Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 04, 2016, 10:26:26 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: help with icons  (Read 11714 times)

nite_monkey

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 727
    • View Profile
    • Just Plain Super
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
help with icons
« on: November 28, 2007, 07:41:32 PM »
I'm new to programming, and i was wanting to make my compiled autohotkey scripts look more professional, but I don't know how to change the icon for it. I want to be able to change the tray icon, and also change the program's icon (the icon that shows up on the desktop and in folders right above the name of the program). How do I do that? Is there a program that I can use to do that, or can I do that with a code that I add to the script? I was looking at the documentation on the AHK site, I did see something about adding a tray icon, but I don't think that would change the program's physical icon (the green H when you compile it).
[Insert really cool signature here]

kimmchii

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 360
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: help with icons
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2007, 07:48:31 PM »
right click on the file>properties>change icon
If you find a good solution and become attached to it, the solution may become your next problem.
~Robert Anthony

nite_monkey

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 727
    • View Profile
    • Just Plain Super
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: help with icons
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2007, 07:52:43 PM »
there isn't a change icon under properties. that is only for shortcuts, I want the original program's icon changed.
[Insert really cool signature here]

kimmchii

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 360
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: help with icons
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2007, 08:07:21 PM »
then you need to use Resource Hacker.
If you find a good solution and become attached to it, the solution may become your next problem.
~Robert Anthony

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,367
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: help with icons
« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2007, 08:17:58 PM »
there isn't a change icon under properties. that is only for shortcuts, I want the original program's icon changed.
Use the compiler (convert.ahk to .exe) to browse to your preferred icon
Spoiler
IconStick.png


nite_monkey

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 727
    • View Profile
    • Just Plain Super
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: help with icons
« Reply #5 on: November 28, 2007, 08:21:46 PM »
Thank you Cranioscopical. I didn't know you could run the compiler. I have always just right clicked on the AHK script and clicked convert.
[Insert really cool signature here]

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,367
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: help with icons
« Reply #6 on: November 28, 2007, 09:38:12 PM »
Glad to help. My life's full of similar kinds of things that I don't know. That's the beauty of this place, eh?

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: help with icons
« Reply #7 on: November 28, 2007, 10:06:40 PM »
if you already have plenty of compiled AHK scripts then this tool will come in handy..

Quote
This script helps to change the icons of compiled and uncompiled (!) scripts.
It also allows to set the fileinformations (Copyright, Version, Description, ...) for a compiled script (has to be compiled with AHK Icon Changer).

AHKIconChanger.jpghelp with icons
Icon (and Information)-Changer


nite_monkey

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 727
    • View Profile
    • Just Plain Super
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: help with icons
« Reply #8 on: November 29, 2007, 05:18:21 PM »
That sounds like a useful tool. I will have to download that and use it once I learn AHK scripting more. :Thmbsup:
[Insert really cool signature here]

Deozaan

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Points: 1
  • Posts: 7,713
    • View Profile
    • The Blog of Deozaan
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: help with icons
« Reply #9 on: March 23, 2010, 10:06:42 PM »
Necrothread alert! Previous post was from 2007!

if you already have plenty of compiled AHK scripts then this tool will come in handy..

I have two questions:

  • Does this tool work with EXEs that have nothing to do with AHK?
  • If so, do you know where I can find that tool since that link is now dead?


lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: help with icons
« Reply #10 on: March 24, 2010, 12:20:06 AM »
technically it should since it uses the reshacker tool to modify the exe, iirc.

as for the 2nd question, i might have them somewhere. i'll let you know if i can find it.

Deozaan

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Points: 1
  • Posts: 7,713
    • View Profile
    • The Blog of Deozaan
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: help with icons
« Reply #11 on: March 24, 2010, 03:00:51 AM »
technically it should since it uses the reshacker tool to modify the exe, iirc.

as for the 2nd question, i might have them somewhere. i'll let you know if i can find it.

Cool. I'd Google around for it myself, but it's not clear to me from your post what the tool's name is. Is it called "Icon (and Information)-Changer"?


PhilB66

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 1,522
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: help with icons
« Reply #12 on: March 24, 2010, 04:08:41 AM »
AHK thread @ http://www.autohotke...forum/topic1731.html
You can get the AHK Icon Changer script at the last page http://www.autohotke...um/topic1731-30.html or Here (direct download). The poster suggest an alternative - Compile_AHK II.

Deozaan

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Points: 1
  • Posts: 7,713
    • View Profile
    • The Blog of Deozaan
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: help with icons
« Reply #13 on: March 24, 2010, 05:31:16 AM »
AHK thread @ http://www.autohotke...forum/topic1731.html
You can get the AHK Icon Changer script at the last page http://www.autohotke...um/topic1731-30.html or Here (direct download). The poster suggest an alternative - Compile_AHK II.

I actually just wanted something that could change the icon for any exe, not just compiled AHK scripts. Resource Hacker from that thread worked great. Thanks!


lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: help with icons
« Reply #14 on: March 24, 2010, 06:01:23 AM »
I actually just wanted something that could change the icon for any exe, not just compiled AHK scripts. Resource Hacker from that thread worked great. Thanks!

nice, Resource Hacker is a very good tool but is no longer being developed. in case you need a more recently developed tool, try Anolis Resourcer.

among its features are:
  • Viewing Resources
  • Exporting and Extracting Resources
  • Replacing and Updating Resources
  • Intelligent Icon Replacement
  • Vista MUI and RC CONFIG Aware
  • x64 Support
  • Command-Line Arguments
  • Portable

anolis_View_Icons.pnghelp with icons
http://www.anol.is/resourcer/

Deozaan

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Points: 1
  • Posts: 7,713
    • View Profile
    • The Blog of Deozaan
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: help with icons
« Reply #15 on: March 24, 2010, 07:15:36 AM »
nice, Resource Hacker is a very good tool but is no longer being developed. in case you need a more recently developed tool, try Anolis Resourcer.

It is true that Resource Hacker is no longer being developed, but it was updated more recently than Anolis Resourcer. Anolis was updated last September. ResHack was updated last December. :P

One off update - 19 December 2009 (version 3.5.2 beta):

I needed to access resources in a 64bit Windows executable so I've just updated Resource HackerTM to open (ie decompile/recompile) these files too. This new version also displays PNG image resources. However, please understand that I have no intention of reviving this project so please DON'T ask for other features. Also, because this version has only had limited testing I'm releasing it as a beta version. You can download this beta version here - reshack_setup.exe


lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: help with icons
« Reply #16 on: March 24, 2010, 08:53:49 PM »
It is true that Resource Hacker is no longer being developed, but it was updated more recently than Anolis Resourcer. Anolis was updated last September. ResHack was updated last December. :P

One off update - 19 December 2009 (version 3.5.2 beta):

I needed to access resources in a 64bit Windows executable so I've just updated Resource HackerTM to open (ie decompile/recompile) these files too. This new version also displays PNG image resources. However, please understand that I have no intention of reviving this project so please DON'T ask for other features. Also, because this version has only had limited testing I'm releasing it as a beta version. You can download this beta version here - reshack_setup.exe

lol, i didn't know about this recent update.. must download now! :)