING from no time.
Any ideas??
Thanks, a LOT.

IainB

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 6,143
  • Slartibartfarst
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Invalid docking layout stream header
« Reply #17 on: November 12, 2016, 02:21:15 AM »
Just reporting that I was consistently getting:
Quote
"Error EX54: Invalid docking layout stream header"
- at every CHS start, and it always displayed the default layout - not the last layout it had been shut down with. So the last selected layout was not "sticking".

I then did a search and found this discussion thread and fixed the problem thus:
  • Shut down CHS.
  • CHS is installed as "portable", so I went to the folder: C:\UTIL\Windows utilities\FindAndRunRobot\Plugins\Clipboard Help+Spell\PresetViews
  • There, I deleted all the files with names prefixed "Last".
  • One of the files (I think it was Last.preset.dock) would not delete, so I used Unlocker to complete that task.

To check if the fix had worked:
  • I then started CHS and it displayed the default layout and gave no error message.
  • I selected one of my preferred layouts and then shut down CHs and restarted it.
  • The last (preferred layout) was displayed, and no error message was given.
- so the fix had worked a treat - thanks.

I think the error had started occurring following a bad system crash.
« Last Edit: November 27, 2016, 12:24:26 PM by IainB, Reason: Minor correction. »