Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 03, 2016, 10:05:12 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: [Feature Request] Turn off cleartype for capture, reactivate afterwards  (Read 3067 times)

AStroP

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2005
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Hi!

First of all - and i must repeat myself, as i already said that for some of your other tools  :Thmbsup: - many thanx for this wonderful piece of software. One of my favorite tools at all!
Just one little thingy I miss. Would it be feasable to disable cleartype (or font smoothing in general) temporarily for the screenshot and reactivate it afterwards? On my TFT i usually work with cleartype enabled but these screenshots don't look very nice when viewed on a "normal" (or should i say old?  :))  CRT. I hope, i haven't simply missed this feature while searching through the inexplorable depths of the preferences.

Mouse, probably you already know that, but maybe i can save you a couple of minutes with these links:

http://support.micro...t.com/kb/97142/en-us
http://msdn2.microso...ibrary/ms724947.aspx
http://vbforums.com/...wthread.php?t=491091

Apparently one has to use the SystemParametersInfo API. The relevant functions seem to be SPI_GETFONTSMOOTHING, SPI_SETFONTSMOOTHING, SPI_GETFONTSMOOTHINGTYPE, SPI_SETFONTSMOOTHINGTYPE.

Hope it can be done. At first glance it doesn't look too complicated, but i know, in reality usually things are different. :)

Andreas

AStroP

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2005
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: [Feature Request] Turn off cleartype for capture, reactivate afterwards
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2007, 08:14:07 PM »
[...]
Mouse, probably you ...
[...]

$&?ยง$!! Of course I meant to say "Mouser"! :-[ Sorry!

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: [Feature Request] Turn off cleartype for capture, reactivate afterwards
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2007, 11:57:58 AM »
this is not a bad idea..

an alternative solution would be to make options so you can tell sc to execute a commandline tool before it takes a screenshot, and then another afterwards.

that would let you use a commandline tool to turn off and on cleartype, or do anything else of a similar nature.