topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Thursday March 28, 2024, 6:22 am
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Change Desktop Folder  (Read 62205 times)

apfel

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Change Desktop Folder
« on: November 09, 2007, 09:52 AM »
I am searching a program, which runs in the system tray and can change the location of the Default Desktop Folder through right-click menu on the systray icon.

(HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\
User Shell Folders)

thx for any help

togikun

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Change Desktop Folder
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2007, 10:28 AM »
TweakUI and similar programs can change the path, altough not by right-clicking a tray icon. It sounds like what you want to do is the same thing as another guy in a recent thread. I think they found that DesktopX can do something close to what you want to do.

apfel

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Change Desktop Folder
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2007, 10:48 AM »
I knew TweakUI has this ability, but just as you said without systray-icon/right-click menu.

belkira

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Change Desktop Folder
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2007, 12:32 PM »
Would the location to change it to be a static list of folders, or would it be a different location each time?

psionics

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
    • freestyle (nunchaku) forum.net
    • Donate to Member
Re: Change Desktop Folder
« Reply #4 on: November 09, 2007, 01:04 PM »
 ;D just need a switcher for desktop folders

apfel

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Change Desktop Folder
« Reply #5 on: November 09, 2007, 03:41 PM »
Would the location to change it to be a static list of folders, or would it be a different location each time?
Er,... A function to add/edit diffrent Desktop Folders to right-click menu of tray icon.
What do you mean with diffrent location each time?
« Last Edit: November 09, 2007, 03:45 PM by apfel »

belkira

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Change Desktop Folder
« Reply #6 on: November 09, 2007, 05:01 PM »
What do you mean with diffrent location each time?

Basically, I could hard code a set of locations so you would just click on that location and that would become the new desktop folder.

belkira

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Change Desktop Folder
« Reply #7 on: November 09, 2007, 05:26 PM »
Something like this, just edit the ini file created with the paths you want.

;
; AutoHotkey Version: 1.x
; Language:       English
; Platform:       Win9x/NT
;
;
; Script Function:
; Change the location of the Default Desktop Folder through right-click menu on the systray icon.
;

#NoEnv ; Recommended for performance and compatibility with future AutoHotkey releases.
SendMode Input ; Recommended for new scripts due to its superior speed and reliability.
#Persistent
Regread, current, HKCU, Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\User Shell Folders, Desktop
GoSub,INIREAD
GoSub,TRAYMENU

INIREAD:
IfNotExist,%A_ScriptName%.ini
{
  IniWrite,%current%,%A_ScriptName%.ini,Locations,dir1
  IniWrite,Location 2,%A_ScriptName%.ini,Locations,dir2
  IniWrite,Location 3,%A_ScriptName%.ini,Locations,dir3
  IniWrite,Location 4,%A_ScriptName%.ini,Locations,dir4
}
IniRead,dir1,%A_ScriptName%.ini,Locations,dir1
IniRead,dir2,%A_ScriptName%.ini,Locations,dir2
IniRead,dir3,%A_ScriptName%.ini,Locations,dir3
IniRead,dir4,%A_ScriptName%.ini,Locations,dir4
Return




TRAYMENU:

Menu,Tray,NoStandard
Menu,Tray,DeleteAll
Menu,Tray,Add,%current%,CURRENT
Menu,Tray,Add,
Menu,Tray,Add,"%dir1%",DIR1
Menu,Tray,Add,"%dir2%",DIR2
Menu,Tray,Add,"%dir3%",DIR3
Menu,Tray,Add,"%dir4%",DIR4
Menu,Tray,Add,
Menu,Tray,Add,Edit,EDIT
Menu,Tray,Add,Reload,RELOAD
Menu,Tray,Add,
Menu,Tray,Add,E&xit,EXIT
Menu,Tray,Tip,%A_ScriptName%
Menu,Tray,Check,%current%
Return

CURRENT:

DIR1:
RegWrite, REG_EXPAND_SZ, HKCU, Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\User Shell Folders, Desktop, %dir1%
Reload
Return

DIR2:
RegWrite, REG_EXPAND_SZ, HKCU, Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\User Shell Folders, Desktop, %dir2%
Reload
Return

DIR3:
RegWrite, REG_EXPAND_SZ, HKCU, Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\User Shell Folders, Desktop, %dir3%
Reload
Return

DIR4:
RegWrite, REG_EXPAND_SZ, HKCU, Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\User Shell Folders, Desktop, %dir4%
Reload
Return

EDIT:
Runwait,%A_ScriptName%.ini
Return

RELOAD:
Reload

EXIT:
ExitApp

apfel

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Change Desktop Folder
« Reply #8 on: November 09, 2007, 05:34 PM »
Could you eyplain, how to use it or to compile into a exe?
I never used AutoHotKey scripts before.
« Last Edit: November 09, 2007, 05:44 PM by apfel »

belkira

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Change Desktop Folder
« Reply #9 on: November 09, 2007, 05:41 PM »
Sure, sorry.....To use it as is you will need to install AHK. then copy/paste the code into notepad or whatever editor you like and save it as something.ahk. Then just double click on that file to run it.

To use it, just right click on its tray icon and select which of the 4 paths you want to be used as your "Desktop"

To use the exe just download and double click.

The ini file looks like this:
Locations]
dir1=%USERPROFILE%\Desktop
dir2=Location 2
dir3=Location 3
dir4=Location 4

Just change locations 2-4 to be whatever location you want. Then reload the script.
There is a reload option on the right click menu.

Let me know if you need more clarification.

apfel

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Change Desktop Folder
« Reply #10 on: November 09, 2007, 05:45 PM »
After I set another location nothing happens.
I am looking for a program, which can change DesktopFolder location and
It should refresh the Desktop after Location-Change with the Folders and files in the new Desktop Folder.

But anyway, thx for help!!

belkira

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Change Desktop Folder
« Reply #11 on: November 09, 2007, 06:00 PM »
Try this one....
;
; AutoHotkey Version: 1.x
; Language:       English
; Platform:       Win9x/NT
;
;
; Script Function:
; Change the location of the Default Desktop Folder through right-click menu on the systray icon.
;

#NoEnv ; Recommended for performance and compatibility with future AutoHotkey releases.
SendMode Input ; Recommended for new scripts due to its superior speed and reliability.
#Persistent
Regread, current, HKCU, Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\User Shell Folders, Desktop
GoSub,INIREAD
GoSub,TRAYMENU

INIREAD:
IfNotExist,%A_ScriptName%.ini
{
  IniWrite,%current%,%A_ScriptName%.ini,Locations,dir1
  IniWrite,Location 2,%A_ScriptName%.ini,Locations,dir2
  IniWrite,Location 3,%A_ScriptName%.ini,Locations,dir3
  IniWrite,Location 4,%A_ScriptName%.ini,Locations,dir4
}
IniRead,dir1,%A_ScriptName%.ini,Locations,dir1
IniRead,dir2,%A_ScriptName%.ini,Locations,dir2
IniRead,dir3,%A_ScriptName%.ini,Locations,dir3
IniRead,dir4,%A_ScriptName%.ini,Locations,dir4
Return




TRAYMENU:

Menu,Tray,NoStandard
Menu,Tray,DeleteAll
Menu,Tray,Add,%current%,CURRENT
Menu,Tray,Add,
Menu,Tray,Add,"%dir1%",DIR1
Menu,Tray,Add,"%dir2%",DIR2
Menu,Tray,Add,"%dir3%",DIR3
Menu,Tray,Add,"%dir4%",DIR4
Menu,Tray,Add,
Menu,Tray,Add,Edit,EDIT
Menu,Tray,Add,Reload,RELOAD
Menu,Tray,Add,
Menu,Tray,Add,Exit,EXIT
Menu,Tray,Tip,%A_ScriptName%
Menu,Tray,Check,%current%
Return

CURRENT:

DIR1:
RegWrite, REG_EXPAND_SZ, HKCU, Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\User Shell Folders, Desktop, %dir1%
Process, close, explorer.exe
run explorer.exe
Reload
Return

DIR2:
RegWrite, REG_EXPAND_SZ, HKCU, Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\User Shell Folders, Desktop, %dir2%
Process, close, explorer.exe
run explorer.exe
Reload
Return

DIR3:
RegWrite, REG_EXPAND_SZ, HKCU, Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\User Shell Folders, Desktop, %dir3%
Process, close, explorer.exe
run explorer.exe
Reload
Return

DIR4:
RegWrite, REG_EXPAND_SZ, HKCU, Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\User Shell Folders, Desktop, %dir4%
Process, close, explorer.exe
run explorer.exe
Reload
Return

EDIT:
Run,%A_ScriptName%.ini
Return

RELOAD:
Reload

EXIT:
ExitApp
[\code]

apfel

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Change Desktop Folder
« Reply #12 on: November 09, 2007, 06:08 PM »
Wow, now the script kills my explorer.exe everytime I change locations, that's not a really good solution.  :(
But now I see the changes.

Edit: Maybe It's a limitation of WinXp you cant overcome... with a such a script.
« Last Edit: November 09, 2007, 06:15 PM by apfel »

apfel

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Change Desktop Folder
« Reply #13 on: November 09, 2007, 06:50 PM »
Found a similar discussion on ahk forum with some code snippets, but I cant realy use them.
http://www.autohotke...ight=desktop+refresh

belkira

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Change Desktop Folder
« Reply #14 on: November 09, 2007, 08:10 PM »
unfortunately, as far as I know killing explorer is the only way, short of logging out and back in to apply those changes.

If someone knows better let me know and I will see what I can change in this script.

Give me a few minutes here, just looking over that link......

belkira

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Change Desktop Folder
« Reply #15 on: November 09, 2007, 08:18 PM »
as far as I can tell, that link only shows how to "refresh" the desktop same as pressing F5.

I tried the code in the script, but it didnt work. So back to my original thought, I don't think there is
a way to reload the desktop with the new folder without killing explorer.exe.

Again if I am wrong please let me know.

icekin

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 264
    • View Profile
    • icekin.com Technology,Computers and the Internet
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Change Desktop Folder
« Reply #16 on: November 10, 2007, 05:04 AM »
I tried changing the folder using TweakUI. What ever files I saved to desktop got sent to that folder. Moreover, the did not show on the actual desktop anymore. It seems like C:\Documents and Settings\<User>\Desktop is the only folder whose contents are displayed as icons on the actual desktop. Anyone else had this problem?

togikun

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Change Desktop Folder
« Reply #17 on: November 10, 2007, 05:59 AM »
Here, try this. It should work. (At least it worked on my computer, running Windows XP SP2)

;
; AutoHotkey Version: 1.x
; Language:       English
; Platform:       Win9x/NT
;
;
; Script Function:
; Change the location of the Default Desktop Folder through right-click menu on the systray icon.
;

#NoEnv ; Recommended for performance and compatibility with future AutoHotkey releases.
SendMode Input ; Recommended for new scripts due to its superior speed and reliability.
#Persistent
Regread, current, HKCU, Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\User Shell Folders, Desktop
GoSub,INIREAD
GoSub,TRAYMENU

INIREAD:
IfNotExist,%A_ScriptName%.ini
{
  IniWrite,%current%,%A_ScriptName%.ini,Locations,dir1
  IniWrite,Location 2,%A_ScriptName%.ini,Locations,dir2
  IniWrite,Location 3,%A_ScriptName%.ini,Locations,dir3
  IniWrite,Location 4,%A_ScriptName%.ini,Locations,dir4
}
IniRead,dir1,%A_ScriptName%.ini,Locations,dir1
IniRead,dir2,%A_ScriptName%.ini,Locations,dir2
IniRead,dir3,%A_ScriptName%.ini,Locations,dir3
IniRead,dir4,%A_ScriptName%.ini,Locations,dir4
Return




TRAYMENU:

Menu,Tray,NoStandard
Menu,Tray,DeleteAll
Menu,Tray,Add,%current%,CURRENT
Menu,Tray,Add,
Menu,Tray,Add,"%dir1%",DIR1
Menu,Tray,Add,"%dir2%",DIR2
Menu,Tray,Add,"%dir3%",DIR3
Menu,Tray,Add,"%dir4%",DIR4
Menu,Tray,Add,
Menu,Tray,Add,Edit,EDIT
Menu,Tray,Add,Reload,RELOAD
Menu,Tray,Add,
Menu,Tray,Add,E&xit,EXIT
Menu,Tray,Tip,%A_ScriptName%
Menu,Tray,Check,%current%
Return

CURRENT:

DIR1:
RegWrite, REG_EXPAND_SZ, HKCU, Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\User Shell Folders, Desktop, %dir1%
DllCall("Shell32\SHChangeNotify", UInt, 0x08000000, UInt, 0, UIntP, 0, UIntP, 0)
Reload
Return

DIR2:
RegWrite, REG_EXPAND_SZ, HKCU, Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\User Shell Folders, Desktop, %dir2%
DllCall("Shell32\SHChangeNotify", UInt, 0x08000000, UInt, 0, UIntP, 0, UIntP, 0)
Reload
Return

DIR3:
RegWrite, REG_EXPAND_SZ, HKCU, Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\User Shell Folders, Desktop, %dir3%
DllCall("Shell32\SHChangeNotify", UInt, 0x08000000, UInt, 0, UIntP, 0, UIntP, 0)
Reload
Return

DIR4:
RegWrite, REG_EXPAND_SZ, HKCU, Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\User Shell Folders, Desktop, %dir4%
DllCall("Shell32\SHChangeNotify", UInt, 0x08000000, UInt, 0, UIntP, 0, UIntÃ…, 0)
Reload
Return

EDIT:
Runwait,%A_ScriptName%.ini
Return

RELOAD:
Reload

EXIT:
ExitApp


apfel

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Change Desktop Folder
« Reply #18 on: November 10, 2007, 06:04 AM »
Looks like the script, which belkira already made?
No, Desktop refresh with new Files/Folders of new Location.

Edit: User with Vista can test this jap. program for this purpose.
http://fox.flop.jp/tool/deskchange.zip

1.Right-click on icon in systray. Second Menu Item Options.
2 New window with 3 buttons below and one in the middle. Click on middle one to add a new DesktopLocation.
First field: FolderLocation.Second field: wallpaper for new Desktop Location.
« Last Edit: November 10, 2007, 06:11 AM by apfel »

togikun

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Change Desktop Folder
« Reply #19 on: November 10, 2007, 06:20 AM »
The code i pasted is a modified version of belkiras script. I added a call to SHChangeNotify, which forces explorer to refresh the desktop. And like I said, it works on my computer perfectly (the original script needed a manual refresh, either by F5 or by restarting explorer. this version doesn't)

apfel

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Change Desktop Folder
« Reply #20 on: November 10, 2007, 07:13 AM »
Maybe it does not work, because I am running XP SP1.

psionics

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
    • freestyle (nunchaku) forum.net
    • Donate to Member
Re: Change Desktop Folder
« Reply #21 on: November 10, 2007, 11:18 AM »
This is from my last Post
https://www.donation...?topic=10493.new#new

* where you can relocate Desktop Files as a "separate folder" in your hard drive

* where you can select a Desktop Profile with a Zoom In and Zoom Out Function (Zoom Out is the Desktop Selector or an overview of all profiled desktops, Zoom In is the current selected desktop with shortcuts/files/folders/orThemes)

* a Profile Desktop is generally to organize your files from Work/Projects/Gaming/Internet/ETC as it is very useful for people whose desktop is full of files/folders

.. the idea is just to switch desktop.. (I think, tapping the edge of the desktop or a backspace to go back to overview mode..)

.. and to relocate the desktop in a separate folder (e.g. D:\Desktop\productive_desktop\)

.. overview mode, as i can see it, will only act as a shortcuts to the profiled desktop folders.. ideas: widgets, image maps ~ any imaginations

.. RE: "Virtual Desktop" = nope, this is using only 1 taskbar for opened windows and just browsing a different desktop folders..

i think the problem is, it cannot change the desktop(as i didnt successfully changed mine using the script [compiled from autohotkey] - im using xp sp2), i think how about covering them with an explorer like apps to function like desktop profile.. but i know it would be hard..

DesktopX is too complex, and only the switching is needed.. i know alot of people has dirty desktop, and this is a very good solution.

btw, im shock, that people here are good and responsive..

this might help.. i hope(the last part):
http://www.voidnish....code=ngetfoldernames
« Last Edit: November 10, 2007, 12:03 PM by psionics »

belkira

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Change Desktop Folder
« Reply #22 on: November 10, 2007, 02:25 PM »
Maybe a combination of something like this:
http://yodm-3d.uptodown.com/en/

With a couple scripts from here to make it like you want it.......

apfel

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Change Desktop Folder
« Reply #23 on: November 10, 2007, 02:52 PM »
At the moment I use Yodm, but I just want a more lightweight program.

psionics

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
    • freestyle (nunchaku) forum.net
    • Donate to Member
Re: Change Desktop Folder
« Reply #24 on: November 11, 2007, 02:29 PM »
This one almost got it.. the idea changed to "not affecting the real desktop.." but this one wasnt able to drag items on that floating desktop..
http://www.taraba.co...59514df6bb0afbcb7357


also check this good apps site
http://update.docs.k.../Download-Summary-en