Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site July 29, 2014, 03:57:22 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Your Support Funds this Site: View the Supporter Yearbook.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: IDEA: Compare File Properties  (Read 26076 times)
skywalka
Member
**
Posts: 253


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: October 03, 2005, 01:22:05 PM »

When I want to compare the properties of 2 files I must rightclick one file & select properties.  A dialog is opened but this is not listed on the task bar so when I do the same thing to the second file I lose the first dialog.  I have to minimise Windows Explorer to find the first dialog & then position the 2 dialogs for comparison.

In a perfect world I would be able to select multiple files & rightclick one to select "Compare Files" from the context menu.  A window (that is not loseable) would open that lists the properties of the files for easy comparison.  I work with a lot of multimedia files so I'd love to see things like "track duration" & "bit rate" etc in addition to standard properties.

Thanx 4 looking.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,183



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2005, 05:16:00 PM »

this is kind of a cool idea, though if you are talking always about audio file properties, then surely the best way is to not right clic on properties at all but use an mp3 tag program (like the free one posted by nighted in the user mini-review section), or a file explorer that shows audio file properties in the file explorer iteself and doesnt need you to right click.
Logged
skywalka
Member
**
Posts: 253


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2005, 05:43:40 PM »

The audio properties aren't the main reason I thought this would be usefull.  Windows Explorer displays audio properties in details view so I didn't think it would be hard to implement.  I use the thumbnail view in Windows Explorer though so I don't get to see any properties at all.  I haven't come across an alternative file explorer that can handle thumbnails as well as Windows Explorer.
Logged
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2005, 07:14:05 PM »

ShowDialogsToo - Shows dialog boxes on the task bar.

Feautures:
- Enable or disable by doubleclicking the task icon.



You'll find the downloads and more info at Skrommel Software.

It's not quite what you asked for, but ShowDialogsToo at least makes it easier to switch between file property windows.

I couldn't catch the windows before they were created, so to make it work, I had to hide and show the windows as they were found, which causes a flicker.

Skrommel
« Last Edit: October 04, 2005, 07:17:31 PM by skrommel » Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,183



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2005, 08:03:12 PM »

now that is a damn clever idea!!!
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,087



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2005, 08:29:34 PM »

now that is a damn clever idea!!!

yup. once again, skrommel is quick off the mark... ;-)

btw, just thought of mentioning this tool for those who have to compare file versions a lot: VerMap v1.25 by VERY Ltd.

best regards,
lanux
Logged

skywalka
Member
**
Posts: 253


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2005, 08:44:52 PM »

This will become one of those programs that people can't live without.

Well done Skrommel.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,183



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2005, 09:23:59 PM »

i personally hate that control panel, file properties dialogs, etc. don't show up in taskbar so this is a great thing.
it's too bad there isn't an official operating system registry tweak to do this... or if there is i don't know it.  if anyone finds one let us know.
Logged
skywalka
Member
**
Posts: 253


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2005, 09:35:28 PM »

It's causing my Start Menu to generate a button on the TaskBar.  Can this be fixed or do we have to live with it?
Logged
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: October 05, 2005, 01:51:42 AM »

 huh I can't reproduce that on my XP SP2, but check out the just uploaded version and tell me if it works.

Skrommel
Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
skywalka
Member
**
Posts: 253


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: October 06, 2005, 05:43:47 AM »

I'm also using XP SP2.  The new version still causes the same problem 4 me.  I'm running the exe version.
Logged
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: October 06, 2005, 06:03:56 AM »

 smiley Of course! You're running the non classic Start menu!

I'll correct it tonight.

Skrommel
Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
skywalka
Member
**
Posts: 253


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: October 06, 2005, 06:17:40 AM »

Yes I am.  Clever boy.

I also noticed that when WinAmp is not minimized all 5 of my WinAmp windows (player, playlist editor, media library, video & lyrics) are displayed seperately on the taskbar.  Is it possible to prevent this also?

Thanx again.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,183



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: October 06, 2005, 06:37:54 AM »

i think this is going to need a way to configure names of windows which should be excluded from processing.
Logged
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: October 06, 2005, 04:58:56 PM »

 smiley Just uploaded ShowDialogsToo v1.1 which includes an option to exclude windows, just edit the ini file.

Skrommel
Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
skywalka
Member
**
Posts: 253


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: October 07, 2005, 02:02:25 AM »

Thanx man.  It's working well 4 me.
Logged
skywalka
Member
**
Posts: 253


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: October 31, 2005, 11:38:33 PM »

Hi Skrommel.

Some programs seem to have Windows that don't have a name.  This means the window cannot be excluded from ShowDialogsToo in the settings.

Is it possible to prevent windows without a title from being displayed?

Thanx again.
Logged
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: November 01, 2005, 02:08:26 AM »

 smiley Yes, you can use the class as described in the ShowDialogsToo.ini-file.

To find the class name, you can download AutoHotkey from www.autohotkey.com and run AutoIt3 Window Spy.

Skrommel
Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
skywalka
Member
**
Posts: 253


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #18 on: November 01, 2005, 05:30:47 AM »

Thanx.

I think I've got the hang of it now.
Logged
skywalka
Member
**
Posts: 253


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #19 on: December 11, 2005, 10:59:56 PM »

Hi Skrommel.

By excluding/including certain classes I've found myself going round in circles when trying 2 block/allow certain windows.  The tediousness overshadows the nuisance value of the problem in the first place.  A way 2 overcome this would B 2 also block windows by their name AND class.
Logged
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #20 on: December 12, 2005, 01:41:45 PM »

 smiley But that's exactly how it is!

You can add the class after the window name, so to exclude the replace dialog of Notepad, add

Replace ahk_class #32770

Skrommel
Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
skywalka
Member
**
Posts: 253


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #21 on: December 15, 2005, 12:59:28 AM »

Aha!

Very often the types of windows that cause this problem are invisible windows & they don't always have a name so U can see there is still a problem.  Is it possible to also exclude these?  Maybe in combination with the executable name?
Logged
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #22 on: December 15, 2005, 01:45:36 AM »

 smiley Exe detection should be added...

Skrommel
Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
skywalka
Member
**
Posts: 253


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #23 on: December 15, 2005, 01:53:37 AM »

Cool! smiley
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.04s | Server load: 0.03 ]