Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site November 01, 2014, 06:56:46 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
View the new Member Awards and Badges page.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: EVDO RevA - Network Adapter Not Available  (Read 5373 times)
NoahVail
Participant
*
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: November 12, 2007, 12:48:10 PM »

Howdy.
I network via EVDO RevA using a Sierra 595 PCMCIA card.  UrlSniffer can't see it.

I think it is actually a PCMCIA USB adapter, with separate integrated 802.11g and EVDO revA adapters connecting through that PCMCIA USB adapter.  I can enable the Sierra 595 802.11 adapter under Network Adapters and UrlS will detect it, but that doesn't get UrlS detecting my EVDO traffic.

The EVDO portion of the card is installed as a modem (telephonic / dialup).  I know WireShark and Ethereal present modems as adapter choices, so WinPcap could sniff it.   I'm pretty sure that there isn't anything else left to try. 

I think that makes this a feature request, unless I am missing something.

Any thoughts?

For now, I can run this and collect my data through the recognized adapters, when I'm deskbound.  But it really would be nice to use it on the road as most of my live time is spent EVDO.


***
This site looks to be a really great coding concept. 
I think I get your direction.  I'll nose around a bit and see what there is to see.
There are definitely times when I would have my clients pay for minor solutions.
I spend hours trying to invent wheels, when squares are my forte.

FYI, I'm normally flush 2-3 months/yr, I'm good about donating when I am.
If I hang here long term, I'll send something.
What's your target $/yr. for medium users?

Thanks again.
NV
« Last Edit: November 12, 2007, 12:52:38 PM by NoahVail » Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,617



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2007, 12:52:32 PM »

This part is key to help me figure out any problem:
Quote
I know WireShark and Ethereal present modems as adapter choices, so WinPcap could sniff it.
Have you actually tried these other winpcap-based programs and so they work? if so, then there is no reason urlsnooper shouldn't work. do they show your network card while urlsnooper doesn't?  What operating system are you using?

Quote
What's your target $/yr. for medium users?
We really take the "it's the thought that counts" idea to heart -- no donation is too small or too large for us, and everyone is treated equally.  For a silly recommended donation chart see here: http://www.donationcoder..../Donate/HowMuchChart.html

Logged
NoahVail
Participant
*
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2007, 12:56:38 PM »

I'll put Wireshark in and test it.

The chart is helpful.  Guidelines show me where to shoot and then my decisions are easy.
NV
Logged
NoahVail
Participant
*
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2007, 01:09:57 PM »

WireShark DOES NOT detect telephony devices

Sorry about that.  I was certain I had seen telephony on the interface list on the other machines I use.  I'll look into if there is a method to add one.  I wonder if I could change the type of the device.  Hmmm.

If you think of anything brilliant, let me know.
Thanks.
NV
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,617



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2007, 01:29:53 PM »

i remember some discussion on winpcap discussions about how to enable modem snooping.  And it may be that older versions of the winpcap driver may see it.  There is a winpcap discussion archive on winpcap site -- see if you can find any info.  basically this is all about winpcap.
Logged
NoahVail
Participant
*
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: November 16, 2007, 07:47:33 AM »

CommView has an RDP adapter it can install with it's package.  That will get WinPcap into the dialup packets.  Some folks were able use the adapter in Ethereal.  I'm pretty sure they had a 3.x version of WinPcap.  Didn't work for me in urlsniffer with WinPcap 4.1.

I decided to drop back and punt.  I planted an EVDO router in the van and I access it via the wireless adapter in the notebook.

Except that URLSniffer can't initialize the intel Wireless Adapter.

Sigh.  Back to the forums.

NV
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.026s | Server load: 0.01 ]