Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 01, 2014, 11:24:30 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2012! Download dozens of custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Window sizing bug (scrollbars)  (Read 8738 times)
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,102



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: October 03, 2005, 10:45:23 PM »

hi there mouser,

yup, the error comes up every time i click the "about box". so now, if i want to know the version number, i've go to the help file...

and the sizing is that, uh, i'll try to explain via pics (much easier)...


pic1: original size


pic2: i key-in query, window auto-resize (empty results)


pic3: window stays resized when i call F&RR again (with scrollbars...)

so, basically what i want is for F&RR to stay at size of pic1 whenever i call it with the "Pause/Break" key regardless of the search result...
okey then. happy coding, mouser!

best regards,
lanux
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,435



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2005, 10:51:27 PM »

thats a bug - i'll try to fix it
it should open up and all results should be easily visible without scrollbars.. ill try to fix.

ps. try setting a skin in display options and see if it fixes.
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,102



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2005, 12:04:27 AM »

ps. try setting a skin in display options and see if it fixes.

sorry mouser, that doesn't fix it...
to be honest, i had some apprehensions earlier regarding speed/performance but skinning is just cool... ;-)



about the other suggestion, why not make F&RR just detect the path & run a particular app...
e.g. i could just type "C:\mirc\mirc.exe[/i]" then mirc gets executed...


ok, that's about it...

best regards,
lanux
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,435



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2005, 12:22:21 AM »

are you saying that you get that result when you have "autoshrink" checked?
or only when you don't have autoshrink checked?
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,102



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2005, 12:49:16 AM »

hi there mouser,

yup, i have already pasted the licence key as early as version 1.07.02b if i'm not mistaken...

i have "autoshrink" checked, that's why i want F&RR to retain the original size. i know i can uncheck the "autoshrink" but then i'll lose cool feature of the window growing as the results come pouring in... ;-)

basically, what i am looking for is "sticky window" feature, this is how it works:
first position/size the window just the way you like it.
then go into the setting & save that window position/size.
now F&RR always start up in the saved position.

this means you can maximize/resize F&RR (to see the search results better) and then send it to the tray.
and next time F&RR is needed, it will start at the pre-defined position/size. quite, nifty eh? ;-)

best regards,
lanux
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,435



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2005, 12:50:42 AM »

this is what it should exactly do if you turn off autoshrink.

ah, maybe you want to set like a minimum size of the window - so that it will grow bigger if more results come in but never get smaller than some amount?

i think that might solve your scrollbar problem BUT it should not be necesary
with autoshrink on you should not be having that scrollbar issue, so that is a bug i have to figure out how to solve.
when autoshrink is on and you pop up the window, it should size itself to show all of the default results without any scrollbars.
« Last Edit: October 04, 2005, 12:52:34 AM by mouser » Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,102



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2005, 01:14:24 AM »

ah, maybe you want to set like a minimum size of the window - so that it will grow bigger if more results come in but never get smaller than some amount?

yup, that's exactly what i have in mind... ;-)

best regards,
lanux
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,435



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2005, 01:25:39 AM »

i could do that, but i still have to fix the problem where the autoshrink option is setting the window too small which is resulting in scrollbars.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,435



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2005, 01:43:05 AM »

another question: does it always happen that the window is a little too small on popup and shows scrollbars, etc?
if so, that could be very useful in helping me test and fix this bug.  or does it just happen randomly?
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,435



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: October 04, 2005, 02:02:25 AM »

and can you try latest version and see if the window size problem is still there with this version: http://www.donationcoder..../Beta/FindAndRunRobot.exe
if so ill try more things.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,435



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: October 04, 2005, 10:45:21 PM »

this thread was split off from the one on richedit problem, so it may seem a bit confusing.

one clue i need to help me figure out problem - when the window popup up showing scroll bars, can you try this:
put your cursor on right hand window edge and drag it just a tiny bit to the LEFT.

that is, you are going to make the window SMALLER a little bit.
see if it doesnt readjust itself and get rid of scrollbars.

if so, then the problem is one thing that i will be able to address, if it doesn't then its a different issue.
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,102



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: October 04, 2005, 11:25:46 PM »

hi there mouser,

i have a 4.8mb (712kb compressed with rar) swf file that i recorded my desktop to show the effect...
how do i send it to you?

in the recording, you can see that upon launch F&RR comes with scrollbars.
to which i resize to make it disappear then i make F&RR lose focus...
when i call it again the scrollbars are there again...

best regards,
lanux
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,435



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: October 04, 2005, 11:30:57 PM »

just send to mouser@donationcoder.com please
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,435



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: October 04, 2005, 11:34:14 PM »

do you know if by any chance you have your windows operating system set to use large fonts?

Display Properties > Settings > Advanced > Display dpi

what dpi setting do you have?
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,102



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: October 04, 2005, 11:53:46 PM »

hi there mouser,

you've probably read the other post by now... ;-)

so i'll just send the swf file for reference sake... fyi, the fonts' setting is at 96dpi.

thanks,

best regards,
lanux
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,435



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: October 05, 2005, 12:03:54 AM »

i havent fully fixed the sizing bug it was just a test to see if i understand the problem..
but at least i know what the cause is.. its a damn bug with automatic sizing of columns.
the fix will make the window shimmer a bit so its not a good final solution.

can you try this version and see if the sizing problem is still fixed in this version:
http://www.donationcoder..../Test/FindAndRunRobot.zip
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,435



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: October 05, 2005, 12:19:45 AM »

new version uploaded - lanux can you tell me if this one still fixes sizing bug? it's a different technique this time i'm trying.

http://www.donationcoder..../Test/FindAndRunRobot.zip
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,102



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: October 05, 2005, 09:02:44 PM »

hi there mouser,

i've been using v1.07.20 & it's just perfect. a job well-done! :-)

best regards,
lanux
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.034s | Server load: 0.01 ]