Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 03, 2016, 12:49:50 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: weird hibernation problem (again)... I don't know what to think  (Read 2350 times)

urlwolf

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,797
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
weird hibernation problem (again)... I don't know what to think
« on: October 23, 2007, 05:37:55 AM »
My laptop just doesn't like hibernation.
And now, not even standby.

This is a mystery to me...

I have checked the box 'allow hibernation' in power options as suggested in a previous thread.

Now this checkbox is grayed out!
The only thing I have done is to remove admin privs. from the main user (the one who is currently logged in).

Worse, often when I send the computer to standby, it does everything 'as if' it worked, then when I pull it out of the suitcase it's burning hot and I see that it wasn't on standby... really dangerous. I see the message"

"Insufficient resources to complete the windows API"

I have > 4.2 Gb free on the OS partition, and 2gb of memory, so space should not be a problem. What other resources could windows be talking about here?

Worse yet, in power options > advanced, I have the box 'prompt for password...' unchecked,... yet it keeps asking me for a password after coming back from standby! I hate that.

Any idea how to fix this? The grayed out hibernate checkbox is weird!

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,315
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: weird hibernation problem (again)... I don't know what to think
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2007, 06:03:30 AM »
with 2GB of ram & for some reason the pagefile wasnt being accessed (I believe that was the problem)
I couldnt go into hibernation with FF + 40tabs open.
dunno did it say "not enough resources" or "not enough virtual resources to .... your API"
apologies about the vagueness of text :-[

but it's sorted now...

a bit off topic but that wasnt sorted (just pretended to be for a while...)
error was (when going into hibernation):
"Insufficient system resources exist to complete the API"
is related to xp sp2 struggling with too much memory (odd reaction though!)

solution is ms hotfix, see page
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/909095
or
if that doesnt work the more recent comments here may help:
http://www.ntwizards...2004/10/13/hibernate

funny I knew I had quoted
"Insufficient resources to complete the windows API" *
but couldnt find it when I searched - maybe because it was in a table?

Anyways hopefully that'll sort out your problem! or at least the hibernation one..

* EDIT: re search - I searched for all words & it is slightly different wording
Tom
« Last Edit: October 23, 2007, 06:08:14 AM by tomos »

urlwolf

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,797
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: weird hibernation problem (again)... I don't know what to think
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2007, 06:06:07 AM »
well, getting worse.
There's no hibernation tab in power options anymore!
I'm searching for solutions.
I think I installed this hotfix:
for a discussion see http://support.microsoft.com/kb/909095
(the hotfix has a somewhat unhelpful title but refers to this very problem for people with 2Gb of memory); I'm installing it again and rebooting just in case.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,315
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: weird hibernation problem (again)... I don't know what to think
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2007, 06:17:45 AM »
let us know how you got on

dont know did you see second link in my post above -
there may be something of help in comments there

eg:
Quote
123. Vorapoap - January 15, 2006

    I used the Security Task Manager to quarantine many services especially many of Intel PROSet/Wireless services. I found that I can disable following services and still get the wireless to work using Windows Wireless Zero Configure (not the strange Intel App)

    mEoU.msi
    mCore
    igfxTray Module

    I also disabled all RealTek Audio utility services..

    well.. I can now begin to hibernate for at least 3 times now continuously..

    If this can really solve the problem, I suggest everyone who already apply the hotfix and didn’t get the problem solved to start looking at your services and disable all unnecessary memory hungers.

    I will continue to report if this is one of the solution..
Tom